We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Third Time Not the Charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fox's Den Tavern - CLOSED

Fox's Den Tavern
7 West Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
(540) 687-4165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hamilton, VA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Third Time Not the Charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

On a lovely late fall day, my friend and I drove to Middleburg to enjoy the weather, each other and lunch at the Fox's Den. We had both been before and were expecting another delicious meal in comfortable surroundings. Have to say we were both disappointed. We ordered the special lobster salade assuming it would contain the same large lobster chunks that adorn their yummy lobster sandwiches. It did not. It was an average, dare I say "out of the can" meat mixed with greens and decorated with beets and apples--not a combination you see every day. The waiter did come to our table to see what the presentation looked like, perhaps he could have warned us against our choice? The attention to detail was nowhere to be seen as it had been in the past--no bread basket or water was forthcoming. Little things do mean a lot and the Fox's Den has lost touch with formerly satisfied customers who I doubt very much will be giving their kitchen another chance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    10
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rehearsal Dinner Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Charlie and his staff were perfect. The dinner/food was amazing, the price was right, and the decorations/flowers were perfect. Everyone loved this place, its charm and its owner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upperville, VA USA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice intimate with comfortable atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great place to sit and enjoy food and companions. The sea food is fresh and very good. Crab cakes with lots of meat and wonderful flavor. Scallops perfectly prepared. Fried oyster appetizer a bit dry and too much breading. Duck breast cooked very nicely and steak cooked to perfection. We will return soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hearty saturday lunch for 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Peanut soup was really a pleasant surprise. Heirloom tomato stack seemed too elegant for this rustic, old place but was tasty all the same. Was surprised at the lack of VA wines when we asked. I also believe a small child may have lost their life that day as the endless screams of said child were promptly responded to by multiple staff members..... the child & mother were escorted to the "top floor" that he might run around...... we never saw them again!!!! But lunch was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qtstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I should have read the reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

From the moment we walked in. Rude service. Once seated the rudeness continued. Not offered bread, however a bread knife was in place setting and later offered table of 9. Asked for a lime for water had to ask twice. Had to ask for a water refill too. Appitizer salad was drenched in dressing. We just felt like we we were lower class. We were seated by a couple who totally agreed with us that the service sucked and the food was just ok and overpriced. The couple stated the lucky they had a living social coupon. We both discussed we what tip they deserved because they didnt deserve 15-20%. The woman in the couple use to be a server and and suggested we leave a note. I wrote good food, service not so much and left a 10% tip. We had eaten a Red Horse and wanted something new. We won't be back here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kwebb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox's Den Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing