We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Save
You added The Red Fox Inn & Tavern to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in the Furness Suite in the Stray Fox Building. Laid out a bit odd, have to watch the low ceilings in a few places, but overall a great room. Very Quiet while we were there, even though they were sold out. Breakfast's were great. Would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    36
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
80
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We overall had a wonderful time. Outstanding dinner at the Inn!!!! Great breakfast!!!

Things to note about room that did not meet what one would expect of a very expensive multi star hotel.
1. Lightbulb missing from table lamp. 2.Had an ice bucket but no glasses to go with it. 3. Water bottles in room but no glasses. 4. Quality of antique furniture good but accessorries like lamps (cheap lamps from Walmart??), plastic flowers and old rug made the place look cheap.

VERY EXPENSIVE for what you got. Would suggest something esle on Breakfast menu besides three choices of egg dishes. Maybe Waffles or French Toast?


I was a witness to two different but equally unhappy guest talking with the lady at the front desk. One family was requesting a change of room because their toilet was broken and could not be looked at by a plummer until 8PM or later (it was already early evening and they just finished dinner and were ready to retire to their room). They wanted a new room. She offered them a bigger suite but told them they had to pay the difference. The question that we were all thinking was "Why should they have to pay for the upgrade because of the hotels' broken toilet?" I was shocked that a REALLY NICE hotel would insist on that. The hotel should appologize and gladly offer and upgrade to compensate. That hurt the hotel more. They did finally get an equial size room but at another location down the street.
The other family had to be moved to another room as well. I do not know why just that they were not happy. I saw them an hour later and they were still not happy with new room. Theses are just impressions but, when you have a tiny lobby room full of people seeing and listening to these transactions, it makes one question what they have and leaves a bad taste. Good hotel lot of unhappy guests.
Overall we had a great time.

Room Tip: Look at room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Cute and quaint. Small LCD TV in room
2 very small waters upon check in and no where in town after Safeway closes to get more so had to keep refilling in sink (bring water is my point)
Staid in the Jefferson Suite - the most economical of the rooms by having a shared bath in the hallway. Room was perfect size although the bed was full size- bit small for wife and I.
Very loud and creaky floors especially with neighboring guests on all sides. Colonial kind of loud mind you.
Glasses in restaurant smelled like old water.
Service not extremely friendly but it was early - although breakfast is included.
Go eat at Hunters Head 7 miles west on 50- soooo worth it. Ayrshire farms runs it and is all local non GMO livestock and food. Insanely excellent and moderate pricing. Best in area and always busy so make a reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spgISLANDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Large rooms, appointed with antiques, comfy 4 poster bed. Food was delicious.could have used a small fridge. We were part of a wedding party. I would recommend the Inn for events. Staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coaster
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband, daughter and I made reservations at the Red Fox Inn in Middleburg for a weekend wedding, which was held in another bed and breakfast close by. The Inn is lovely on the outside - as is all of Middleburg - but we were disappointed by the rooms. Positives: comfortable beds, great full breakfast in the main part of the inn, terrific walkable setting. Negatives: very expensive, cheap furnishings and carpeting, old bathroom fixtures. I travel 80% of the time on business and stay in lots of hotels, good and not so good, so I think my expectations are pretty reasonable. I am also a native Virginian and pre-disposed to cut anyplace in my home state some slack. Even with both of these considerations, the Red Fox Inn just didn't measure up to the price tag. It could be so much better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Red Fox Inn is a diamond in the rough, it needs a lot of thoughtful work and polish.
The bed quality is OK for the cost of the room. But the rest of the furnishing and even the carpet is right out of going out of business sale for a Motel 6. I could not find a chair or couch that you could sit in and not bottom out or feel the springs or other structure (the Motel 6 must of gone out of business 5 years ago). Historic is one thing but the curled walnut colored contact paper in the drawers does not make up for the fact that it is press board and cheap. The carpet is not historic it is just cheap kind of reminds you of a miniature golf course. All in all a wonderful setting the staff is friendly, the beds are OK to good but for $375 a night you do not expect to have to roll up a wash cloth to place behind the mirror in the bathroom so you can change the angle of the mirror to see something besides your navel. To finish on a positive note the WiFi works great and is not an extra cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a fantastic time staying at the Inn and eating dinner in the tavern. When we checked in, they upgraded us to a suite without us asking (which was nice because apparently the room we actually booked doesn't have its own bathroom!). Anyway, the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The suite was clean with very modern conveniences given the age of the Inn. Dinner at the Tavern was perfect and delicious (sear scallops and veal piccata). Breakfast was great too. I would recommend both the Inn and the Tavern highly.

One gripe - the online reservation system should better describe the amenities within each room. We're not experienced bed-and-breakfasters so I guess I'll have to call to verify next time.

Room Tip: Call to verify the amenities within a given room - shared bathroom? Full size bed, queen size, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Far B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
14.8 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
1.9 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Middleburg Country Inn
Middleburg Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Property: The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Address: 2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20118
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Fox Hotel Middleburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing