We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Upper Crust of Middleburg

The Upper Crust of Middleburg
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Weyers Cave, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

An old Historical Toll House Bldg from the 1800's. Doesn't look like much but the food is great.
We had a breakfast sandwich and also had lunch and both times, the food was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food Chilly Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am a lover of all things pastry and Upper Crust delivers on quality. However, I can't remember feeling less valued as a customer ever. I've been several times and never had so much as a smile, "thank you" or "have a nice day". I had originally gone there twice a week but when I discovered Middleburg Common Grounds and how friendly their service was I have given my loyalty to them. If you are craving something sweet order a cruller doughnut but expect a very salty delivery. Also make sure you have cash or a check, they do not accept credit cards.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJeepGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stopped on our way out of town. Wish we had visited every day. Apple turnover was great and croissant was light and flakey. We bought a pie to take to the kids, and I am sure it will be great too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“To much tata about nothing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I went on a friends advice boy did I have a word for him! First there is no parking except for the Safeway lot. When you walk in you are not treated very nice i felt like I was bothering them! Ordered a cock do do do something like that. The sandwich had a lot of lettuce I can say that! The pies looked good but for 17 to 20 dollars no thank you! Will not make that mistake again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckeyelulu
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“re: Worth the drive to Middleburg, better than Salamander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is our favorite place for lunch when near Middleburg. It is definitely worth the drive. No, they don't cater to fads, anything or anyone. We like that. The owner is a great guy, often coming out and giving treats to children who are with their parents. Sure, a couple of the folks taking your order can be surly at times. But the sandwiches, homemade cookies and pies make up for that. Also, lthere is a a great outdoor patio out back. Also indoor seating out back in a carriage house. No, it is nothing fancy. Very laid back. Beat up but comfortable tables and chairs with umbrellas. Very peaceful. If you want fancy, you can get fancy nearby - at the Salamander Café down the street (owners of the Salamander Inn). You will also pay big bucks for that fancy. We don't think the food is nearly as good as the Upper Crust. The Upper Crust is all homemade and tastes like something your grandmother in the Midwest would have cooked up. Go out and support this local business that has been serving good food to the community since 1980. It is where the locals go. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buckeyelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Upper Crust of Middleburg also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Upper Crust of Middleburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing