We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Tavern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox's Den Tavern - CLOSED

Fox's Den Tavern
7 West Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
(540) 687-4165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were on our way to another restaurant and walked by the Fox's Den Tavern, stopped to take a look at the menu posted and changed our plans. This was a wonderful authentic tavern with a unique menu. We ate in the bar and experienced excellent service. Try the lobster and brie BLT.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken and Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    10
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Beer and a Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband went here with the groomsmen before our wedding and the food was terrific and well priced, the bar tenders were awesome (pleasant and friendly, joking around), constant dedicated service, great atmosphere! Great beer menu.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SasafrasKrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tavern dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the wonderful hunt club tavern ambience. The cushions and pillows on the bench are a nice touch. I had a Caesar salad with an abundance of creamy Caesar dressing and bits of bacon and of course the shredded cheese and croutons, etc. The walnut and gorgonzola salad was very good. Three of us had the soup du jour was a Cauliflower soup which had a tasty, mild flavor. I was impressed that the sourdough bread was appropriately not sour - hard to find. My husband polished off his pork chop with enthusiasm. For dessert came lava cake and brownie a la mode with lots of chocolate sauce on both. The service was friendly and attentive.

Cons: The cigarette smoke from the patio made it's way all the way to the back where we were seated. The entrees seem a bit pricey for a tavern, even if it is Middleburg. The whipped cream on the dessert came as a 'sauce'. They need to chill the bowl before whipping!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go for the bar scene”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Its a scene alright. All the locals drink here... The bar remind me of something from the old show "cheers".

Everyone knows everyone here... Food was expensive, service was good.

I really loved the atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gracious Waiter Saves the Day--Sort Of”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Granted, we were a group of 10 slightly older citizens--a challenge to any restaurant (the number, not the age!) In order to place tables together, one of our diners had to sit under a dripping AC vent. He moved his plate slightly to the right and let the water drip on the table cloth instead of his food. This was a night where nothing went right but Nick, our waiter, graciously and humorously tried to make things better. The famous "fries" were as ordinary as they come and not hot, merely tepid. Our entrees were a disaster. I ordered rib eye steak, medium rare to rare; it came well, well done. My order included potatoes au gratin. What I got was some gray mass of hard unidentifiable glump that brought rounds of (soft) laughter as we tried to identify it. Those six who ordered duck all said parts of it were cold, the rest merely warm. The lobster mac & cheese smelled so bad--very fishy--the diner couldn't eat it and sent it back. The vegetable of the day (julienned squash) in all 10 cases was half cold, half warm. It took 2 1/2 hours before we got our entrees. Thank goodness for Nick who kept us consoled. Arriving at dessert, they were unfortunately out of what we ordered. A request for an Irish Whiskey brought the fact they didn't have any whipped cream and would have to beat some. Another 20 min. passed before the drink arrived. Coffee was often unavailable. The only other server in the room, when asked for more coffee, became exceptionally rude and strode off. We were stunned into silence. All in all we were in the restaurant for 3 1/2 hrs. Blessings on Nick! Every restaurant should have a Nick to help smooth over the rough moments and treat customers with grace, courtesy, and lots of good humor!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mickiknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox's Den Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing