We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay”
Review of Fort Lewis Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fort Lewis Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Millboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary with the Ft. Lewis Lodge. Best choice we could have made. Our room in the old silo was cool and the pavilion and fire that evening made the perfect ending to an enjoyable day. Dinner & breakfast were awesome with plenty of food and friendly service and conservation. The property is there to enjoy and we did take advantage of the river. I would recommend this B & B to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Fort Lewis Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 192 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went to the Fort Lewis Lodge for a one night getaway, and we LOVED it! It is way out in the middle of nowhere, but the setting is beautiful. They own three miles of riverfront property on the Cowpasture River, one of the prettiest rivers in the U.S. The lodging is wonderful - not fancy but very comfortable. They have river activities available - swimming, tubing and kayaks - to all guests. Because it is far from any town they serve dinner as well as breakfast. Both meals were outstanding. Before dinner they have an hour to enjoy wine or beer on the porch overlooking a lovely lily pond and the lush fields and mountains. After dinner there is a fire in the stone fireplace in the outside pavilion. We sat and passed the evening drinking wine and visiting with others who were enjoying their stay.
We will definitely go back and are looking forward to the opportunity to experience it all again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the renovated silo are really unique. There are also wonderful little cabins beside the mai...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D-Leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Exceptional food, service, lodging, activities, scenery, and location. If you are looking for relaxing vacation away from it all, look no further. You can fish for trout along miles of the stocked Cowpasture River, search for birds and wildlife along riverside trails, canoe or kayak the river, walk nearby forest trails, or just put your feet up in a quiet place. All accompanied by truly delectable breakfasts and dinners. If you crave a taste of small town living, the towns of Monterey, Warm Springs and Hot Springs are nearby. John and Carol are the perfect hosts, and their rooms are delightful. Bring your friends and family to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and good company of the hosts and guests.

My wife and I have been to a fair number of lodges in various states, and this is the best. That is why my family and I have been visiting Fort Lewis Lodge annually for most of 21 years, and expect to keep coming back until our dotage. You should do the same.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I have have stayed at the Ft Lewis lodge probably 6 or 7 times now with our first visit made around 1995 - The facilities here have changed a lot since then. We visited twice last year, in May and November, and went there for Mother's Day this year. It is a little over a 3 hour drive from Springfield, VA but once you exit Rt 81 at Staunton (the way we go using 262 to 250) traffic slows down considerably - a very welcome situation. The last 25 miles or so to the lodge are on narrow winding roads but it is a very scenic, relaxing drive and you can feel the stress of northern VA living melting away with each mile. This place is WAY out in the country so if you are looking for an exciting night life, easy access to major shopping centers, movie theaters, restaurants, etc this is NOT the place for you. There is decent cell phone coverage at the lodge area but outside that, as you move around Bucks or Highland county, it is hit and miss - which is certainly not a bad thing. They do have wifi at the lodge and that normally works fine.

John and Caryl, and their staff, are simply the best and everyone makes you feel right at home. The grounds and facilities are always extremely well kept and the rooms are very comfortable. There are numerous rooms in the lodge itself, and well as 3 unique rooms built in the silo, and then separate cabins. We normaly stay in the lodge but this trip we tried a cabin for the first time - The Walatoola cabin. The cabin is about $50 a night more but my wife and I decided it is worth it. It is at least twice as large as the regular room, has a wood fireplace, a small refrigerator for drinks, a coffee maker, a combination radio/CD player (with several CDs provided - best of Jazz, Blues, etc) and a large bathroom with a tub sized shower. There is a queen bed, a small sofa, a large bureau, and a large chair with ottoman for furniture. The main room had a small heater you could adjust, as well as a window sized AC unit, and the bathroom had an in-wall space type heater to take the chill off on cool mornings. There are lots of nice little touches - coffee maker with coffee and tea bags, small jar of mints, an umbrella, a hair dryer, etc. The cabin has a nice covered porch with 2 chairs, and a small table so you have a place to put drinks or whatever, as well as a porch swing. It is a nice place to sit and unwind after a busy day exploring the local area.

There are more rooms at a building a mile or so from the main lodge (Riverside House). There is no TV, radio, phone, etc in the lodge rooms, although the Gristmill/dining room has a satellite TV upstairs (if you really want to see TV) as well as a pool table.

Each day from 6:30 until the dinner bell rings (about 7:30) John hosts a sort of "happy hour" at the bar on the screened in porch attached to the gristmill/dining room. There are also table and chairs on a deck outside the screened in area, all next to a pond on the property. He has a bowl of snacks to munch on while he serves a beverage of your choice - soda, a variety of wines and Fat Tire beer on tap. I've also seen people bring their own wine or beer if they choose. It is a great opportunity to meet the other guests, chat about the days activities, and smell what is cooking on the grill for dinner! Drinks are just added to your room tab so you just settle up once at the end of your visit. They also have the usual advertising trinkets for sale - coffe mugs, t-shirts, and hats.

All the meals, a full dinner and breakfast, are served in the gristmill, and the food is home made, plentiful and spectacular. Caryl is an absolutely fabulous cook and the wait staff are friendly, engaging and excellent at looking after your every need. John and Caryl do not scrimp on the food they serve either. For dinner our first night we had BBQ ribs and chicken hot off the grill, cheddar & garlic biscuits, baked apples, beans, cole slaw, and an apple dessert with ice cream. The second night we had beef tenderloin hot off the grill, crab cakes, green beans, pumpkin muffins, three kinds of salad, and dessert. There is water, iced tea, lemonade, coffee, etc to drink. Breakfasts are served about 0900 and some menu items we had were oatmeal pancakes with VA maple syrup, scrambled eggs, egg & cheese casserole, sausage, bacon, fruit, cereal, biscuits, etc. Some people eating dinner may not be staying at the lodge at all but come from other places just to eat. I assume this availability is based on how full the lodge is with guests. The food is simply excellent.

There is a beautiful open air pavillion next to the lodge where you can relax in front of a roaring fire in the evening, visit with new found friends, stargaze, play ping pong or foosball. Upstairs in the gristmill is a satellite TV, a pool table a table where you can play games, etc. They have bikes you can use, maps for hiking trails, a canoe, kayaks and inner tubes for use on the very nearby Cowpasture River, etc. You can also swim or fish for trout or bass in the river as well. They have a hot tub available as well.

There are lots of state parks in the area (Douthat for example) for outdoor activities like biking, fishing, hiking, etc. The Homestead Resort and Hot Springs are not far away, as are some other mineral bath type places (Jefferson Pools), and beautiful golf courses. You can drive around to some of the smaller towns (Monterey, etc.) and explore the shops with local crafts, etc. There is some interesting wildlife in the area as well, like bald eagles. For an incredible view on a nice day, make sure to get to Ingalls Overlook on Rt 39 near Goshen. Staunton is about an hour away and they have a nice historic district, the Frontier Culture Museum (excellent!), the Woodrow Wilson birthplace/library/museum, etc.

Some may think a stay here is expensive, and admittedly it is not cheap, but I believe if you factor in what you are getting for your money (meals, facilities, recreation, service, etc) it should be considered a good value.

If you are looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, really relax in the country for a few days, and maybe meets some new and interesting people, this is the place for you. A lot of their guests are repeat customers who have been making the trip to the lodge for years. The Ft Lewis Lodge is a real treasure, and the folks who run it are all determined to ensure you have a great time while sharing their facilities. We have stayed in B&Bs all over the US and in Europe, and this place is in the top 5 - outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Michael S

Fort Lewis Lodge lives up to its reputation as a top-quality inn for those who enjoy remote countryside settings. We found this inn through the Select Registry, and at $255 per night for a room (not a cabin), with home-cooked breakfast and dinner included, owners John and Caryl are offering a tremendous value at a very fair price..

What we liked: the loge buildings and grounds are absolutely well maintained, charming, and clearly a tremendous amount of work has gone into creating a not-overly manicured country setting. The outdoor stone fireplace under an open air roof, sitting areas overlooking the pond and river, free bikes to ride, bar in a screened in porch area, hot tub, the list of amenities goes on and on.

Food: overall, excellent, very fresh, Caryl is a great cook with a southern flair and a light touch to her baking. Please note this is a buffet-style presentation with breakfast at 9:00 a.m. and dinner at 7:30 p.m., one sitting only and limited choices: one or two entrees; one or two veggie dishes; one or two salads; potato and other starch dishes; and one dessert. This is a menu that's relatively high in (delicious) carbs. If you don't like lining up for food at a set time, this may not be for you. And remember that there are NO restaurant options anywhere close, so if you come here, you are eating here.

Lodging: we stayed at the Riverside House, which is a comfortable old farm house three minutes away by car. The rooms and bed are great, but if you want the true "experience" of staying in the fabulous setting that John and Caryl have created, stay at the main lodge. There's absolutely nothing amiss with Riverside House, but the atmosphere doesn't compare. On the other hand, it's very quiet.

What we didn't like: very unfortunately, during our 3-night stay in early May 2013, there was a college reunion that dominated the place. These folks got very drunk, and took over the dining room (and outdoor fireplace area) with their noise and boorish behaviour, which included swearing. We were woken at 12 midnight by guests returning to the Riverside House and continuing their drunken party in the kitchen, requiring us to call John to get these idiots to settle down (after we tried unsucessfully to do so). We're talking people in their 60s acting like they were still in their early 20s at college!

We felt that John and Caryl should have informed us prior to booking that they had a large party coming to stay at the Lodge, and we could have adjusted our plans if we had chosen to do so, particularly given that they are selling peace and quiet. At other inns, management has informed us if they have groups coming in, and we think this was a gross oversite on their part. They also had a duty to control their guests, which didn't happen.

Other than this, we'd highly recommend Fort Lewis Lodge as a unique destination. Just make sure that no large parties of guests are there when you visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OttawaTraveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

It was like visiting Grandmas farm only nicer! We recently stayed and enjoyed immensely the Ft. Lewis Lodge. It is a little tough to find if you are unfamiliar with the area and already suffering travel fatigue, but once there we knew we had come to right place. Our cabin- Tall Timbers - looked like it came out of a magazine! What was described as "the downstairs gathering room with wet bar" was understated. Comfy chairs, "wet bar" with everything necessary to dine in cabin (but not cook...why would you?). A cozy sleeping nook...perfect for reading. Upstairs huge bedroom with fireplace, balconey with wicker furniture and a panoramic view. There was no mention of bathroom in the Lodge's literature. We were stunned to walk into a beautiful, large bathroom with vanity sink and double walk-in shower. The decorative touches in the cabin were inspired and carefully chosen. Rustic but first class! The food, served buffet style in the refurbished Mill was outstanding. I do not like salmon, but went back for seconds there! Chicken and Ribs, Beef and Crabcakes, fantastic oatmeal pancakes. I would love to be there when Caryl is cooking from her garden! Also not mentioned was a wonderful game room on second floor. Everything at Ft. Lewis is done to a "T". It's the little things too...umbrellas by the door, bikes to ride, huge assortment of K-Cups in the wet bar along with tableware, dish towels, paper towels, etc. I had hoped to spend alot of time fly fishing the Cowpasture River, however the weather threw a wrench there. Even so, we loved our visit and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

Room Tip: Cell service is available and free WIFI provided. Televisions in 2 big cabins and game room only.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJPlateisfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fort Lewis Lodge is a sprawling Bed and Breakfast situated on 3200 acres in the western hills of Virginia. At any time of the year this is a spectacular setting. The entry to the Lodge is along a winding gravel road through pastures and fields. The Lodge itself is part of an old Land Grant property that has survived the centuries undiminished in size or beauty. The Lodge's buildings are varied and range from the old mill house (that also holds a small bar and the dining facilities) to multi-storey silos and the remote River House. Small cabins are also available. The Cow Pasture river forms one boundary of the property and provides an ice-cold swimming hole fort he summer months and trout fishing at other times. Food is out of this world excellent and worth th trip in and of itself. Dinners are served in a buffet style and many folks travel to the Lodge simply for this one treat. For me, it is the quiet and solitude of a place full of friendly folks and located in one of the prettiest parts of the Old Dominion.

Room Tip: The silos are really cool!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millboro
24.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
14.4 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,254 reviews
10.8 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
63 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
117 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lewis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lewis Lodge

Address: 603 Old Plantation Way, Millboro, VA 24460-2400
Location: United States > Virginia > Millboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Millboro
Price Range: $288 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lewis Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your destination in the mountains of Bath County Virginia for unique architecture, outdoor adventure and classic American style cuisine. Family owned for 28 years. Like most country inns, we trade in a change of pace, romance, and exceptional fare. But, it is the comforting seclusion of the mountains, forests, fields and streams that truly sets historical Fort Lewis apart. A 3200 acre estate ready to be explored. Outdoor activities abound with hiking, biking, trout fishing or simply relaxing by the Lodge's pristine swimming hole. We are best known for our food, and a farm fresh breakfast and dinner, served family-style, are included in your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Fort Lewis Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Lewis Hotel Millboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing