We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salamander Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salamander Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
“Superb Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We chose the Salamander as a spot to celebrate our daughter's second birthday. Every last detail was tended to and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. Michelle, the Pastry Chef, was kind enough to create custom cupcakes that met our daughter's palate preferences (and were probabilly the best I have ever had in my life). Chelsea and Jarrett at the front desk always took time to provide us with recommendations of where to dine in town. We loved exploring the local town and really enjoyed that it was within walking distance from the resort. Laura and Michael at the pool were so fun. They presented our daughter a tray
of birthday posicles to choose from and even took time to teach her a variety of high fives/dance moves. We literally never opened a door because we were always greeted by a kind face. Cody kindly helped with our bags on multiple occasions. Paul was not only a doorman but perhaps the resort's most hidden gem. He provided local history and insight. He had such a kind soul and interesting story to tell.

We would definitely recommend this resort to other and consider returning for another stay. Thank you to all thr staff who made our stay great.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanna_1033801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking some time to share your comments with others. We pride ourselves on hiring the best service professionals possible and we appreciate the time you took to recognize them. I will share your comments with them during our morning meeting today - thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Salamander Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    200
    113
    59
    42
See reviews for
214
429
40
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The resort is beautiful and a good trip if you want to relax but there is not a lot to do and practically nothing for the children, everything is very expensive and they nickel and dime you for everything. We had trouble with getting an appointment to the spa for a treatment that was supposed to be included in our package also our luggage was removed from our room by mistake with no explanation given as to why. The rooms were gorgeous and very nicely furnished but for the price I don't think I will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking time to comment about your recent visit. Needless to say, we wish your experience had been much more enjoyable. We pride ourselves on providing the best service to all of our guests and we fell short during your visit. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had and hope that if your travel plans do have you visiting the area again, you will give us another chance to make your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Salamander is designed and built to the highest standards. Construction details are magnificent hardwood doors and cabinets and hardware that is much too good to be available readily in the marketplace. Service was spectacular. Common areas resemble museum quality floors, wall treatments and furnishings. Room was luxurious and spotlessly clean. Staff was friendly and most attentive I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Sleep tight. You will love this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenR413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Salamander Resort & Spa. It is wonderful to hear how about all of the amenities and features you were able to enjoy and that our staff's friendliness & attentiveness was, "...the best you have experienced". We hope you are able to come back for a visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I have to admit that I was skeptical about this resort. It seemed to me that it didn't really fit in to the location and was a little too slick for this area. However, the incredibly warm staff coupled with an attention to detail created a very nice experience. My small office management staff had a short retreat at the resort, located just about short drive from the DC area. There was ample public space both inside and outside for informal meetings. The resort is very close (walking distance) to Middleburg, so it is very convenient to enjoy meals off-site. We ended with some spa treatments that were very well done. We had a great deal through travelzoo, but I think we will probably return in the future even absent the discounts. While all of the staff were terrific, we were especially pleased by the attention provided by Chelsea at the reception desk and Natalia, the massage therapist. Tips? Go into Middleburg for breakfast (there are plenty of coffee shops), request Natalia for a massage, plan to spend a few hours before or after the spa treatment enjoying the steam room and the outdoor infinity pool, be prepared for some of the resort to close early (the fitness center and all of the pools close about 6), self parking is no problem and close enough that you can drag you bags in if you pack lightly, and go for a short drive over to Hunter's Head in Upperville for a casual dinner and a pint!

Room Tip: We had a ground level terrace room with a nice patio, but it looks like all of the rooms have advant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for that lovely review and your support and confidence in Salamander Resort & Spa. We are so pleased that you and your colleagues were able to enjoy some relaxing time at our spa after all your work was completed. Thank you again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed at the Salamander on August 6 to 8. Very friendly staff from check-in to check-out. The bellman Joey was very friendly and patient and made the effort to learn about me during our walk from the front desk to my room. He then went over the functions of the room which I appreciated. Our stay was brief, but I made maximum use of the spa services and it was so delightful and relaxing that I dozed off in the relaxation room. The spa attendants, especially the attendant who first greets guests in the women's locker room, were very friendly and on the day I was there, August 7th, worked really hard to service all guests with a smile and as quickly as possible even though they were booked back to back. The rooms were very well appointed, however, the terrace level did not have much of a view. When I return, I will definitely reserve a room on the 2nd or third floor. The bathroom amenities were luxurious and I enjoyed the massage shower heads. For those who are horse lovers or equestrians, you will love this horse-themed property. You cannot escape pictures of horses or horse saddles or accessories. If you are a book lover, you will appreciate the quaintness of the library. I had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Book room on a higher floor to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vharris1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your lovely experience on TripAdvisor. We understand our guests expect incredible service and we are proud to deliver! We look forward to earning your loyalty and welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed overnight after a very relaxing day at the spa. It could not have been more enjoyable! We sat by the private pool and had lunch. Our room was spacious and luxurious with a patio overlooking the green.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I'll echo the previous comments about the beauty & luxury of the resort both inside and out. It's a great location for a getaway from DC.

The rooms are spacious and very well appointed, however, there is a major drawback. As noted by a recent commenter, our room had very thin walls and we heard everything in the next room late into the night. In our case, it happened to be teenage kids arguing and cursing (I hear them clear as a bell right now at 2 P.M). I'm not sure how Salamander can overcome such a flaw. This is simply unacceptable for a property that seeks to establish itself as a premier destination.

The fitness, spa facilities are top notch and the common areas within the hotel were thoughtfully designed and comfortably furnished. The family pool area is adequate but does not have the set up service we've enjoyed at other fine resorts. There is a quiet pool but it is only available to spa clientele.

The concierge desk was very responsive when I called in advance of our stay to arrange for flowers to be in our room upon arrival and my wife loved them. Finally, while the service from reception and the bell desk was congenial is took more than one phone try to actually get through in order to have our luggage delivered.

All in all, despite many upsides, I'm not sure I would return due to the thinness of the room walls and potential for an uncomfortable night.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank devildad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Salamander Resort & Spa. I sincerely apologize for the challenges during your stay. If you would please reach out to me, I would be happy to research the shortfalls you encountered. You can reach me directly via e-mail at gm@salamanderresort.com. I look forward to being of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
14.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
15.1 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
14.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Warrenton
Hampton Inn Warrenton
#1 of 6 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Hyatt Regency Reston
#1 of 4 in Reston
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
16.2 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamander Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Resort & Spa

Property: Salamander Resort & Spa
Address: 500 N Pendleton St, Middleburg, VA 20117-2683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamander Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamander Resort & Spa offers the refined sophistication of a luxurious country estate in the Virginia's exclusive horse and wine country, just 40 miles from Washington, D.C. This luxury Virginia getaway brings together today’s sought after key elements of time-saving accessibility, authenticity of cultural and historical experiences, unique culinary and wine programming, and an innovative spa and wellness concept.Just 35 minutes from Dulles Airport, the 340-acre resort is located within the historic village of Middleburg, VA, which houses more than 100 unique shops, restaurants, surrounding wineries and equestrian fields and provides the backdrop for one-of-a-kind leisure and group stays as well as spectacular wedding and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Salamander Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing