We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice and friendly b & b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice and friendly b & b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i enjoyed the restaraunt, room and staff. Inviting and warm environment. Met the owner and his wife. Nice guy who has kept that same attitude through the staff!

County breakfast had a nice omelet special and decent portions. Dinner experience was very nice. We did a price fixe for four courses and thought each course was well dine and presented well. Be patient though this is a 2 hr dinner!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wayneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Wayneva,

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The owner and his wife did visit this past weekend and enjoyed meeting you as well. The Goodstone is so stunningly beautiful that it makes a great venue for any reason to visit.

Dinner at the Goodstone will be a dining experience you should allow at least an hour and a half to two hours. We use only the freshest ingredients and every dinner is prepared from scratch. We want our dining guests to come, relax and enjoy our fine dining experience. Thank you for the wonderful review and hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    34
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
191
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After a quickie wedding, friends who couldn't make it gifted us with a stay at this amazing Inn. We arrived after a short one hour drive from DC and were greeted by warm staff and the most beautiful surroundings. It was midweek, so there were few guests and we were given an upgrade to the Mare Suite. The room was lovely, roomy, and well appointed in country chic. We were instructed to help ourselves to amenities in the fridge. We frequently stay at Hyatt properties, so we've come to expect $7.00 waters and sodas, but not here. Tea was offered in the carriage house, but we passed to begin exploring the grounds and farm. The heated pool was in an idyllic setting, so we immediately regretted not bringing suits. We wandered down towards the farm and impressive gardens where we were greeted by the herd of cows that were lounging in the late afternoon sun. We pressed on to Goose Creek and poked around for a time. We worked up a thirst, so we headed back to our suite to enjoy some of the local wine we had picked up earlier in the day at some of the surrounding Virginia wineries. I was thoroughly impressed by the heavy duty wine key with "Goodstone Inn" etched in the rosewood. I later inquired at the bar in the carriage house if the wine key was available to buy, but I was told by the gentleman at the bar that I was welcome to take the one in the room when we left. Really? But of course, was his reply. We lounged at the bar for a time before going in to dinner. We were told to take the table of our choice, and there were two large parties set up, so we chose, at our hosts suggestion, a small table off in the corner by the huge arched windows. The waiter and the sommelier walked us through the menu, made suggestions, and advised if we were going to have more than two courses, that the price fix option was the best value. Our waiter also suggested that the sommelier could put together a tasting menu of wines paired to our course choice. Best Decision Ever! My Husband chose the gazpacho with cucumber, the heirloom tomato salad, and the Chateaubriand. I had the wild mushroom crepe, the bib salad with fig and serrano ham, and the Chilean Sea Bass. Each course was a marriage of fresh farm ingredients and impeccable presentation. Sublime! The wines were expertly paired with each course to make the meal even more memorable. During the course of our meal, a party of eight was sat, and then a party of nineteen. The whole time, we were still attended to, as if we were the only guests. We finished up by both ordering the creme brûlée and coffees. The creme brûlée had a perfect sugary crust, and decadently creamy base. One of the best we have ever had. The large party was getting a little loud as we were finishing up, so we took our coffee and "retired" to the great room and sat in front of the massive stone fireplace in a couple of comfy club chairs. After dinner cognacs were offered on the house. We had to oblige! Back to the suite for a very restful night on a very comfy bed. We woke early enough to get back to the city, but gave ourselves enough time to enjoy the complimentary breakfast. Our lovely English waitress was also our chef. She brought out fresh warm croissants and jam and poured delicious fresh coffee. She suggested that the eggs benedict could be ordered with smoked salmon instead of the canadian bacon. Great idea, and just perfectly prepared. She included a piece of the fresh smoked bacon from the farm, because, as she said, it must be tried!. As we were leaving, she inquired how far we were traveling, and when we told her it was just back into DC, she insisted we take a little care package. There were very few guests over the next couple of days, so she brought out a little basket of heirloom tomatoes and peppers from the farm, as well a dozen eggs that had been "brought up just this morning". From start to finish, this was one of the nicest stays we have ever experienced. We were made to feel welcome, wined and dined, pampered and gifted. We look forward to the opportunity to return, and have heartily recommended this lovely Inn and Restaurant to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayFKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello Honeymooners,

Thank you for spending your special days at the Goodstone Inn this past month and taking the time to comment in such great detail. I am pleased that we could make your entire experience memorable. The staff takes pride in making every stay, every meal worth remembering.

We look forward to seeing you again and best of luck to you both.

Craig Boyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went here for Sunday brunch to experience Loudoun County's "Farm to Table" dinning and were stunned to see the beautiful grounds with huge trees probably 100's of years old, colorful gardens, pool, trails, cottages, and farm.

The Sunday brunch was a real bargain for $39 as it starts off with a Complimentary Glass of Champagne, or Bloody Mary or Mimosa and then they have a three course meal. We all enjoyed the items we ordered which were all perfectly cooked and presented. Truffle Chocolate Cake is sinfully delicious.

We took a walk around the property and felt like it will be one of the best weekend getaway options around Washington DC area. They have lovely pool, great food, lots of trails to walk and bike and lovely farm. Also, the place has colorful barns, landscapes, and views to take lovely pictures. Especially in Fall.

Looking forward to spending a weekend here on some special occasion.

Room Tip: Take a walk to their Farm. You can get great pictures with their colorful barns in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitsVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Such a beautiful setting and we lucked out w/ some incredible weather. Our suite was comfortable, roomy & quiet. Service was very attentive. We were looking forward to dinner and were so disappointed! There were about 12 diners. I ordered a glass of champagne - received rose -when i pointed it out to our waiter - he told me i could keep it and he went off to get the champagne. It was served room temperature. We ordered escargot to start - came w/ 6 ea. not a great sauce - but worse we couldn't locate the escargots to pull out even w/ the appropriate forks. Our waiter collected our dishes - took them back to the kitchen where they reportedly cracked the shells to get them out. They were returned in a ramekin semi barely warm. My date ordered a Caesar salad - he said it was 'the worst Caesar salad' he'd ever had. How hard is it to make a Caesar salad? My salad w/ figs was wonderful. Dinner - a veal chop & pork loin - were both delicious as we're the desserts. Not an inexpensive meal that was really far from something special. Breakfast on the other was delightful from the fresh squeezed OJ to the fruit and eggs Benedict . We'd return for the setting, ambience and breakfast. Great for a getaway or special occasion. Has to be a magical setting for a wedding too.

Room Tip: Carriage house suites are terrific - location to restaurant, pool and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello Mr. Jones,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I can see that you enjoyed your time at the Goodstone Inn, but we fell short of your expectations with dinner. We always strive for perfection and I apologize that you were not pleased with some of the items you had for dinner. The chef and I value your feedback as it helps us to make adjustments so we can constantly improve.

Please contact me directly the next you visit and I will ensure that you have a perfect stay.

Regards,

Craig Boyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went there to celebrate a birthday. Unfortunately, we didn't get to spend the night, just came out for dinner. The Inn is very well kept, great grounds. You definitely need a car to get there. We left at night and the country roads are narrow and dark. The food was superb, the service excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlsruhe_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just had a night away at the inn and left feeling relaxed, pampered and rejuvenated.
The estate is simply stunning and we enjoyed the gorgeous pool, bik rides and hikes around the estate.
Breakfast was incredible with goats cheese, tomato and pesto omlette and fresh fruit from the estate orchards.
It was a wonderful estate, one we will never forget. We look forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This amazing resort immediately makes you relax and takes you into the Virginia Countryside. Not much to do and that is a good thing. At the lodge the food is good especially in the spectacular wine cellar. Great service and accommodations. I recommend the Bull Barn. 1st class with country charm. We had a wonderful time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ColonelTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear ColonelTJ,

It is nice to hear you had a wonderful time at the Goodstone Inn and Restaurant. Our dining can not be beat in the Virginia Country side! We are a very special property with beautiful grounds, rooms and French cuisine dining and only about an hour from DC. Thank you for taking your time to write this review it will be shared with the Goodstone Team. Please come back for a visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.3 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
13.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
1.5 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
Middleburg Country Inn
Middleburg Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Property: Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Address: 36205 Snake Hill Rd, Middleburg, VA 20117-3645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodstone Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant in Middleburg, Virginia, is a luxurious country inn and French restaurant in the heart of Virginia's wine and horse country. Drawing inspiration and purpose from its location on 265 acres of rolling hills and farmland, the Restaurant at Goodstone provides its guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience. The luxury country inn offers 18 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites in six distinctive dwellings, including the Carriage House (main building), Dutch Cottage, French Farm Cottage, Spring House, Manor House and Bull Barn Cottage. Other amenities include Goodstone's country spa, wine cellar dining room, horse-themed Carriage House bar, exquisite heated pool set beneath the Wisteria-covered facade of the Old Mansion, and working farm. Goodstone Inn & Restaurant offers the charming ambiance of an 18th century country estate with the convenience, luxury and service expected by 21st century guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing