We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Azteca

Plaza Azteca
Ranked #48 of 211 Restaurants in Midlothian
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the Westchester Commons shopping center in Midlothian, VA.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
“RUDE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

stop by last Sunday 06/02/2013 since it was a live music show accross this Restaurant,My friends and I (6 total) set at the patio wait for the server who arrived so confuse the licour menu doesnt have the prices???? really?? the server didnt speak fluent english (he might need probable to work in the back of the restaurante and not with the public).due to the small rain we moved inside the Restaurant were after 10 mint waitting fora server i grab one of the waiter who dropped some salsa and chips and menus but NEVER CAME BACK the manager a short Mexican right next to us look at out table but didnt seem to bother that no one was helpin us. after 30min my husband decided to go to the bar to get the drinks just to have the Bar attended tell him to set back at the table and wait for the server???? RUDEEEEE!! when i told the manager how disapointment I was with the services all he could say was (IM sorry in an arrogance tone) One of my friends then comment that this was her second time at this Restaurant and nothing has changed. I wouldnt RECOMEND THIS PLACE EVER!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrpeple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    13
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I have never been to this place but my cousins suggested it. One neat feature is they make guacamole fresh right at your table which was good, although it was a bit salty. There was not anything that stood out as outstanding, but the food was good and the same for the service. The menu was large and had many options, including vegetarian.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Djrrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whelmed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a post 8pm dinner on a weeknight. The positives: friendly hostess, fast service, acceptable food, and I paid cash so no one could steal my credit card number (as happened on my last visit).
The negatives: (1)the food came out a little TOO quickly for my liking. It would have been nice to imagine that our meals were prepared for my order, rather than just assembled from ready made parts, but two minutes from order to eating was a little surprising. A quibble.
(2) Very pushy waiter. After my other half ordered a diet coke, the waiter suggested SEVEN different alcoholic beverages. I really wish he'd made it clear that the the "big" beer is a BIG beer. It's like 32 oz or something. He Tried to up-sell every order. He offered three dessert suggestions after we asked for the bill. It was a bit much.
(3) The bathrooms. I didn't notice this on my first visit, but I agree with other comments, it's just weird to have open air bathrooms in the center of the restaurant. I can't say it disrupted my meal, but it's not an architectural or plumbing feature i would recommend.

Look, it's what passes for Mexican food in this part of town. It's ok, but I wouldn't be rushing back for more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMTinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good for Cinco de mayo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

this is a good place for the mexican holiday because they dont aggressively promote it. Americanized Mexican food. service increased quality as the meal went on. very heavy poured margarita. Plentiful chips and salsa. the requested hot sauce is very good. Imitation lobster enchalada. Overall good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speed5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Name Change Suggestion: Toilet Azteca”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Quite possibly the most bizarre design I have ever encountered in a restaurant. The food here is not spectacular but is the decent, standard fare I would have anticipated for this type of establishment. The problem is the bathrooms. First, they are undeniably the centerpiece of the restaurant, with giant neon signs guiding you into immense, airport terminal style open entryways that could accommodate a continuous flow of hundreds of patrons. Unless you are sitting outside, your focal point during the meal is going to be the bathrooms. You will see everyone go in, and you will hear every flush ... because there are no doors. The next special touch: No paper towels in the bathroom, but high powered jet dryers instead, which you will also hear ... or hope to hear. Thanks to the goofy design of this restaurant, you will be forced to observe who goes into the bathroom and will know immediately whether or not they washed their hands. It was particularly nice when a server went in and emerged following a flush but no jet dryer was heard. The final, stomach-turner for me was the guacamole cart, positioned strategically at the entrance to the man's bathroom ... very appealing. If you need to use the restroom this is a great place. For enjoying a meal, not so much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Azteca also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing