We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in the Wall”

The Grill at Waterford
Ranked #21 of 214 Restaurants in Midlothian
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hole in the Wall”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I found this place on Trip Advisor and figured I would try it out. When I pulled up I was kind of surprised that it is a small store in a strip mall. As my title states it is a little hole in the wall but don't let that dissuade you. The place was very clean and even though there were some regulars at the bar, everyone was welcomed. I got one of their daily specials (Macaroni and Cheese with lump crab meat) and it was out of this world. The dessert board states all home made desserts and the chocolate peanut butter pie was the perfect way to top off the fulfilling meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cozy little neighborhood bar, grill”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

It's nice to have a friendly neighborhood bar and grill amid all of the suburban sprawl and chain restaurants in this area of Midlothian. It's the type of place where locals can gather at the bar and watch sports or have a quick breakfast, lunch or dinner. The food is good, not great, but a really varied menu that will appeal to families and children. We were too full for desserts, but the selection of homemade cakes and pies were exceptionally tempting -- especially the Red Velvet Cupcake and Coconut Cream Pie. With its bowling-alley layout, it has the feel of one of the popular spots in Richmond's Fan District. I can see us making this a regular breakfast hangout.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank featuremom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not too good”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Exceptionally crowded with the slowest service I have had in over a year. Took way too long for food to arrive. Wait staff was nice, problem seemed to be the kitchen. Food was not good. Two people sent their broccoli back to be cooked. Nothing looked pretty and the sheppard's pie was unlike anything anyone at the table had ever seen.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real treat in an intimate setting.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Only our second visit since it opened but now wondering why we waited so long. Gracious owners and staff deliver outrageously delicious fare at reasonable prices. And please to not get me started on the desserts.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband & I went there for New Year's Eve dinner. He enjoyed the Shrimp & grits. I enjoyed the Chicken Salad plate with fruit. We really liked the hot bread. After the meal, we were given a cup of 12 grapes. We were told to eat the grapes, one at a time for the months of the year (2014) and that if the grape was sweet, it would be a good month. If it was sour, a bad or iffy month. All of our grapes were sweet and the waitress & hostess kept checking on us to make sure it was going well !!! The decor was nice, the restaurant was clean, everyone was energetic & helpful. The hot food was hot & the cold food was cold. We will surely go back !!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill at Waterford also viewed

 

Been to The Grill at Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing