We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed with a group of about 18 assorted ages and we all had a great time. The B&B was comfortable, clean and friendly. The breakfasts were delicious, plentiful and diverse every day. Jenn was so great. The people working there were there when you needed them but never underfoot. The B&B contained everything we needed, even a steamer to get wrinkles out of our clothes for the wedding. They thought of everything you could possible need and had there for our use. Fancy coffee, tea and snacks were available all day long at no charge. The rooms were charming as was the common areas with plenty of games, toys, magazines to suit everyone's needs. The lawns and outside areas were gorgeous and the wedding facilies were fabulous with a beautiful building containing many large rooms and outside decks for a great place to have your cocktail hour and rooms for the rehearsal dinner. The actual wedding room is country charming with a brick fireplace and beautiful crystal chandeliers. I think everyone who came to the wedding was impressed with this place. Fabulous place to have a wedding or just a wonderful weekend at a charming B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 121 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2009

My husband and our friends recently stayed at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast for the Inauguration. Our initial purpose for staying there was to have a convenient place to stay so we could easily get to the Metro Station. Briar Patch exceeded our expectations all around. The owners didn't price gouge us like every other establishment during the Inauguration festivities. The rooms were cozy, clean, and smelled very pleasant. I travel for work, so I live in hotels and have a pretty high standard for where I stay. We will definitely be returning, so we can patron some of the mom and pop stores and visit the local wineries.

I'm also huge on Customer Service and staff was awesome. Everyone was so helpful and so knowledgeable about the DC area. Two thumbs up! Definitely a great location to kick back and relax.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DNFryar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a very pleasant overnight stay at the Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast in Middleburg, VA. Ellen and Dan, the innkeepers, as well as the staff, were very gracious and helpful. To begin, we were able to check in early since the room was not previously occupied. Although we were told that a continental breakfast is served on weekdays, our breakfast consisted of two outstanding quiches—better than any I’ve eaten in many years--fresh fruit, and, to meet my husband’s request, delicious pancakes. The conversation over breakfast with the guests and the innkeepers was invigorating. In addition, our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff’s recommendations for restaurants for lunch and dinner were outstanding. The innkeepers had prepared several fact sheets about the area, including a very useful list of short descriptions of nearby towns that we used for a beautiful drive back to Maryland through the Virginia countryside. We certainly achieved our goal for a relaxing weekday escape to a unique location in a comfortable, friendly environment.

Diane
North Potomac, Maryland

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferMaryland8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

My wife and I just returned from the Briar Patch Inn and we both remarked that although it was nice, it did not come close to several other B&Bs we have stayed at. We had received a gift certificate from my sister in law and were looking forward to a nice relaxing stay. We discovered quickly that most weekends were booked well in advance due to weddings at the facility, so we settled on two nights during the week. We had the only room with a private bath, and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, the bracket that held the shower head in place could not be tightened properly so the shower head pointed straight down, rather than out at an angle. Thus, you had to rinse yourself with water, then wash with soap, and finally rinse yourself off again. Not exactly what I was anticipating at a B&B at this price. My wife explained that it was an old house, but I don't see where that should affect basic conveniences, such as a shower. The Briar Patch does have a pool that was quite refreshing due to a sudden heat spell, but when we arrived at the pool deck, we found that most of the lounge chairs had not been cleaned of twigs and leaves from the nearby trees. It was obvious that this area was not maintained very well. We met another couple who was celebrating their anniversary, and the next morning they asked us what we thought of the inn. We both remarked about the condition of the pool area, and then they asked us if we had ants in our room. Apparently they had a number of large black ants on the walls and floor of their room. Fortunately we did not experience the same problem. It was obvious from talking to them that they were not impressed with the inn either. If you stay during the week, be prepared for a self serve continental breakfast rather then a full breakfast. Again, not what we have experienced at other B&Bs in the area, and certainly not what we expected. As I mentioned we have stayed at other B&Bs in Northern Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley, and have found them to be in much better condition, with much better service than the Briar Patch Inn. We would not recommend this inn to others.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dwalters872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

You won't be disappointed in this charming 1805 inn. The attention to detail is amazing. You'll step back in time but with all the modern conveniences. The Iris Room has a four poster bed, fireplace and complimentary lush bath robes. I love the claw foot tub. Bookshelves are filled with books for everybody's reading taste. The butler's pantry has coffee and teas from around the world and lots of wonderful snacks for your pleasure. The town of Middleburg has an outstanding French and Italian restaurant and all the old world charm you can imagine with lots of lovely, small shops. The inn is also close to the Civil War battlefields. And, there are at least a dozen wineries close by. With the price of gas going up, this would be a great mini vacation for a birthday, anniversary or just to get away from the city.
Oh, I almost forgot the large in-ground swimming pool, hot tub, and 47 acres of rolling hills. You'll love it.
briarpatchbabdb.com
Karen Williams, Baltimore

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KelticKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

I highly recommend this B&B. It is comfortable and family like and the owners and employees treat you like you are their family. They have cupboards full of food for their guests to eat at any time. We stayed in the violet room and our bed was a king size with a pillow top. There is a horse farm right there and lots of land to walk around on for exercise. Their hot tub is available any time of day or night. The friendly setting is a great place to meet other travelers during a wonderful breakfast. I can't wait to go back again!

(My dog Ikota loved it too!)

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HeatherStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We had our wedding weekend at Briar Patch the weekend of March 29, 2008. We rented the entire house, cottage plus used the event facility. It was the perfect solution for gathering family from across the country and we were able to focus on spending time together and creating a family - not just a wedding. Everyone loved the place and we would highly recommend for anyone planning on a wedding weekend. The value for the services provided was outstanding! And the event facility was amazing - we have gotten nothing but compliments from our friends on the beauty of the location -- as we like to say, the weekend was Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HisDiva62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.8 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
172 reviews
5.4 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
295 reviews
4.6 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
163 reviews
12.1 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
19 mi away
Stone Manor Boutique Inn
Stone Manor Boutique Inn
#1 of 3 in Lovettsville
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast

Address: 23130 Briar Patch Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117-2946
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range: $95 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains & located near Middleburg in the heart of VA horse & wine country yet only 20 minutes from Dulles Airport & about an hour from Washington, DC, Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast Inn is a historic farm on 47 rolling acres with majestic mountain views. It is a great venue whether you are considering a romantic weekend getaway in one of our nine bedrooms, experiencing one of our fun cooking class weekends, holding a wedding in our event building for up to 200 guests, hosting your favorite organization's fundraiser, having a meeting in a unique location, or planning a party. Our location and amenities, including our beautiful pool will make your weekend or event one to remember.Stay in one of our eight bedrooms in the main house or combine two rooms to create your own private suite. For even more privacy, stay in our one bedroom cottage with a fully equipped kitchen. Hold your wedding, family celebration, business meeting, group picnic, or off-site retreat in our indoor facility – The Fox Den at Briar Patch – for up to 200 guests or on our beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Middleburg
Briar Patch Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing