We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in history”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern - Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Being the oldest tavern in VA one might expect something fairly rustic. The Red Fox Inn is just the opposite. Well appointed with slight flaws one would normally expect, it was a welcome diversion from say a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2009

for $200 plus a night, i expect some sort of nod at luxury. what i don't expect is cheap peeling linoleum in the bathroom, old (NOT antique) beat up furniture, cheap dollar store rugs, a $100 kmart television, no ability to control the temperature (you have to call the office and they send someone to unlock the thermostat to set it). on the plus side, the staff we encountered were pleasant and friendly, the grounds are nice, the bed pretty good and the towels large and thick. if after reading this, you still plan to stay here, consider that once you make a reservation and have to cancel, there is NO REFUND and they charge a $25 cancellation fee!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank narfnargle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We are residents of Loudoun County and don't live far from Middleburg but opted to stay a weekend night as we were touring local wineries. We have eaten at Red Fox Inn before and have enjoyed the meals but had never stayed at the property. We are aware of its history as the 'oldest inn in Virginia' and have always admired the main building of the Inn and the atmosphere. Due to challenging economic times, we took the best available rate for our pocketbook, which had us in the Waverly Room. This is part of The Stray Fox Inn, one of the Inn's outbuildings. For the price, which admittedly is decent for this area ($195 base rate), we were somewhat disappointed. After check-in at the main building, we had to walk a ways to our room, down the street and up a gravel path; there was no assistance offered with bags, nor do I believe there were any additional personnel on site to help out. The weather was nice so it wasn't that bad but if it were inclement weather, this would be an issue. The room itself was rather worn, but certainly clean. It's like staying in a guest room in someone's old home. The bath amenities are nice and the towels are fluffy, but the shower and toilet seat need to be paid some attention as they are quite worn. The bath window in this room looks directly to a neighboring house's front porch and the window was painted shut (no fan in the bathroom). There is no thermostat in the room so there was no way to adjust the temperature of the A/C. The "Guest Manual" in the room is sorely out of date, at least by several years; information should be updated. The bed was a nice King size, four poster with a canopy, but was way too soft (foam pad top) for us -- some would not mind this however. Continental breakfast is served but with just a few offerings. No staff person ever acknowledged us or approached us during our time at breakfast, or asked if we were interested in a 'hot plate' option, which I believe was offered at a fee. They seemed to be a bit understaffed. We had cereal, muffins, juice & coffee. For the price, it was just OK; given the stories of those who used to frequent the Inn for getaways from the rate race of DC, we had hoped for a more memorable experience in this piece of VA history. Not sure we'll have a reason to spend the night at Red Fox again but if so, I would consider staying in the main building.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PATRICIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

My wife and I went to the Red Fox Inn to celebrate our two year anniversary. We had a most enjoyable stay.

Location: Red Fox is located in the very center of historic Middleburg. And there are a ton of vineyards a short drive from Middleburg. There is no need to use a car because the inn is within very short walking distance to boutique shops, restaurants, cafes, and a grocery store. I should note that parking at the inn is not a problem because the inn has a very large parking lot right behind its main building. So, overall grade for the location = A+

Check-in: Fast and easy. We were greeted by the the friendly staff, and they made us feel welcome from the first hello. Within minutes, we had the keys and were off to our room. So, overall grade for the check-in = A

Staff: As I stated above, the staff is very friendly. They were welcoming and always available to answer even the smallest questions and requests. They were always nearby, but never intruding into our privacy. When I stopped one of the staff to ask her a question about the history of the inn, she was more than happy to stop whatever she was doing to talk to me. She never made me feel as if I were imposing on her work. At our dinner at the inn, the waitstaff was great. They suggested great dishes, great wine to go with the dishes, and served us with great smiles and kind words. So, overall grade for the staff = A

Accommodations: Wonderful. As soon as we entered our room, we felt at home. The room was bright, with tall ceilings. The bed as AMAZING. One of the best inn beds we have every slept in. The sheets were sooooo smooth, and the mattress had this amazing feather bed. Also, all the rooms have wireless internet. I guess that's a necessary when you are so close to Washington DC. The bathroom was very clean, big and bright. There was this gigantic full length mirror in there, so we could really check ourselves out before heading off to dinner. One downside would be the pillows. They were too firm for my taste. But I managed. Oh, I should also mention that the rooms were really quiet. We had another couple staying right next door to us, but we never heard a peep from them. And another thing, the room had the original hardwood floors and the original fireplace. This added to the character and authenticity of the room. So, overall grade for the accommodations = A-

Breakfast = So, The Red Fox Inn is a bed and breakfast, so I thought I would say something about it really quickly. The breakfast was small, but delicious. They provided cereal, muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, orange juice, home fries, and an omelette with tomatoes, cheddar cheese, and ham. The coffee was great; good flavor with a kick, but not bitter. The omelette was delicious and cooked well. While the food choices were limited (compared to other bed and breakfasts that we have been to), it was tasty and filling; just what we needed after a relaxing night and to get our day started. So, overall grade for the breakfast = B

A few other things I should mention... The Red Fox Inn has great outdoor space. It has this wonderful outdoor patio where you have your meals or simply to just sit, relax, stare at the sky and listen to the birds. The inn also has a fantastic courtyard, which they call the Garden Terrace, tucked behind one of the buildings. There's nice grass in the shade to take a lazy Saturday afternoon nap or to read. Additionally, the Red Fox Inn has a pretty extensive and sophisticated wine list with wines from all over the world.

Overall grade for our entire stay = A.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcvin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

My wife and I had a lovely stay at the Red Fox Inn. What impressed us the most was the huge room (we stayed in the Bridal Suite), which had a large living room and bedroom. The rooms were tastefully furnished in a colonial style and were very clean. We found the staff friendly and attentive. The continental breakfast was ample and adequate, but nothing memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CyberTalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

First of all, I gave the Red Fox Inn five stars based on the two previous times we stayed there. We've stayed in the "Gardeners Cottage" every time we've stayed here, and we absolutely love the little cottage. I think it used to be a tool storage building, or maybe really was a gardeners cottage...not sure. It's about 12 feet by 21 feet, and sounds small, but it's perfect for two people...and as it stands alone, you don't hear anyone else coming and going.

The rest of the inn is beautiful too, as is all of Middleburg. There is an art gallery which has the finest of sporting and animal art, which, of course, is all for sale. The ladies in the gallery are very helpful and are very nice and will answer any questions.

This last visit, we were forced to stay in an inn in Upperville, 9 miles west, as we couldn't get the cottage until Sunday night. What a relief when we finally got to the Red Fox!

The one complaint I have is this: Our first stay at the Red Fox Inn, four years ago, the breakfast provided consisted of a huge tray of ham, cheeses, fruits, different breads and bagels, juices, teas, coffee....really a great spread! The second trip, three years ago, it was the same, except that the huge tray of meats and cheeses were gone, and there were little baked quiches...which were very good, but we missed out meat tray. It was "our thing" to roll up cheese in the ham and eat it by the front window where the owner puts his best equestrian and sporting bronzes, but those days were gone.

Now, on our latest visit, our room was wonderful as always, but when we walked to the main inn to eat, there was no tray of meats and cheeses, and there weren't even any of the little baked quiches. There was only a sad little basket of cling-wrapped bagels and slices of bread, as well as the standard orange juice, tea and coffee. When asked about where the quiches and meats tray were, and that they were there the last two times we stayed there, the clerk on duty (erstwhile interior decorator) was a little bit rude and told me "well, they must have stopped those the day after you left last time". Now, Middleburg is the town where harried high-level government people (40 miles from D.C.), as well as very important foreign dignitaries, CEOs, and really very important come to stay and relax and this guy didn't know us from Adam, but I do hope he isn't this rude to all the guests. I think the owner should stick to staffing the front desk with those charming Middleburg-area ladies.

So, by all means do stay at the Red Fox Inn, but if you think that when you pay $150-275 dollars per night you're entitled to a better breakfast than you'd get at a Red Roof Inn (they at least give you good doughnuts), you need to skip breakfast here, even though you pay dearly for the privilege.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank jagfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

Beautiful and charming inn right in the middle of Middleburg, VA - an easy one night getaway from DC or Baltimore. We were given the bridal suite and have never slept better than we did in the king-sized bed in this room. We didn't eat at the restaurant, as it was a little on the pricey side, but have heard that the food was good. Good customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
14.8 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
172 reviews
14.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
0.5 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
294 reviews
16.0 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
19.6 mi away
Stone Manor Boutique Inn
Stone Manor Boutique Inn
#1 of 3 in Lovettsville
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Fox Inn & Tavern - Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Fox Inn & Tavern - Inn

Address: 2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20117
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range: $235 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Fox Hotel Middleburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing