We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We originally saw this quaint property on Living Social and decided that it was an offer we couldn't refuse. Well we were supposed to go the weekend that Super Storm Sandy was battering the east coast so we changed our dates....at least 3xs. So off we went only about 45 minutes outside of Alexandria, VA and it was like we went to Never Never Land. Now the property is great and they are doing a bang up job on weddings which seems like a perfect spot to tie the knot. We arrived and the wedding party was still trying to figure out where to go. So we went to Middleburg which is about 7 miles away. What a great little town. Our stay was fantastic even though it rained almost the entire time until checkout. But its the people that make the trip. The staff was great, the breakfasts fantastic, the munchies, non stop and we met and made some new friends. The constant sunshine is overrated anyway.

We will definitely be back and are recommending this to all our friends....they may have to add on.

Tom and Carole Huzella

Room Tip: They are all great!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomscheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

It's so nice to hear from you, Tom and Carole! I couldn't help but smile when you said that you're going to be recommending our place to all of your friends. We rely on people like you to spread the word!

We're also so happy that Superstorm Sandy didn't get in the way of you two having a great time. (Even if her actions did force you to postpone it a few times.) Needless to say, we can't wait to see you for another little getaway. You can rest assured that we'll have a fantastic breakfast waiting for you.

Stay in touch,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 119 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The owners were RUDE, the food was just OK, the place was not very clean. The cottage was quaint, but the shower broke and the owner said "what do you want me to do?" and left us with duct tape to fix it, there were mouse droppings in the drawers in the cottage. There were nice towels, that's about it.

DO NOT GET MARRIED THERE AND EXPECT HELP! The wedding coordinator was AWFUL! The reception hall is nice and clean, but you will end up doing EVERYTHING yourself and having to work all weekend.

AWFUL.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling_Bears05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to provide outstanding hospitality, especially cleanliness, great breakfasts, and friendly service. Since you rejected the offer to get a replacement part for the shower because you wanted to take a shower immediately, our housekeeper took the initiative to use duct tape as a temporary fix. As for the wedding planner, the bride hired her independently of us and since she also happens to work at Briar Patch we know she consistently does a good job. You can check and you'll see that she (and we) uniformly receive rave reviews on such sites as WeddingWire.com and TheKnot.com, as well as TripAdvisor.com. It's possible that all of us had an off-day for you.

Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I and another couple recently spent two days at the Briar Patch, and it semed like home. Comfortable rooms, comfortable beds and excellent breakfasts. The staff was uber friendly and accommodating. A hot tub and pool are bonuses. Four wineries are within a mile or so of the Briar Patch, and the Red Fox Inn and Tavern is a place not to miss for dinner. Downtown Middleburg is small but has numerous specialty shops worth exploring. But it all starts with the Briar Patch, and we'll be back.

Room Tip: If you like "old timey" ask for the Iris Room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginiagentleman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We're so happy that you, your wife, and your friends felt at home in our B&B! We're also pleased that you were able to enjoy the delicious local wines and a dinner at the Red Fox Inn and Tavern. Good wine and good food? Sounds like a perfect little trip if you ask me.

Next time you need a relaxing getaway, please don't hesitate to contact us! We'd love to host you again.

Warm regards,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a few days at this very charming bed and breakfast and were thrilled with the very friendly staff as well as the very quaint accommodations. We booked the Cottage and honestly were ready to move in(lol). It was our first trip to VA wine country and we will be back - definitely heading back to Briar Patch. Great service and good cost - thanks for a nice little break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micrawfo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thanks for this wonderful review! I'm thrilled to hear that you felt at home in the Cottage. Although we can't have you move in full-time, you can rest assured that we'd love to see you at our B&B anytime! :)

Delicious Virginia wine awaits!

All the best,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nice place that specializes in weddings, but this time was full of a variety of types of nice guests. The location is perfect for that part of Virginia. The rooms are comfortable and the hosts are pleasant. Breakfasts are only average; need more thought in the planning of them. Snacks are available throughout the day. (But the wine in your room isn't free.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usachaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us! It's fabulous to know that you felt comfortable in your room and that you loved our location. We always feel lucky to live in such a gorgeous surrounding and I'm happy that you loved it, too.

As far as the breakfast goes, thanks for bringing this to my attention. I'll definitely keep your comments in mind for morning meals to come.

Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Among the hustle and bustle of metro DC is this amazing little bed and breakfast tucked away in the country that was nothing short of comfy, cozy. The rates were extremely reasonable and the food was delicious! We enjoyed a cooking class that was well above our expectations. After the cooking class, we digested our food in the comfort of the hot tub. In the morning we enjoyed stories with the owners and a breakfast that was superb. Everyone was so friendly! I highly recommend Briar Patch B&B for its value, cleanliness, and comfort!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Violet room. We did hear some chatting from the room below us, but the B&B is o...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImaginariumCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are so happy that you found our little spot in Middleburg and we can't thank you enough for writing this wonderful review. It's hard to beat a day full of cooking followed by some time in the hot tub.

Next time you are in need of some R&R, we'd love to see you two again. Just remember: a delicious breakfast awaits!

All the best,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friend and I spent a few days @ the Briar patch B&B in Middleburg, VA. It was so relaxing and comfortable at a very reasonable rate. The hot tub was just the ticket after a hard day of vinyard tours and horseback riding. The service is helpful and the breakfast was good. The Briarpatch is a great value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Faye,

Thank you so much for this review. I'm glad we could give you and your friend a few days of R&R! Hopefully you got to check out some good vineyards nearby. I'll share this with the staff, as well. Let us know if you're ever back in the area—we'd love to host you again!

Sincerely,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.7 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
171 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
10.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
5.2 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
291 reviews
4.6 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast

Address: 23130 Briar Patch Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117-2946
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range: $95 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains & located near Middleburg in the heart of VA horse & wine country yet only 20 minutes from Dulles Airport & about an hour from Washington, DC, Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast Inn is a historic farm on 47 rolling acres with majestic mountain views. It is a great venue whether you are considering a romantic weekend getaway in one of our nine bedrooms, experiencing one of our fun cooking class weekends, holding a wedding in our event building for up to 200 guests, hosting your favorite organization's fundraiser, having a meeting in a unique location, or planning a party. Our location and amenities, including our beautiful pool will make your weekend or event one to remember.Stay in one of our eight bedrooms in the main house or combine two rooms to create your own private suite. For even more privacy, stay in our one bedroom cottage with a fully equipped kitchen. Hold your wedding, family celebration, business meeting, group picnic, or off-site retreat in our indoor facility – The Fox Den at Briar Patch – for up to 200 guests or on our beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Middleburg
Briar Patch Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing