We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dinner at Goodstone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodstone Restaurant

Goodstone Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodstone Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Foxcroft Road
Description: Extremely Fresh, Approachable and Refined Drawing both inspiration and purpose from its location on farmland in Middleburg, VA, the restaurant at Goodstone Inn & Estate seeks to provide its guests with an unparalleled dining experience. The quality of produce, both cultivated and foraged, found outside the back door of the kitchen provides Chef Tarver King and his team with pristine ingredients that make up a meal representative of this place in every moment of each season.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
513 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Dinner at Goodstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

At our recent stay we had dinner at the restaurant. We had Le Chateaubriand for two - prix-fixe. I was great. My husband and I enjoyed the whole experience. Great service, fantastic food and souffle for dessert. Lovely meal in a romantic location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    33
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Terrible Value”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Totally overrated and a terrible value. Dinner for 3 on New Year's Eve was in excess of $750 all in. For that I could have eaten at the Inn at Little Washington and still had money for brunch elsewhere. That lobster bisque you served was appalling. Shame on you!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Middleburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Restaurant, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Middleburger,

We deeply regret that you had an unsatisfactory experience at our restaurant on New Year’s Eve. Your review came almost three months after your visit but we have looked into it. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your lobster bisque. Others that evening commented favorably on its preparation, however, we recognize that food taste is a personal matter.

Regarding our prices, on New Year’s Eve, like many fine dining restaurants, we offered a five-course celebration menu featuring lobster or Beef Wellington as the main course for $145 per person. With your wine and beverages, your meal came to $584 and with tax and tip to $733. Like many restaurants, our New Year’s Eve menu is one of our most elaborate menus and is thus more expensive.

If you would consider trying us again on a non-holiday night, you may order a la carte any day of the week or select from much less expensive four-course prefix menus. In addition, on week nights, we are soon resuming our $39 three-course prefix menu.

Again, we are very sorry that you were so unhappy with your experience and we hope that you will give us another chance.



Freddy Gonzales
Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
249 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very High Prices for Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Staying at the Inn, we opted to eat dinner there -- the road to the Inn from Middleberg is long, narrow, and very twisty. We had a small meal credit based on our room stay. The goat cheese salad was fine and the scallops and wild salmon were excellent except for the heavy wine sauce that has been added to the scallops and their presentation was unappetizing. The creme brulee was good but over priced at $12 as was everything else on the menu -- entrees in the $50 range as were the least expensive wines. In our opinion the dinner would have been way over priced had it not been for the meal credit.

One particularly noteworthy comment was the excellent french bread, warn and crusty. Service was good.

Overall, this was by far not our most memorable meal, but by no means bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank endjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Not Quite..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just realized I posted my restaurant review under their B&B.. woops

Excellent food, average service, extremely high prices, but overall a nice experience. If you do not mind spending 50/60 dollars per entree and 20/30 per appetizer than this could be the place for you. Also, the portion sizes are average. Don't get me wrong it is a very enjoyable night out, the ambiance is nothing short of amazing, but at these prices I expect better service and larger portions. I will say I think it is a step above the Ashby in Paris, VA but a step below the Inn at Little Washington.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LessWork M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My Valentine Came up Roses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I surprised my Valentine with dinner at The Restaurant at Goodstone near Middleburg, VA. I had read about Goodstone and had wanted to go there and had heard it was top drawer. They offered a six-course Valentine Dinner at a set price with wine pairings to go with each dish – extended to the weekend – we went on Friday, the 15th. We opted for a nice bottle of Washington state cabernet wine recommended by David Saavedra, the Sommelier

Our menu was as follows: Oyster Rockefeller, Lobster Bisque, Crab Cake Duo, and Arugula Salad. This was followed by a Raspberry Sorbet. Our choice for the main entrée was a choice of Line Caught Halibut, Prime Pork Chop or Prime Filet. We both chose the Prime Filet with Haricot Verts (green beans), Gratin Dauphinois and Black Truffle Sauce - along with a cruet of fresh béarnaise sauce - both steaks were done to perfection and the black truffle sauce was superb. Finally, the crowning touch was a Chocolate Mousse Cake - this delicious creamy dessert was sprinkled with gold flakes.

Our waiter, Abdullah, looked familiar to us. Along with providing attentive service, he went through the restaurants he had worked at including L’Aberge Chez Francois and we decided that was where we had seen him. David, the General Manager and Sommelier had worked at Restaurant 2941 in Fairfax. I remembered him from when I took clients to lunch there. The Chef, Ian Dieter had also worked at L’Auberge as the sous chef. As we left, the Chef came out and presented my wife a red rose. I earned several golf passes for this Valentine treat!

The Restaurant at Goodstone is an outstanding place to go for a special occasion. Their menu features Modern American French Country Cuisine and has won many awards. The service, atmosphere and food is European so don’t be in a hurry when you visit. Our only concern was the restaurant sits on top of Snake Hill Drive and it’s very winding and steep. However, the view is spectacular – just be careful. Goodstone is open for lunch daily except Tuesday. On Sundays, they have a Champagne Brunch – we can’t wait to try it! Bon Appetite.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmie1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I'm glad we were able to add to your valentine's day experience. We take extreme pride in or restaurant offerings and are extremely fortunate to have the dedicated staff we do. We look forward to welcoming you back for our marvelous Sunday Brunch!

Best regards,
Matthew Daubenspeck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodstone Restaurant also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Goodstone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing