We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why the poor ratings??”
Review of Red Horse Tavern

Red Horse Tavern
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Middleburg
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Why the poor ratings??”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Friends of ours suggested this place last evening. None of us had been there, and did not see reviews until later on. The 4 of us really enjoyed the place. Service was wonderful; we loved the 2 waiters assigned to our table. Food was typical bar food, but was really good. Two Reuben's, a chicken salad and a chicken/avacado wrap - no complaints. We sat outside with an assortment of people of different ages. I would certainly recommend

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    50
    25
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Riding
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to enjoy early evening and a beer”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Seating out front is nice (a lot of flies though the last 3 times I have been there), a small but adequate selection of beers, decent appetizers and half price burgers on Tuesday (I think). Overall a typical but good relaxed tavern atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The only redeeming quality about this place is the beer. I can’t understand how this place survives. It’s a hit with the bikers, for whatever reason, but the food and the service is the worst. I have never had a good meal here. Is everything microwaved? It must be the outdoor seating. It was the only place in town that has a good view of the street. At least now we have the new coffee shop, which has outdoor seating and better food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveForksVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not on a hot day”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We tried this place after being told there was no room at another restaurant for lunch. They have very limited seating inside and it did not feel like it was air conditioned. After waiting 15 minutes to just get ice water for our party we decided to go somewhere else for better service and air conditioning

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohiomom449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nothing out of the ordinary”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is definitely a neighborhood place and a favorite of motorcyclists. The best part of the place is the outdoor seating. The service is poor with the waiters dumping your order and coming back to your table only if you flag them down. Food was average and the prices high for what you get. This might be a good choice to eat outside on a sunny day for appetizers and drinks, but not a place for a good, decent meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginiabellarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Horse Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Horse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing