We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern - Inn
Nearby Hotels
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salamander Resort & Spa(Middleburg)
$450
$437
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $486/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Suites Leesburg(Leesburg)(Great Value!)
$129
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Dulles North(Ashburn)(Great Value!)
$89
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
156
59
17
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
59
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeanut soupmain buildingwashington roombridal suitebelmont suitegardener's cottagestep stoolupdated bathroomhomemade cookieseggs benedicthorse showbottled watermodern amenitieslovely roomtop floorfour poster bedbreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 240 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Rustic decor takes you back in time yet the innkeepers have enough amenities to make your stay very current. Comfortable bedding, good beds and pillows nice toiletries. My room number 19 was big enough four. Two flat screens in a bedroom and sitting room with a couch that opened.
There are no king beds which was okay but is usually my preference. The town is so,charming and pristine with lovely shops and shopkeepers. A great getaway for us and Middleburg VA is just beautiful.

Room Tip: Stay in 19. Top floor so it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricknite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was fortunate to spend a night at the Red Fox Inn unexpectedly when my travel plans changed. The main inn was full, but there was a room available in the Stray Fox across the street from the Red Fox. My room was cozy and the location was quiet. The bathroom was spacious, especially for a historic building.

The Inn will deliver coffee to your room in the morning upon request, which is a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent and the Inn offered several breakfast selections for its overnight guests. Unfortunately I did not have dinner at the Inn due to the fact that it was Mother's Day and the Inn was completely booked for dinner and only offered a prix fixed menu that night.

The location is excellent right in the heart of Middleburg within an easy walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: The Stray Fox is a quiet location off the main drag.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Equestrian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, General Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern - Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Middleburg an we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Inn: Historic, yet relaxing, accommodations, friendly staff, with an amazing breakfast included if you get to the restaurant early enough. Highly recommended for a romantic weekend getaway! The Inn has a great variety of different historic rooms from which to choose for your stay, which makes your visit even more unique. A bonus during our most recent stay: when making our reservation, a note was included that we were celebrating our anniversary, and upon check-in, we found a bottle of champagne waiting in our room, much appreciated!

The Restaurant: The quality of the food is excellent. During lunch, definitely suggest trying the crab artichoke dip as an appetizer, and a cup (not a bowl) of the peanut soup if you've never had it (but beware, it is thick and filling!). The staff can sometimes leave a little to be desired. Have dined here numerous times (breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner) and found either the host staff or our server on each visit to not be super friendly. However, the historic atmosphere (especially in winter if you are lucky to be sat near one of the fireplaces) is lovely

Room Tip: The Stray Fox (separate building from Red Fox) is quieter. Beware of rooms with low ceilings if you are tall!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, General Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern - Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business your satisfaction is extremely important to us and you feedback is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Middleburg an we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over Valentine's Day and really enjoyed the cozy charm.
Our room was located in the second building called the Stray Fox and is right across the street from the original building. We moved rooms when we realized our originally booked room had a private bathroom...outside the room and down the hall. Make sure to check on this if it matters to you.
The room was very cozy with low ceilings and antique type fixtures reminiscent of staying at your grandmothers house. The beautiful four poster bed was wonderfully comfortable with crisp white linens. The bathroom was spartan but clean. Nice Gilchrist & Soames soaps in good sized bottles. The shower was the size of a phone booth but the water pressure was awesome and felt like it was a spa treatment in itself!
We dined at the Red Fox Inn for Valentines Day and for breakfast the next two days and enjoyed every meal. The food is not fancy but is very well done and the service is perfect. I enjoyed the eggs benedict enough to have it both days and my husband felt the same way about the french toast.
All in all, it was a very nice little get away in a cute little town. We slept well, ate well and enjoyed the little shops and cafes in Middleburg.

Room Tip: Make sure to check if your room includes a private bathroom that is inside the room itself.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sksaledtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern - Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Middleburg an we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was treated here for my birthday and was quite impressed with the grounds, the rooms, the staff and the food, both dinner and breakfast the next morning.
Looking forward to coming back to perhaps have a chance encounter with Mosby, the Gray Ghost..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MASTERPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews