We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Bar Food and Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Horse Tavern

Red Horse Tavern
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Stevensville
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Food was fine, nothing exceptional. Servers are very friendly and helpful. Typical street cafe food. The blackened shrimp over spinach salad was fresh and tasty. Drinks were well made and servers kept our glasses full.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    42
    15
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
389 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Good "Joint"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Red Horse Tavern is what I would categorize as a neighborhood "joint." Nothing fancy and it shows its years of sitting on the main drag in Middleburg. Pretty nice to fine an unpretentious place in the middle of horse country with good food and reasonable prices! The popular outdoor seating was taken so we sat inside. I would say that if the weather is nice and you don't mind a wait, outside has a better vibe. On this day, a long wait and rather a lot of motorcycles cruising the street made inside more appealing. I had a chicken Panini and chips and hubby had a grilled shrimp sub. Both were good, reasonably priced and served in a timely fashion. Service can range from prompt and friendly to "where did that waiter go?" --- which is surprising in such a small place. Outdoors perhaps. Patio is pet friendly as is much of Middleburg which I think has more dogs per square mile than any place I've ever been. We enjoyed our quick lunch here and would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sailingboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great tavern in a cool town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We were exploring Middleburg, Virginia, because we'd never been there before. By chance and the look of the place on a nice day, people on the deck and street tables we chose the Red Horse Tavern. Turned out to be a good choice.
We shared a great Rueben and especially enjoyed the handmade potato chips with just a little old bay type seasoning on them. The beer selection is good too.
The town and the tavern are worth the trip. I'm sure there are more good restaurants in Middleburg, but that is next trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank huckleberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food & outdoor seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We tried this place on Sunday. Most restaurants in the area close around 3 pm on Sunday, but this place was open. We really liked the food. I had a chicken panini with fries, which I thought was delicious. Their fry portion is very small, though. We really enjoyed eating outside. They are also pet friendly on the patio, which is a plus for us. We'll definitely be going back!

Helpful?
Thank MissC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“great quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We grabbed a quick lunch here and at outside on the deck. Great beer selection, but I didn't care for the wine they served. Very dog friendly and good service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelshaw0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Horse Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Horse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing