We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gold Cup Wine Bar”
Review of Gold Cup Wine Bar

Gold Cup Wine Bar
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in Middleburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located within Salamander Resort and Spa and open to the public. Small plates of Piedmont-inspired cuisine are paired to the selection of both featured Virginia wines and international selections, then served throughout the day and evening. Whether you enjoy wine by the glass or as a tasting flight as you converse with the visiting winemakers, you will leave our Gold Cup Wine Bar with a much better understanding of Virginia and Middleburg wine country history and why it has earned its place among best wine regions in the US.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Good drinks, not water down. Friendly staff. Reasonably price snacks and light meals. The shrimp toast is yummy.

Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 106 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

Did a girls lunch at The Gold Cup Wine Bar. We really enjoyed walking around the beautiful Salamander Resort. The grounds are lovely and the interior design is gorgeous. I felt super comfortable there, the staff were all super nice and welcoming. We enjoyed wine flights at the Gold Cup Wine Bar- nice wine selection and the lunch was yummy. Really glad we made the trip- it was a very nice day trip from Fairfax County. I plan on going back in the spring, I bet the grounds will be beautiful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seaandski4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Gold Cup Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Gold Cup Wine Bar. We are truly thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

service was slow when we sat down. limited menu. i had the chicken sandwich . the ciabbatta bread it was served on was over done and almost burnt. the meat itself was decent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrJ2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was a nice alternative to the restaurant and has billiard room. The food was very good and the service was great.

Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Gold Cup Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at our restaurant! We are truly thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was my 4th trip here as I live in the area. The menu has been changed to add a few more sandwiches and salads and not confuse people with the wine pairings. The service is still slow and not what you would expect for a 5 star resort. The menu is still confusing as under sandwiches it says choice of fries or pasta salad. That does not apply to the half sandwich and soup in that list . The hot drinks are luke warm and one one occasion cold and were sent back.
They have also added a $5 valet parking fee even if you dine at the Inn. Most places validate parking with a meal. I think they need to straighten out the menue and service before adding fees.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveler20482048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Gold Cup Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

We want our restaurants to be a place where you can experience exciting cuisine and unparalleled service. Our apologies for the shortcomings you faced while dining with us,for that, we sincerely apologize. We have shared your feedback with our staff to learn from and improve upon. We want to thank you for sharing your comments about your dinning experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Cup Wine Bar also viewed

 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Gold Cup Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing