We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“NOT kid/family friendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxwood Winery

The Boxwood Winery
Ranked #6 of 27 things to do in Middleburg
Attraction details
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NOT kid/family friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Only offer dry, red wines with the exception of a Rose which I enjoyed on a warm, fall day after apple picking. Interesting about the other reviews on here because I also felt that the staff was cold and even a bit rude. Definitely NOT family friendly!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MNTourist08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    12
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cold reception, mediocre wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The place is impressive, new and very modern, but the quality of the wine not good. Our tasting server was not helpful. Directions using Mapquest take you to the wrong place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank madan6063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rude - stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

They apparently recently opened to the public, and a mistake we had to be their guinea pigs.

While the wine quality was good, that was quickly turned into vinegar with their rudeness and as my companion stated "why are the women in middleburg so cold". It was something we kept experiencing in certain areas of this part of Virginia. Lots of stuck up folks around here. We left after being treated rudely and did not purchase any wine.

They need to take a class in hospitality and learn some kindness.

I suggest you Pass on by and don't stop. Too many other wineries that offer a true experience with no attitude.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
447 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Boxwood is a full service vineyard. Warm welcoming environment. Great wine tastings with an eclectic mkix of grapes. Pets welcome. Their public relations/communications effort is one of the best I have seen.

Helpful?
Thank jrjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and wonderful wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Beautiful, open tasting area with places to sit and enjoy a bottle with bread and cheese. Dogs welcome, the many there made the place feel festive and fun.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mike22315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxwood Winery also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Boxwood Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing