We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Onn is Located in a Charming village with boutique shopping, historic & equestrian flavor.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Save
You added The Red Fox Inn & Tavern to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Onn is Located in a Charming village with boutique shopping, historic & equestrian flavor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Large rooms, appointed with antiques, comfy 4 poster bed. Food was delicious.could have used a small fridge. We were part of a wedding party. I would recommend the Inn for events. Staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    34
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
78
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Coaster
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband, daughter and I made reservations at the Red Fox Inn in Middleburg for a weekend wedding, which was held in another bed and breakfast close by. The Inn is lovely on the outside - as is all of Middleburg - but we were disappointed by the rooms. Positives: comfortable beds, great full breakfast in the main part of the inn, terrific walkable setting. Negatives: very expensive, cheap furnishings and carpeting, old bathroom fixtures. I travel 80% of the time on business and stay in lots of hotels, good and not so good, so I think my expectations are pretty reasonable. I am also a native Virginian and pre-disposed to cut anyplace in my home state some slack. Even with both of these considerations, the Red Fox Inn just didn't measure up to the price tag. It could be so much better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Red Fox Inn is a diamond in the rough, it needs a lot of thoughtful work and polish.
The bed quality is OK for the cost of the room. But the rest of the furnishing and even the carpet is right out of going out of business sale for a Motel 6. I could not find a chair or couch that you could sit in and not bottom out or feel the springs or other structure (the Motel 6 must of gone out of business 5 years ago). Historic is one thing but the curled walnut colored contact paper in the drawers does not make up for the fact that it is press board and cheap. The carpet is not historic it is just cheap kind of reminds you of a miniature golf course. All in all a wonderful setting the staff is friendly, the beds are OK to good but for $375 a night you do not expect to have to roll up a wash cloth to place behind the mirror in the bathroom so you can change the angle of the mirror to see something besides your navel. To finish on a positive note the WiFi works great and is not an extra cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a fantastic time staying at the Inn and eating dinner in the tavern. When we checked in, they upgraded us to a suite without us asking (which was nice because apparently the room we actually booked doesn't have its own bathroom!). Anyway, the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The suite was clean with very modern conveniences given the age of the Inn. Dinner at the Tavern was perfect and delicious (sear scallops and veal piccata). Breakfast was great too. I would recommend both the Inn and the Tavern highly.

One gripe - the online reservation system should better describe the amenities within each room. We're not experienced bed-and-breakfasters so I guess I'll have to call to verify next time.

Room Tip: Call to verify the amenities within a given room - shared bathroom? Full size bed, queen size, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Far B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in the Martha Washington room in the Red Fox building and I could not have asked for better! The room was very quaint with old photos of George and Martha Washington hung on the walls, a very spacious four poster canopy king bed with a comfy duvet. The bathroom was stocked with everything I could have possibly needed, from shampoo to makeup remover pads, and numerous towels. The front desk and night watchman were very welcoming and seemed happy to help in any way they could. I also joined them for brunch in their tavern, and I ended up ordering all three courses from their menu, because the food was just absolutely spectacular! If I could give the Red Fox Inn & Tavern 10 stars I would! I will be recommending to all my friends for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a fabulous time. We stayed at the Martha Washington room: overlooks the street but it is very quiet. Breakfast is good and healthy, especially after our early morning walk through town. Service is excellent. We had dinner at the tavern the first night: delicious food using local produce, and very romantic atmosphere. The place transports you back in time with its typical "country inn" atmosphere. It is full of history: from a Civil War hospital and headquarters, to hosting Jackie Kennedy every time she attended the fox chases.

Room Tip: We had a corner room overlooking the street. Was worked at the beginning but loved it. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madan6063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The bedroom was lovely with a canopy bed and white duvet cover and bedding in a quiet, private entrance room in the Stray Fox. The bathroom was fitted with plenty of nice towels and toiletries, and robes were provided. A full breakfast was included. We have stayed here a number of times and always pleased. The bedroom and bath both were spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Stray Fox rooms are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
14.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
14.8 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Middleburg Country Inn
Middleburg Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Property: The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Address: 2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20118
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Fox Hotel Middleburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing