We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Host Any Special Event”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Title says it all, but the Briar Patch excelled in offering a beautiful setting, friendly staff, and convenient location.

Room Tip: The Rose Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverdog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

riverdog58,

Thanks very much for your lovely May review! I'll pass this onto the staff, too. It always makes us happy when people enjoy our beautiful property and our hospitality, so I'm glad you appreciate it. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was my first trip to a B & B-that said, I thought it was quite nice. No one was there when we arrived so we made ourselves at home. In fact, No one was there at all until the next day so no warm welcome(that was ok with me). The snacks were abundant which was nice. Our breakfast was fine also-we went down at 9:30 and everything was sitting out still.We had the Living Social deal for 4 but had to ask for the extra winery passes. That was a disappointment because even though there are many wineries close by, the passes were for wineries rather far away-didn't want to be tasting an hour and a half away then have to drive on the country roads so they were a waste. A TV might have been nice-they have a communal one that's only for VHS movies. Our room was not made up either during our 3 days. Loved the porch and the grounds. We did use the hot tub and it was fine. It was hot and there was no way to open a window to cool the room off. Bathroom was fine and amenities were quite nice. Loved Middleburg.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vatennisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

vatennisgirl,

Thanks for your review back in April. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

I do want to apologize, however, for the wineries being far away. We know there are plenty of great ones in the area, and we want to make sure they all get explored! Thanks for the feedback on the other issues mentioned. We will make sure to address them.

Thanks again for leaving a review. We're pleased you had a good time.

Regards,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Though my husband and I are long time Arlingtonians, we had never visited Middleburg as tourists. Along comes a Groupon for a stay at the Briar Patch B&B located near the town with an invitation to bring our friendly dogs! What could be better? Well, a charming and spacious cottage sited next to the main house, which accommodated the 4 of us, beautifully! Also, we were very pleased with the plentiful amenities, hospitality of the staff, and extravagant, tasty breakfasts. Overall, our stay at the Briar Patch B&B was a very pleasant backdrop to our weekend in Middleburg!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavasilakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The house is very welcoming and cozy. Breakfast each morning was very yummy and plentiful, and we loved the fact that there was access to chocolates, hot drinks, and snacks all day long.
We stayed in the Iris Room, one of the largest and most private rooms. It has it's own entrance, it's own bathroom, a fireplace, and access to the living room. It is a beautiful room and we enjoyed relaxing in it--as long as no one else was around. This room is in the oldest part of the house, and unfortunately, whenever someone was upstairs the creaking of the floor and the running water through the plumbing would wake us up. We just took it as a part of the "old-house charm"... but if you want peace and quiet, this may not be the room for you (at least if the house is full of guests).
Other than that, we were very pleased with our stay.
This B&B is not walking distance from Middleburg... it's about a 5min drive. Going into town is recommended, but we also spent a lot of time driving through the countryside, to vineyards, past horse farms, and taking turns onto narrow gravel roads. The nearby region is charming and beautiful, even in the winter.

Room Tip: Iris room is in the older part of the house, so the floors creak if someone is upstairs, and the plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReiseLust_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Briar Patch to celebrate our 20th anniversary, using a Living Social Coupon. The staff was excellent right from our first phone call, working with us for several days to find a date and room combination that suited us despite the fact that we had let our coupon go til close to its expiration! Henriette, the on-site manager, greeted us warmly on arrival and made us feel quite at home, and was informative and open to all of our questions during our stay.

We stayed on a Sunday and Monday in January, and had the house almost to ourselves. We loved the Rose/Sunflower suite on the 2nd floor, with a hall door that closed us off from the rest of house when we wished. Our rooms, including the bath, were spotless and made up each day. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows. Our only complaint was that is was too hot in our rooms, and we had to open windows to sleep comfortably. The hot tub was a luxurious treat one night, though it took a long time to heat up.

The website states that a continental breakfast is served on weekdays, but we had delicious hot choices each morning: quiche, pancakes, scrambled eggs, nut bread and other baked yummies accompanied by fresh fruit salad and a variety of beverages. Everything was freshly prepared and delicious. When we had to leave very early on our last monring, the staff prepared things for us to heat up the next morning so we wouldn't miss out.

There are little things that would have earned Briar Patch 5 stars from me -- larger, more luxurient bath towels, for instance, or more comfortable lounge chairs in each room -- but we plan to return and would recommend this B&B to any of our friends. Great location, great service, good food, lovely rooms... who could ask for more?!

Room Tip: The Rose and Sunflower rooms share a bath, but make a very private suite if rented together. Ditto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgriswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We experienced a wonderful getaway couples overnight. The staff was wonderful and the inn was very clean. The location is nice. It's away from town, so it tends to be quiet. However, you are just a couple miles from Middleburg. It is also very close to a number of vineyards/wineries. After spending time doing a couple of wine tastings, we were able to spend a relaxing afternoon at the inn. It was quiet and a great time to read and enjoy a beverage. Being so close to Middleburg, you can enjoy a great dinner at a number of restaurants. There are almost too many restaurants to choose from in Middleburg.

The breakfast was nice, and the company of the other guests was very nice. My wife enjoyed a nice morning spa with a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loserboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

OK so we are not experienced B&B people - our first time actually. I have read the more negative reviews and would like to say that we had NONE of the problems reported by them. Being that we are first timers maybe our expectations were a bit less expectant....but I feel extremely happy with the accomodations, service, and atmosphere. We were greeted very warmly and the staff was always helpful, There was access to all the things we needed at all times, and the Cottage which holds a huge amount of charm and whimsy was PERFECT for us! I can not speak to the hot tub or pool as we were there in December, and did not utilize them. Pet friendly really was one of the things that sold me on this destination - though we did not bring our dog I was happy to see a place that was welcoming of the idea of animals. I would like to say that I found the cats to be a welcome and fitting addition to the property. They were friendly and added a homey feel to our stay. I am confused by those persons that might be offended by them when seeking to stay in a rustic, beautiful country setting....If you are not into nature and the things found there, maybe you should stay at the Hilton. LOVE LOVE LOVED our time at the Briar Patch and hope to spend future anniversaries there.

Room Tip: Loved the Cottage - Charming, whimsical, and quiet. LOVE the tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.7 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
172 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
258 reviews
10.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
293 reviews
4.6 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,364 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast

Address: 23130 Briar Patch Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117-2946
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range: $95 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains & located near Middleburg in the heart of VA horse & wine country yet only 20 minutes from Dulles Airport & about an hour from Washington, DC, Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast Inn is a historic farm on 47 rolling acres with majestic mountain views. It is a great venue whether you are considering a romantic weekend getaway in one of our nine bedrooms, experiencing one of our fun cooking class weekends, holding a wedding in our event building for up to 200 guests, hosting your favorite organization's fundraiser, having a meeting in a unique location, or planning a party. Our location and amenities, including our beautiful pool will make your weekend or event one to remember.Stay in one of our eight bedrooms in the main house or combine two rooms to create your own private suite. For even more privacy, stay in our one bedroom cottage with a fully equipped kitchen. Hold your wedding, family celebration, business meeting, group picnic, or off-site retreat in our indoor facility – The Fox Den at Briar Patch – for up to 200 guests or on our beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Bed And Breakfast
Briar Patch Hotel Middleburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing