We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Midlothian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

(Bozeman Dick): We were spending the night in Midlothian, a suburb of Richmond, VA, visiting family, and wanted something close. This particular property was in a busy part of the county, but off the main thoroughfare, buffered by trees, and almost hidden from view. It was quiet. Our room was large, amply furnished, and clean. The king size bed was very comfortable. The TV was of good quality and modern, but the channel selection was limited. I think the nicest surprise was the complimentary breakfast, which was the most ample I have seen in places like this. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BozemanDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 326 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

This property is located along Hull Street in front of the former Costco Warehouse Club, which has long been vacated. The exterior signage of the property is non-existent, though there is a sign on the building itself.

Upon entering the lobby, it is a typical Hampton Inn. The front desk staff appear to be friendly and were uniform challenged, shall I say. Upon entering the room, one of the most frustrating items is the window rattling a/c units which has dial thermostats, not on the wall thermostats of a new era property. Other than being very noisy, it was extremely difficult to regulate the temperature in the room.

The cable/satellite in the room was of good quality and choice of stations. Housekeeping was lacking in this property as there were remnants from a former guest in my room, and the "fitted" sheets were either the wrong size, or have shrunken severely since the hotel first purchased them. The towels were stained and discolored though I must say the bed covering was very comfortable and warm.

I believe my price was just over $120 per night for over a weekend, though their rate seems the same no matter which day of the week you are there. Regardless, for this hotel and its offered amenities, the rate is significantly higher than one should expect to pay in that area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiscomeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The reservationist and manager went out of their way to accomodate us. We had disparate group that wanted to stay close. So they booked two rooms nearly next to each other with the specific requirements we asked for.
We had a wonderful stay and the short time our family had together ..Thank you so much

Room Tip: Ask for what you want--they listen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this Hampton Inn before and found it to be satisfactory.

This time, we arrived late Friday evening, 2/17. The entry area was under construction. The dining area was a conference room, which is being used as a temporary kitchen. The staff knocked a bit off the bill, which was appreciated, but I would have never stayed here had I known the place was under construction.

So, I suppose I now, in addition to reading trip advisor, I need to call the hotel before we book and ask, "are there any ongoing repairs?"

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nice clean room. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good. Only downside was there weren't many tables in breakfast area to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonHullGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

I would like to thank you for your kind words and value your feedback. Our hotel is scheduled for a renovation starting January 2012 where we will be redesigning the whole lobby and breakfast area and will be converting to the new design which is a Perfect Mix Lobby. The lobby and breakfast area will be larger and have more amenities and services for our guests which will
include a community table. I would be very honored if you would visit our hotel in the near future and have a chance to experience the new design and renovations and give us an opportunity to serve you once again and prove our Southern hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

But never a worse Hampton. I have stayed here twice now on business and both times stayed in a king room on the third floor. The bathrooms were aged and dingy. It looked like the room itself had been repainted, carpeted, and given new furnishings fairly recently but the bathrooms had clearly been left out of that work. The wall unit air conditioners shook the room whenever the compressor turned on. The bed was clean and comfortable. The whole building has a faint damp sense and mildew odor. Complimentary breakfast was available but not really worth eating. The staff was very nice and helpful. The building is in need of a general overall rehab and is showing its age. There is one large conference room with what appeared to be mold growing on one wall. I will be staying elsewhere on my next trip.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor where there are a handful of smoking rooms. The entire floor smells of stale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coingeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonHullGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

As you have mentioned we have recently renovated all guestrooms with new carpet, 37" flat screen TVs, accent wall and new drapes. Our guest bathrooms are scheduled for renovation starting November 19, 2011 and we will have all new vanities and bathroom fixtures as well as wall vinyl and granite vanity tops. The hotel public spaces are also scheduled to be renovated with new vinyl and carpet. Our lobby is scheduled for renovation in January 2012 and we will have the new perfect mix lobby. The fitness room has been renovated to meet the requirements of the new Jump Start fitness as mandated by Hilton brand and we have all new equipment with individual TVs attached. The meeting room has been renovated with new wall vinyl and new tables and chairs. The air conditioners in the rooms have been replaced where we found the compressors were too loud or had vibrations. I would be very humbled if you would give us one more opportunity to prove our hospitality and to showcase our newly renovated beautiful Hampton Inn Hull Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stay in Hampton Inn properties often. Because of this, I feel I can compare one from another fairly accurately. Hampton Inns are known for their reasonable price, quality room furnishings, comfortable beds, free breakfast and other amentities. This hotel has all of these and appears to be recently upgraded. Everything was clean and worked in our room. The breakfast was delicious (especially the waffles). There was a clean indoor pool area and workout facility. The staff made a point of welcoming me back, which was a shock to me since the last time I stayed here was in 2001. I used to live in this area and remember the Hampton being surrounded by a Costco (since moved) and some other decent strip shopping malls. This area seems a little tired now and most of the good shopping has moved further down Hull Street. That being said, it is still a safe area and this hotel is priced right for what you get. I would recommend this to anyone doing business in Midlothian/Chesterfield area or for families that are in town visiting relatives or friends.

Room Tip: All rooms here are pretty much alike. No need to "upgrade" here. I liked the bottom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodTexN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonHullGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

I just wanted to thank you for your recent positive feedback about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you got the most out of the breakfast bar (those waffles sure are tasty) and that you noticed our recent renovation. The next time you come to the area we hope that you decide to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midlothian
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond - Brandermill - Hull St
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harbour Pointe
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond E - Midlothian Trnpke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
4.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street

Address: 3620 Price Club Blvd, Midlothian, VA 23112-3372
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Midlothian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Midlothian
Price Range: $132 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street Hotel Midlothian
Hampton Inn Midlothian
Midlothian Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Richmond Southwest - Hull Street Midlothian, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing