We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ambience and food.”

Goodstone Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodstone Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Foxcroft Road
Description: The award-winning Goodstone Inn & Restaurant features a refined approach to French Country cuisine keeping to traditional and classical techniques. Goodstone excels at creating seasonally influenced cuisine. Drawing inspiration and purpose from the 265-acre estate of rolling hills and farmland, Goodstone provides guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience, featuring the very finest and freshest of ingredients from the gardens at Goodstone and other local farms. Our wine cellar offers an expansive selection of wines from Virginia’s wine country and around the world. Enjoy elegant ambiance under the trees while dining in the new Conservatory dining room.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was treated to Sunday brunch at this wonderful inn by my cousin and her husband, who are frequent visitors, and can't wait to go back to stay. The grounds are lovely and the brunch was delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

We are so pleased that your cousin and her husband introduced you to Goodstone! We look forward to having you return to enjoy another brunch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

The farm-to-table menu, the regular menu and the wine pairings were delicious and well worth exploring. A magical meal that I will remember for a long time.

1  Thank BorneoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for your comments! I appreciate you taking the time to complete this review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the wine pairings and the meal. We are fortunate that we have the garden here and are able to source directly from it, it really is magical!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Both the food and service was outstanding and appropriate for my friends 60th birthday!! The location is unique and isolated countryside, but it is "out-of the way" with the ten mile drive required from "downtown" Middleburg. I may return again for another special occasion as it was moderately expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DayTriper20165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear DayTriper20165,

Happy 60th birthday! Thank you for spending it at The Goodstone Inn & Restaurant. Your comments will be shared with our staff. We hope that you do return soon, we would be delighted to have you back for any occasion!

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We can't say enough about our romantic, intimate and delicious dinner we had Monday evening. The menu had something for even the most finicky foodie. we were greeted with complimentary Prosecco which was a nice touch. Chef sent out two extra treats during the meal, one was a steak tartare morsel that melted in your mouth and then grape sorbet before our entrees. I tasted exactly like a hundred red seedless grapes pooping in your mouth at once! Delicious! We had the Filet Mignon and the Lamb Loin Croquant and couldn't decide who had the better meal because they were both cooked to perfection with the most savory sauces to accompany the meats. We couldn't get over the freshness of our salads and the generous amount of Roquefort, dates and strawberries that we found in the crisp lettuces with the perfect amount of dressing. The roasted corn on the cob was a treat and I was glad that Daniel, our super attentive server said I should feel free to "pick it up and eat it like corn on the cob was meant to be eaten." It was the sweetest corn I ever had with apparently over 25 spices to accompany it! Chef remembered to remove the Shrimp tassi due to my shellfish allergy, but my husband said what a shame because that would have been incredible! We had the most delicious, fresh out of the oven French baguette we have ever had. That was perfect for making sure we got every last delicious demi-glace, sauce, dressing and broth on our plates. I am now a big fan of Parmesan snow. You will have to see for yourself what that delicious idea is!
We finished our dinner with a lemon Panna Cotta dessert and a hazelnut, chocolate ganache, something-something. Exquisite! We can't thank you enough chef for the perfect meal, and Daniel for serving us with flair and fun. The presentation, fresh ingredients and relaxing atmosphere made for one of our most memorable dining experiences in a long time. We can't wait to come back and try your famous brunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mybigbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant dining experience on Monday evening in the restaurant. From the estate garden, to Chef's hands, to the plate of our guests, we strive as a team to bring a memorable experience to the table each time. I will be sure to share your comments with your server, Daniel, and our Chef as well; your words and excitement about the experience are motivating and kind! Thank you! Please do join us for brunch, we would love to have your return. We offer brunch each Sunday and I highly recommend you try to "Chef's Surprise"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the inn celebrating our anniversary. We have stayed here before and it met our expectations a second time. Both times, we stayed in the Hayloft Room and loved it! It is a great room with slanted ceilings and dormer windows. It also has a private very large rooftop deck where we had cocktails at night looking out over the farm lands. It is not a room for those who have physical issues. The stairs are very steep, as it is basically in the attic with window ac units.

We stayed two nights and purchased the romance package which included wine and chocolate covered strawberries as well as a four course meal at their restaurant.

Breakfast cooked to order is always included. The breakfast and dinner were excellent as well as the service. The only suggestion I would give is that gratuity be somehow included in the package price. Breakfast was valued at $50 (a little high for eggs and bacon or pancakes etc for two) so we got the bill with the total credited and had to write in a tip. Just seemed odd.

The dinner was interesting too. Our server told us that we could get anything on the menu, choosing one from each of the four courses with no surcharges or restrictions. We did so and my husband purchased a glass of wine. The "included" dinner cost us $70 extra when the tax, gratuity, one glass of wine and the unexpected $6 surcharge per soufflé ($12 total) was added.

These were just a few things to be aware of, but we will definitely return. The Inn is a great getaway and the food was really delicious.

Thank SwimMom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review! We are delighted to hear that you had a nice dining experience and will share your feedback with Chef and his team. The Romance Package is very popular and a great value. Thank you for your comments about the menu and pricing, we will be sure to address with our staff as well as take a look at our menu layout.

We look forward to your return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodstone Restaurant also viewed

 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Goodstone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing