We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Salamander Resort & Spa(Middleburg)
$450
$437
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Leesburg(Leesburg)(Great Value!)
$129
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$71
Aloft.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Dulles North(Ashburn)(Great Value!)
$99
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$105
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
242
37
18
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
242
37
18
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housespring housefrench cottagerolling hillshayloft roombeautiful poolfarm managerspecial occasionsitting roomamazing weekendworking farmbeautiful farmhunt countryperfect getawayfull kitchentwo night staycelebrate our anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 302 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

After completing our taxes and finding a refund, we decided to spend it on a night at Goodstone. And spend it we did. We booked the Angus suite in the French Farmhouse on recommendation of the sweet girl I spoke to when I made the reservation. Mistakenly, she said it had a steam shower and oversized spa tub – it only had the spa tub. My husband was disappointed – but I told him to get over it. The room was lovely and the public areas in the Farmhouse were great. After dinner at the Inn and our walk back to the room, we started a fire and sat sipping sparkling wine by the fireplace before bed. When we first arrived we took a walk around the barn area as I wanted to see the famous “Oliver the Pig”. OMG!! The head on that pig is as big as – well it is just BIG. He was asleep and we were never able to get him to open his eyes. I really wanted to see the whole pig standing. We got to see several lambs that we just born – very cute. The Inn’s service is exceptional and the property pastoral. We would love to stay there often – but as of 4/15 the lowest weekend rate is $400 and going as high as $800 for ONE night. My husband and I both are working folk and we do splurge now and again – sadly Goodstone will be Never Again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Judy J,

Thank you for your kind words. To be honest, I have been at the Goodstone now for six months and have yet to see Oliver stand! The best time to see him in all of his hoggish glory is feeding time (the only time he is motivated to move). I am also pleased to announce the arrival of Grayson the Llama. He parades stoically around the sheep pen, all the while keeping a mindful eye on his new family.

We are a destination and specially occasion luxury inn set in the heart of horse & hunt country. We love to see guest at Goodstone celebrating birthdays, anniversaries, or even those that want a special getaway from the City (or on the occasion, family). Everyone is welcome and treated as family at the Goodstone Inn.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Once we found the resort we were amazed by the beauty of the property. Very friendly people greeted us as we arrived. We were shown to our room in a separate building. We were surprised that we were sharing the building with another couple. Fortunately the rooms had their own bath facilities. The shared space was very awkward as the other couple, actually two couples over the period of our stay, monopolized the television and kitchen. We did have a few hours during the day to enjoy the porch but otherwise we felt confined to our room. Another issue with the room was all the bugs which we had to deal with. I believe the bugs are referred to as "stink bugs" but whatever they were they were everywhere in our room. They were in the shower light and my wife said one fell off the ceiling while she was getting ready to go out for dinner. I had to clean up several from the carpet in the room. What is the problem with these bugs? Yet another problem occurred with dinner at the restaurant the first night. What a disappointment. The meal was subpar but we found out two days later that their chef and food services manager had left and the replacements were there only a few weeks. This may explain why our expectations for a five star resort and restaurant were not met in any way. One evening after returning from dinner at another restaurant my wife called down at 9:30pm to see if we could come to the bar for a glass of wine. The abrupt answer was no, the bar was closed. Really? there were still people in the restaurant. On the positive side the property is beautiful but shows signs of neglect. It was too cold for the pool to be in service but we were told by management that the pool amenities really were not what they should be. We did walk up to the operational barn/farm and visited with Oliver the overweight pig. We saw new born lambs frolicking in the pasture with their mother and numerous chickens which were the source of our fresh eggs for breakfast. My wife asked if she could get a massage at their new spa facilities which we found out were in the barn at the farm area. Apparently the masseuse is only available on a limited basis and it ended up that she could not be "fit in" for 3 days. That did not work for us but when we returned home, she was able to get an appointment in 2 hours. Back to breakfast, the menu is very limited. You could have eggs or pancakes, no yogurt or other breakfast was available. Even though breakfast was included we went into town to get something different than was available on the menu. So the real question is would we go back to Goodstone, the short answer is no. This is a resort in dire need of updating and until the kitchen issues and other issues with the rooms are dealt with I am afraid that this once gem is only costume jewelry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluelu1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked a night in the Leith room at the French cottage for a Sunday night in April and every detail of our visit was welcoming and luxurious. Even though the inn was booked to capacity, we had excellent service from the pleasant young gentleman who checked us in and brought tea and chocolate chip scones to staff who brought ice to our room within 5 minutes of our call. The french cottage has a rustic charm, the only negative being a few stinkbugs. I was nervous about sharing common areas with other guests but all were quiet and polite. We enjoyed the hammock and outdoor patio. The scenic grounds are perfect for a relaxed, secluded getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear senicole,

Thank you for your kind post and your continued patronage. We are extremely fortunate to have the staff we do, and take great pride in providing top notch professional yet warm service to our guests.

All of our lodgings are luxurious and comfortable. Whether you stay in the “rustic charm” of the French Farm, the intimate setting of the Dutch Cottage, or the classic Manor House, you will enjoy great privacy, serenity, and relaxation.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed for a quiet getaway after a more hectic week. We booked a regular room and were pleasantly upgraded to a suite. Although it was next to the restaurant, the room was very quiet and comfortable. Nice sized bathroom with great water pressure. The Inn has a nice walking trail circling the property. You'll pass along a creek, through meadows where a groundhog may say hello, and right past cows from the dairy. The cows take little interest in the guests out for a walk. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant although did have drinks at the very friendly bar. One note - the breakfast menu was the same each day and is heavy on eggs. If you don't or can't eat eggs daily, ask for a substitute and the staff is obliging.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikinChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

HikinChick,

Thank you for your post. We strive to remove the stresses of our guests. The pastoral and peaceful farm environment and professional yet personable staff have a lot to do with that. We are extremely fortunate to have both of these assets.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed i nThe Warburg Junior suite and were quite pleased. It was very pleasant because we had the whole balcony to ourselves( I am not sure if it would have been as nice if guests were in the room next door).
The gounds are well maintained and the staff is more than pleasant.
The dinner we had was excellent, but expect to pay as much if not more than you would pay at some of the finest restaurants in DC. If you do have dinner there let me recommend the lamb. Possibly the best I have ever had.
The breakfast was quite tasty as well.
I would reccomend comming later in the spring or fall because I would suspect there would be more to do, and the surroundings would be prettier(leaves on the trees, and vines at the vinyards).
My only complaint would be that at breakfast there didn't seem to be enough help. When we got there, no one was around to seat us. A minute or so later a waitress sat us, and things were good(even though it took a while to get our food). Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would come back.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Akeemthedream78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Oliverlevitt,

Thank you for your kind words. We are an exquisite respite from the action of the city. We pride ourselves on our ability to offer top notch accommodations, professional and attentive service, and fine dining.

With this recent hot snap brings about the buds and flowers of summer, and everyone is anticipating the opening of our pool very soon.

I do apologize about the wait for breakfast. This is one of the most important aspects of a guest's stay. Please, when you visit us in the future, know that we have addressed the situation and everything will be up to our high standards.

Thank you again, and looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews