We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food & Beverage; but Mediocre Lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A last-minute weekend getaway got off on the wrong foot when the staff informed us that the suite we had reserved only hours before really wasn't available, and that we were being "upgraded" (in reality, just "moved") to the main carriage house. We suspect the real reason was that the original room - which is in a separate building further out on the property - was probably the only one they had rented in that building, and it would require sending housekeeping out to the far corners of the property for only one room.

As a result, we ended up in a ground floor suite that opens onto the main walk into the property. Windows on the back side looked onto the parking lot and service walkway. We had two nights of noise and light (drapes in the room were not blackout drapes, so the light from the outdoor spotlights kept the room very bright). Neither is conducive to sleep. To top it off, what was billed as a queen sized four-poster was actually a double. We know...we have a queen bed at home.

Food and beverage were better, though we did not find the dining room particularly comfortable. The chairs in particular were somewhat saggy and uncomfortable. The room was laid out in a simple rectangle with tables around the perimeter and a row down the middle - about 36 seats in all. Nothing to break up the space and give guests any sense of privacy. The seating in the bar/reception/living room space (take your pick - it serves all 3 purposes) was more comfortable, but while they serve breakfast there, they do not serve dinner. Only appetizers.

Food quality was good, so maybe some of the earlier posts have made a difference. Or maybe it's just an inconsistent kitchen. In any event, our experience was good, though very expensive.

Room Tip: Stay out of the main carriage house unless you like having dining room patrons wake you up when they...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 291 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

I work in the hospitality business and I was very impressed with everything! I was there with a group from the hotel I work at for a Christmas Get Together. The Staff were wonderful and the food was Awesome!! We tried several of the appetizers and all were very good! We all really enjoyed the wine that the waiter suggested to us. Me, as not a wine drinker needed some help choosing which wine would taste the best. The choice that he suggested was PERFECT!! They gave us cheese and crackers to eat while we waited for the rest of our Party to arrive. For dinner I had the "LE CHATEAUBRIAND BOUQUETIER ET SA SAUCE BÉARNAISE". It was amazing!!! The next morning we all got together and had a wonderful breakfast. Again, the staff were all wonderful! I will always remember my stay at the Goodstone Inn and Restaurant. I plan on going back again one day!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spend a wonderful night in the Bull Pen suite. Lovely accommodation with great soaking tub and steam shower, fireplace and cozy living room. The staff was outstanding and the meals were delicious. We want to return when the weather is warm and use the pool.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

There is no other place that we like to take a quick weekend trip locally. Fantastic facility and service. From the minute you check-in everyone bends over backwards to help. They even provided me an extension cord so I could plug in my EV overnight.

The restaurant albeit pricey is first class. I would definitely recommend at least one dinner there during your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We just spent the weekend at Goodstone Inn. We stayed in the Manor House, which was lovely and perfect. Unlike other Goodstone options, this house is some distance from the main house and restaurant, but the opportunity to walk for 20-30 minutes across their property prior to dining is part of the reason we escaped to the country. And to boot, the Manor House is on a hill overlooking the others and fields.
The only constructive criticism I have is that Goodstone still has some room to improve vis-a-vis hospitality. Unlike some nearby inns, e.g. Ashby or Clifden, it lacks a central innkeeper type with truly gracious country manners. So, for example, at my 50th birthday (with advance notice to them) we were led to an oversized table overlooking the swinging kitchen door, even after waiting past our reservation time for 20 minutes. It was tacky. Likewise, the grand waiting room was lacking a lit fire though the night was cool (a lovely one was waiting for us back at the manor house). Our morning waitress, too, lacked the degree of hospitality one might wish for in a top rated country inn. To be sure, everyone was very nice -- but that special and elegant touch was missing. On food, too, we learned that Goodstone just changed chefs. This made much sense to us because the food was overly sweet and we thought lacked the refinement we expected.
Still, it was lovely and a very nice place to stay. Though not just now five stars.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We just returned from a lovely stay at the Goodstone Inn. Upon our arrival, there was a huge hot air balloon hovering right over the inn. It was absolutely magical! We were then greeted and shown to our room - the Master Suite - located in the Manor House.

The property is truly idyllic. We wanted a a rural retreat and we got it there, for sure! The area reminded us a bit of Ireland - green rolling hills, stone walls and wooden fences, horses and cows everywhere - truly peaceful.

There is a beautiful barn on the property, as well as an organic garden, chickens, a pig and sheep. We also loved waking up to the sounds of singing birds and mooing cows each morning and seeing horses right outside our window. Our bed was a queen bed which is never our preference. However, we managed just fine and appreciated that the bed was a lovely antique four-poster bed - and those are usually queen-sized. Most of the rooms seem to be queen beds with the exception of a few.

Unfortunately, the "heated" pool wasn't available while we were there, and that was a disappointment to us. Even though it was chilly outside, we were prepared for a swim in the heated water. We did enjoy walking around the property and, though we felt nestled in the countryside, it was easy enough to drive to surrounding areas and activities. We enjoyed a lovely day trip to Harper's Ferry, for instance, which was only about 40 minutes away by car.

There are several houses on the property with several rooms and suites in each. We stayed in the Master Room in the Manor House and found it to be truly beautiful with old world elegance. It has a gorgeous view and the furnishings are refined and gracious with antiques and lovely fabrics. The house is in need of some TLC, however. There is some peeling paint in places that needs to be attended to. We saw the other rooms in the Manor House and the Stuart Suite is the most updated and spacious. We will plan on staying in that room the next time, even though our room was lovely.

We ate some fabulous meals at the restaurant. At dinner, we had the tastiest sea bass we've ever eaten anywhere. The same was true for the blueberry pancakes and eggs benedict at breakfast. We also enjoyed the friendly waiters in the restaurant.

Our room itself was spotless, but we opted to open our windows in order to enjoy the fresh air. We were disappointed to discover dead bugs and peeling paint between the windows and the screens, as well as peeling paint on the bathroom radiator. I'm not one to nitpick but I point it out because it is such a special and we were very happy with our room. For the price, however, I don't expect perfection but I do expect such details to be attended to. As I mentioned before, the Stuart Suite is very fresh and updated and it could be that they are in the process of updating the other rooms in the Manor House.

We truly enjoyed our stay and plan on returning next fall or possibly even sooner in the spring of next year. One suggestion I would make to the hotel is that they update their website to include more pictures. The website is nice but it doesn't do the property justice and the pictures aren't readily apparent. You have to dig around a bit on the website to get a good idea of the beauty of the place and, even then, the pictures don't capture it. I was really amazed to see how beautiful it was compared to what I saw on the website.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My daughter, her friend, and I traveled to Middleburg Virginia for the International Goldcup. We stayed at Goodstone Inn. Even the drive to this place was a fabulous experience as we passed absolutely beautiful farm after beautiful farm along the peaceful country road. We arrived just after dark and were immediately made to feel welcome. We stayed in the bull barn. It was perfect! A rustic, country feel with all the updated amenities. There was a complimentary bottle of wine, sodas, and water in our room. Fire glowed as we walked in the lounge for dinner. Dinner was fabulous with very friendly service. Breakfast was also very delicious! Took a beautiful walk on the trail around the farm that led us by the river and through the meadow. The views were gorgeous with the colorful fall leaves at their peak. Staying here just made our trip! I cant wait to introduce my parents to this place. Not only will they love this beautiful farm and delicious complimentary breakfast - It will be the perfect place for my husband and dad to stay while us ladies go small town shopping in the beautiful quaint town of Middleburg since we love the small town shops and they love the quiet of the farm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DotM693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.5 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
171 reviews
13.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
23.9 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,346 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
9.3 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Address: 36205 Snake Hill Rd, Middleburg, VA 20117-3645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range: $356 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodstone Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant in Middleburg, Virginia, is a luxurious country inn and French restaurant in the heart of Virginia's wine and horse country. Drawing inspiration and purpose from its location on 265 acres of rolling hills and farmland, the Restaurant at Goodstone provides its guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience. The luxury country inn offers 18 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites in six distinctive dwellings, including the Carriage House (main building), Dutch Cottage, French Farm Cottage, Spring House, Manor House and Bull Barn Cottage. Other amenities include Goodstone's country spa, wine cellar dining room, horse-themed Carriage House bar, exquisite heated pool set beneath the Wisteria-covered facade of the Old Mansion, and working farm. Goodstone Inn & Restaurant offers the charming ambiance of an 18th century country estate with the convenience, luxury and service expected by 21st century guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing