We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An Amazing Evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Restaurant

Goodstone Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodstone Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Foxcroft Road
Description: Extremely Fresh, Approachable and Refined Drawing both inspiration and purpose from its location on farmland in Middleburg, VA, the restaurant at Goodstone Inn & Estate seeks to provide its guests with an unparalleled dining experience. The quality of produce, both cultivated and foraged, found outside the back door of the kitchen provides Chef Tarver King and his team with pristine ingredients that make up a meal representative of this place in every moment of each season.
Haymarket, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An Amazing Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Recently took my wife to our first outing at Goodstone to celebrate her birthday, and we had an evening to remember. We were greeted at the door by the owner, Mark Betts, and were welcomed with a complimentary glass of champagne while we toured the beautiful grounds with the host, Austin. We both selected the price fixe menu - I had the see bass and my wife the rack of lamb - and we were both exceptionally pleased with every bite. Our server, Freddy, was extremely attentive and helpful, and the owner, Mark, made a point of thanking us and inviting us back again after we finished our dinner. A first- class experience all-around. We will definitely be back again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    31
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
225 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent food, location, and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a wonderful place, with a fantastic location, great atmosphere (private, quiet, luxurious), and great food. The services is exquisite. The Chef combines local produce beautifully. The wine list keeps growing and has great selections, although a few selections on the lower price end would be welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
513 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Dinner at Goodstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

At our recent stay we had dinner at the restaurant. We had Le Chateaubriand for two - prix-fixe. I was great. My husband and I enjoyed the whole experience. Great service, fantastic food and souffle for dessert. Lovely meal in a romantic location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Terrible Value”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Totally overrated and a terrible value. Dinner for 3 on New Year's Eve was in excess of $750 all in. For that I could have eaten at the Inn at Little Washington and still had money for brunch elsewhere. That lobster bisque you served was appalling. Shame on you!

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Middleburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Restaurant, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Middleburger,

We deeply regret that you had an unsatisfactory experience at our restaurant on New Year’s Eve. Your review came almost three months after your visit but we have looked into it. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your lobster bisque. Others that evening commented favorably on its preparation, however, we recognize that food taste is a personal matter.

Regarding our prices, on New Year’s Eve, like many fine dining restaurants, we offered a five-course celebration menu featuring lobster or Beef Wellington as the main course for $145 per person. With your wine and beverages, your meal came to $584 and with tax and tip to $733. Like many restaurants, our New Year’s Eve menu is one of our most elaborate menus and is thus more expensive.

If you would consider trying us again on a non-holiday night, you may order a la carte any day of the week or select from much less expensive four-course prefix menus. In addition, on week nights, we are soon resuming our $39 three-course prefix menu.

Again, we are very sorry that you were so unhappy with your experience and we hope that you will give us another chance.



Freddy Gonzales
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
219 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very High Prices for Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Staying at the Inn, we opted to eat dinner there -- the road to the Inn from Middleberg is long, narrow, and very twisty. We had a small meal credit based on our room stay. The goat cheese salad was fine and the scallops and wild salmon were excellent except for the heavy wine sauce that has been added to the scallops and their presentation was unappetizing. The creme brulee was good but over priced at $12 as was everything else on the menu -- entrees in the $50 range as were the least expensive wines. In our opinion the dinner would have been way over priced had it not been for the meal credit.

One particularly noteworthy comment was the excellent french bread, warn and crusty. Service was good.

Overall, this was by far not our most memorable meal, but by no means bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank endjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodstone Restaurant also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Goodstone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing