We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary winery with bordeaux style red wines”
Review of The Boxwood Winery

The Boxwood Winery
Ranked #7 of 25 things to do in Middleburg
Attraction details
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Contemporary winery with bordeaux style red wines”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This vineyard focuses on bordeaux style red wines. It is very contemporary with tastings done in the barreling room.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    13
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
klelmore
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Boxwood for the first time. I am not a red wine person so when I found out it was a red wine only winery, I was initially disappointed. However, I enjoyed the wines we tasted and it was a nice experience. The grounds are pretty and in nicer weather will be nice to visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kecompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Boxwood Winery has beautiful and well kept grounds. The tasting room is completely done in steel and stone which gives it a slick, sophisticated and modern look but, on the down side, it also makes it look sterile and cold. They only make red wines and we thought that they were all pretty good. The tasting fee is $10 for 5 wines. The staff was friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MonaLisa1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
879 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Pretty Place, but not worthwhile”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were driving by and noticed the beautiful grounds and wanted to stop in for a taste. They only have reds... they charge $10 per person for 5 wine tastes, which are typical "tasting" size and you get to keep the glass. They didn't offer oyster crackers or a way to clear your palate in between tastes, which is rather odd. They did offer to sell truffles and other items though.

We didn't like the wines much either, but to each their own!

Service was decent though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice presentation but light on the tasting.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

It's a nice tasting in a pretty setting but tasting was expensive and only the 2010 Topiary stood out of the five tastings.

Helpful?
1 Thank MackFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxwood Winery also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Boxwood Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing