We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Lewis Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fort Lewis Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Millboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

As many have already mentioned, this is a place you go to relax.....guilt free serenity at it's best. The grounds are beautiful, our cabin was cozy and the food was amazing. John and Caryl are down home people; hospitable and accommodating. We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tall Timbers cabin. Loved the upper porch for sitting and reading. Great view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
101
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

There are a cluster of buildings (main lodge with attached silo, 3 historic log cabins, restaurant and outdoor pavillion with stone fireplace overlooking acreage alongside the Blue Ridge Mtns) to one end of the property and another bldg with 4 rooms at the opposite end. Breakfast and dinner were scrumptious and included in the price. Buffet meals served in rustic style dining room (charming). not typical buffet fare. First night we had Pork tenderloin with fresh cranberry topping, delectable salad, fresh chopped fruit, vegetable casserole, apple muffins and a tasty dessert of cake and ice cream. A river runs alongside the property and there are kayaks and canoes free for guests as well as a fleet of mountain bikes. I don't fish much but the river looks to be a fly fishing dream. We could actually see the fish in the clear water. Pages of fly fishing info are in the Lodge info binder. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Riverside, which is on the far end of the 3000 acre property, a 3 minute drive to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77777Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I are just back from another wonderful trip to Fort Lewis Lodge. This makes at least 14 trips in 15 years. We now meet up with seven others on an annual basis and Caryl says our laughter is what she looks forward to every Labor Day weekend. We look forward to the sereneness, fun in the river, maps that John gives us with suggestions for day trips (hikes, falls, caverns, The Homestead, Warm Springs, Lake Moomaw) We look forward to hearing that bell ring every morning and evening announcing another delicious meal from Caryl. We can't say enough about the property, the hospitality and fun.

Room Tip: We love Silo 3 but room 12 in the lodge is quiet and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Fort Lewis Lodge, next to the Cowpasture River, surrounded by pastures and mountains, is the jewel of the Alleghenies. The accommodations, with a choice of four cabins or rooms in the Lodge, are excellent, and the cabins are charming. The owners, John and Caryl, are gracious grandmasters of Virginia hospitality; and Caryl is an exceptional chef. The guests who frequent the Lodge are down-to-earth, interesting, and fun. This rare find is a place to return to many times.

Room Tip: The river is the swimming pool and the wide-open countryside is the fitness center; both are excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Lodge is actually a mini village of 4 cabins, a covered pavilion, a main bldg, and a converted mill housing the dining area and recreation/meeting facility. Everything is in tip-top shape and very clean. The food is superb, as numerous others have commented on, and there isn't much else you would need at this place. It is splendid isolation, but not really all that far if you want to drive to Warm or Hot Springs for a bit of an escape. If you like solitude without a lot of distractions then you've come to the right place.

Room Tip: The silo rooms are unique, but the tight winding external staircase could be a challenge to those wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTCCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I have been coming here for years. The facility is unbelievably well maintained. You would think it had just been opened up. The cleanliness of the rooms is impeccable.
The best part ( other than the amazing location, wonderful hospitality, and ability to totally relax ) is the food. Fresh fresh fresh and so delicious!
If you truly want to take a moment to "smell the roses" this is the place to visit. We are already looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Riverhouse are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShooFlyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is like going back in time. It's extremely relaxing. Beautiful grounds, surrounded by mountains. We had a Silo room, which was just fine. Liked the privacy of it compared to the Lodge rooms. There is a community fridge in the lodge you can use for your food you bring. The Riverside house is about half a mile down the road, so keep that in mind if you book there. Although, across the street from the house is the Riverside dock and canoeing which is really nice.
Caryl's food is SO delicious. We couldn't eat lunch, there was so much of it! We had fun swimming, floating in the tubes, kayaking, and canoeing. We also brought our mountain bikes. As a note to mountain/trail biking fans, there aren't really a lot of biking trials on the property. Seems like more biking is done on the county roads there. The Cowpasture is a smaller, more shallow river, but very beautiful. The pavilion on the property is very nice, and they make a fire out there each night. There is also foosball and ping pong there. We enjoyed just sitting in the shade, reading looking at the mountains. There is a hot tub on the deck at the lodge.
This is definitely a place to relax, read a book, and enjoy nature. People looking to be entertained would be bored. We loved it. Being able to enjoy outdoor activities is very weather dependent as well. So be okay if it rains, just reading and doing nothing.

Room Tip: Silo 3 on the top floor is only accessible by a spiral outdoor staircase. Hard to get up with luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millboro
24.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
24.8 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lewis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lewis Lodge

Property: Fort Lewis Lodge
Address: 603 Old Plantation Way, Millboro, VA 24460-2400
Location: United States > Virginia > Millboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Millboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lewis Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your destination in the mountains of Bath County Virginia for unique architecture, outdoor adventure and classic American style cuisine. Family owned for 28 years. Like most country inns, we trade in a change of pace, romance, and exceptional fare. But, it is the comforting seclusion of the mountains, forests, fields and streams that truly sets historical Fort Lewis apart. A 3200 acre estate ready to be explored. Outdoor activities abound with hiking, biking, trout fishing or simply relaxing by the Lodge's pristine swimming hole. We are best known for our food, and a farm fresh breakfast and dinner, served family-style, are included in your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Fort Lewis Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Lewis Hotel Millboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing