We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is where the locals go”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wild Ginger

Wild Ginger
Ranked #8 of 211 Restaurants in Midlothian
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Wild Ginger offers a uniquely flavorful Asian-influenced cuisine and an extraordinary selection of fine wines in a beautiful contemporary setting. We offer over 100 seats of dining space, a covered and heated outdoor patio area, and a private dining room that can accommodate up to 24 patrons for sit down dining, and up to 50 for cocktail receptions
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“This is where the locals go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

You will always see someone you know if you live near here. This is where the locals go. Great atmosphere. The bar is worth seeing. I had Pad Thai with Shrimp. Delicious. The coffee is strong and expensive ($3.50) and it was difficult to get the waitress to bring enough cream for our table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acey071368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    26
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Celebrated our son's birthday here. Lovely, tantalizing, satisfying. Not at all run-of-the-mill. Beautiful presentations. For appetizers, lobster wontons were outstanding; peppercorn fried oysters themselves were excellent but buried in a nest of bland fried noodles; and edamame was ho-hum. Crab soup was elegant; seaweed salad was a generous portion but nothing spectacular. All of our entrees were excellent: signature maki rolls, sushi, sashimi, and sesame chicken. Every bite was delicious. We were very, very pleased with the meal. A bit pricey, but a delightful treat.

Helpful?
Thank OpinionatedFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Always yummy with a great twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This has always been our favorite Thai Fusion type restaurant. Great atmosphere, superb staff and excellent food.

I had the spicy chicken noodle dish which was delicately prepared and just the right amount of spice.

Our other party had the crab sandwich...it was lunchtime. It was good but not as yummy as my dish.

I have to say the dessert really blew us away. Chocolate mousse with caramel and nuts....really great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love the food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great menu and fun atmosphere. This is the best Sushi I have had in the Richmond. Food is well presented and always tasty. The service is a little slow sometimes but this is the only downside.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VA_travels60893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Our favorite date night restaurant in Midlo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Wild Ginger is our favorite neighborhood restaurant in Midlothian. They serve some good, creative sushi dishes, but it's primarily an asian-fusion menu. The appetizers are tasty, and the seafood specials are usually pretty good. The steaks are good as well if you're in the mood for meat. The best thing about the place, however, is the service. Brandon is our favorite server, and he usually suggests great wine (many times not on the menu) to pair with our meal, but all of the servers there are great. When the weather permits, we enjoy meals on the patio. You'lll find my wife and I there on many Friday nights as we kick off the weekend with a date night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elpndj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Wild Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing