We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Crossed Racquets Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crossed Racquets Inn

Crossed Racquets Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crossed Racquets Inn
Save
You added Crossed Racquets Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Millwood B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Crossed Racquets Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was our first visit, and it was perfect in all respects. A beautifully restored estate in a quiet village in the horse country of northern virginia. The Inkeepers are delightful: interested and friendly and interesting. Of particular note is that they cook a wonderful breakfast, make superb coffee, AND are very knowledgeable about their neighborhood! we are happy to recommend this, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: I would have preferred a softer pillow, but everything else was fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcmiller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautifully run and decorated. From the moment that I made the reservation, I felt welcomed, my host was happy that my husband and I would be visiting. We felt as though we belonged there. The friendliness was sincere, and the breakfast was delicious.

Thank you, I.G.

Room Tip: All of them are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I enjoy tennis and play regularly and we saw a promotional offer from Crossed Racquets that included discounted private lessons. The pictures of the B&B looked great. Only a 90 minute easy drive from Rockville, MD we arrived to find beautifully decorated and comfortable accommodations. The innkeepers Rick and Tim were awesome...incredibly friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and gave us some great recommendations on daytime activities and fine dining for lunches and dinners. Rick's breakfast prep was fabulous. Crème Brulle French Toast, homemade muffins, steaming hot bread the first morning and sausage, egg, and cheese soufflé the next morning. We were able to get any sides we wanted....eggs, pancakes, etc as well. Fresh baked cookies, chocolates, and beverages were available all day and early evening. Tim was our tennis pro and our private lessons were great. Video analysis and his knowledge of biometrics and sports psychology really made the experience special. Excellent hard tru courts were just 5 minutes away from the B&B. I would highly recommend Crossed Racquets to any couples who want a quiet and relaxing high quality weekend getaway with a couple of hours a day of great tennis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We made a reservation at the Crossed Racquests Inn due to its proximity to our destination and its connectiojn to tennis; never heard of it before. What a lucky suprise! The grounds are beautiful and well kept; the B & B itself is attractive, comfortable, and immaculate. Innkeepers Rick and Tim are both wonderful hosts; we really felt at home. Rick prepared coffee and tea all day, baked goodies, and prepared wonderful breakfasts. Tim arranged tennis at nearby courts with delightful players.
All in all it was a great place to stay and the price is very reasonable. We will definitely recommend it to friends and if we are ever nearby (its located in the beautiful horse country of VA) we will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
315 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The perfect place to relax. First things first for a B and B -> Beds are super comfortable, so relax and enjoy the gracious Southern hospitality of the Inn. And how are the breakfast buffets? Yes super marvelous, and cooked to your specific orders. Portions are generous, excellent coffee never ends, and each breakfast offering is tastefully prepared. The town of Millwood is a pretty picture perfect little town of mainly Colonial Revival homes. And the Crossed Racquets Inn too is Colonial Revival, circa 1840. Thank heavens, all the plumbing, heating, kitchen, etc. is top of the line contemporary 2013. The furnishings, décor are stunningly fresh and worthy of a decorators award. Hosts Rick and Tim instantly make you feel welcome, and “at home.” It is a home that is spotlessly clean and spring breeze flower fresh. In the winter the library has a crackling fireplace that glows with never ending charm. From the broad library windows one can look out at the adjacent historic manor house of Carter Hall (1792) and its panoramic landscaped terraced gardens of azaleas. Close at hand is the State Arboretum of Virginia, operated by the University of Virginia. This Arboretum has the largest boxwood garden in North America and highlighted attractions for each season. It is an easy walk to several attractive antique shops in Millwood. A short block away is the tiny village grocery deli, which has a massive selection of wines to suit every taste. The cheeses are fresh and both local and imported. Several nearby towns have outstanding restaurants for your dining pleasure. My personal choice is the Ashby Inn in Paris, Virginia. In summary, the Crossed Racquets Inn is the top pick to drop stress, relax, and enjoy the amenities of a beautifully run, lovely country inn with both great beds and scrumptious breakfasts. Are you a tennis player? The tennis packages are truly outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millwood
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
10.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossed Racquets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossed Racquets Inn

Property: Crossed Racquets Inn
Address: 908 Bishop Meade Road, Millwood, VA 22646
Location: United States > Virginia > Millwood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Millwood
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing