We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fabulous food; wonderful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Restaurant

Goodstone Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
+1 540-687-3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodstone Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: French, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Foxcroft Road
Description: Extremely Fresh, Approachable and Refined Drawing both inspiration and purpose from its location on farmland in Middleburg, VA, the restaurant at Goodstone Inn & Estate seeks to provide its guests with an unparalleled dining experience. The quality of produce, both cultivated and foraged, found outside the back door of the kitchen provides Chef Tarver King and his team with pristine ingredients that make up a meal representative of this place in every moment of each season.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous food; wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The menu is wonderful and each entry, from beginning to end, is meticulously prepared. The ambiance is perfectly attuned to the location in the rolling Virginia countryside. Service is impeccable. An absolute 'must' if you are staying anywhere near Middleburg, Virginia.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank khittinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    31
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Carve Out a Piece of Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Taking a break from the arduous daily grind can be twice as rewarding when you combine it with the charm of a quaint town like Middleburg and the pampering rural elegance of Goodstone Inn & Restaurant.

We took a ride to the historic Middleburg about 90 minutes outside Washington, DC and chose to brunch at this magnificent establishment set aloft some of the most enthralling farmlands in the heart of the mountains.

The elegantly-appointed lounge and bar yield the way to an inviting and meticulously-arranged dining room surrounded by tall windows and lush gardens. The Brunch menu choices were eclectic and the food was exquisite and well worth the price.

It was a beautiful experience and I'm sure we'll go back many more times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ssmosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Awesome Sunday Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you want to take a beautiful Sunday morning drive, this is the destination! After coming to the DC area now for 10 years, I try to make a point of finding new and exciting places to explore and in searching for brunch destinations I came across Goodstone Inn. From the center of town in charming Middleburg you head north for a lovely 10 minute drive thru beautiful hilly and winding narrow roads. Up the hilly drive to the Inn. The restaurant is quaint with beautiful views. Service from the point of stepping inside the building was outstanding as we were immediately greeted and taken to a lovely table. The brunch menu is a prix fixe with several options for each entree. The food was absolutely superb! After brunch we drove down the hill still on the estate property to view the lamb, chickens and gardens of the estate. I highly recommend Goodstone and will be back soon for dinner. 5 star service, food and ambiance!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank akaroami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is worth the trip. The restaurant is small and intimate. The food is expensive but very elegant. Sunday brunch is fabulous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An Amazing Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Recently took my wife to our first outing at Goodstone to celebrate her birthday, and we had an evening to remember. We were greeted at the door by the owner, Mark Betts, and were welcomed with a complimentary glass of champagne while we toured the beautiful grounds with the host, Austin. We both selected the price fixe menu - I had the see bass and my wife the rack of lamb - and we were both exceptionally pleased with every bite. Our server, Freddy, was extremely attentive and helpful, and the owner, Mark, made a point of thanking us and inviting us back again after we finished our dinner. A first- class experience all-around. We will definitely be back again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodstone Restaurant also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Goodstone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing