We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox's Den Tavern

Fox's Den Tavern
7 West Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
(540) 687-4165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 21 Restaurants in Middleburg
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“International Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very cozy and charming place. Friendly and romantic with good food. Try the fried oysters. The bar is warm and offers a good wine list and cocketails.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank IMGiamboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were on our way to another restaurant and walked by the Fox's Den Tavern, stopped to take a look at the menu posted and changed our plans. This was a wonderful authentic tavern with a unique menu. We ate in the bar and experienced excellent service. Try the lobster and brie BLT.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken and Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beer and a Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband went here with the groomsmen before our wedding and the food was terrific and well priced, the bar tenders were awesome (pleasant and friendly, joking around), constant dedicated service, great atmosphere! Great beer menu.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SasafrasKrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tavern dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the wonderful hunt club tavern ambience. The cushions and pillows on the bench are a nice touch. I had a Caesar salad with an abundance of creamy Caesar dressing and bits of bacon and of course the shredded cheese and croutons, etc. The walnut and gorgonzola salad was very good. Three of us had the soup du jour was a Cauliflower soup which had a tasty, mild flavor. I was impressed that the sourdough bread was appropriately not sour - hard to find. My husband polished off his pork chop with enthusiasm. For dessert came lava cake and brownie a la mode with lots of chocolate sauce on both. The service was friendly and attentive.

Cons: The cigarette smoke from the patio made it's way all the way to the back where we were seated. The entrees seem a bit pricey for a tavern, even if it is Middleburg. The whipped cream on the dessert came as a 'sauce'. They need to chill the bowl before whipping!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go for the bar scene”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Its a scene alright. All the locals drink here... The bar remind me of something from the old show "cheers".

Everyone knows everyone here... Food was expensive, service was good.

I really loved the atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox's Den Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Fox's Den Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing