We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil Country Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquil Country Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The best thing about the Goodstone Inn is the beauty of the property. Yes, the food was excellent, the service is excellent and the staff will make a generous effort to accomodate any request. However, I would like to compliment everyone involved in the upkeep of the property. It is beyond peaceful to soak in the pool and look out at fields of green peppered with golden bales of hay and wildflowers. Butterflies flutter around the various gardens and fields. There are beautiful walking trails throughout the property. There are even binoculars and a bird book in the room just in case you feel so inclined to go birdwatching throughout the property. Also, there is little patio with a hot tub that is great for soaking under the moon and the stars. It was fun to look at the garden as well. I am sure many of the herbs grown there were used in my delicious meals! We met Randall, the farm manager who was very friendly and eager to answer any questions about the property or show us anything we wanted to see. If you are a lover of beautiful natural settings, this is the place for you. The excellent service, beautiful accomodations, and great food is just a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    34
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
199
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We came across the Goodstone Inn through a LivingSocial offer and are very glad we did. Our goal was an anniversary getaway without the kids for a couple of nights. The Goodstone Inn was perfect for this purpose!

Upon arrival, we knew the place was going to be great. Huge property and the staff offered to drive us down to our guest house! The service was exceptional the whole time - the staff really wanted to make sure we were enjoying our time. Since there are only 18 rooms onsite, they really pay attention to the guests and strive to meet or exceed every possible need.

The restaurant was fantastic - high quality food (breakfast included) and very attentive staff. Big kudos to David, who made our dinner even more special and worked hard to expand our culinary knowledge and sense of adventure.

Thanks to Randall, who is the onsite jack of all trades. He literally stopped what he was doing to check on us, show us the new chicken coop, and bring us down to Goose Creek for a canoe trip.

Overall, Goodstone was a special place. It made us feel like we were far from the city, depsite only being an hour from DC. Mark, the owner, was in town when we visited. He definitely created an upscale hotel with impressive service.

We highly recommend and have been singing its praises to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was my fourth or fifth visit to Middleburg from Florida.
It is heaven on earth.
Aboslutely impeccable service and meticulous attention to every detaill.
The restaurant, under the tutelage of William Walden is out of this world. You won't want to leave.
Can't wait to make another visit there.

Room Tip: Call well in advance to ensure your room selection and be prepared to be pampered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

In June 2012, we made our third trip to the Goodstone Inn. We have gone to Goodstone Inn to celebrate our anniversary several times and have never been disappointed. The accommodations, dining, staff and the setting are all excellent and we will plan to be back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We live very close to Goodstone so we have enjoyed many fabulous dinners there, but recently I decided to give a weekend at the Goodstone as a gift to a highly valued employee. Everyone at the Goodstone, including the very talented Chef Walden, went out of their way to take care of our guests. They told us afterward that it was the best meal of their lives and they raved about the accommodations and the service.

I think it is rare to experience top notch service these days, even in some of the best hotels. The Goodstone gets it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nan_eatsweatseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Goodstone is just Fabulous! The place never ceases to amaze us!!! We go for the wonderful food and fantastic setting. The flavors are always fresh and exciting and the service exemplifies what we expect from a restaurant of this caliber. We particularly liked our interaction with the Chef. He was charming and elegant, and incredible! The Rack of Lamb, we both agree, is the best we have ever tasted and savored. A true artist. Even Breakfast was incredible. The Blueberry Pancakes were so fluffy and the sausage reminded me of my mother's favorite recipe. We will definitely be back. The views of the VA countryside are spectacular. This is our favorite place. The restaurant reminds us of a famous place in South Florida,,,,,, brings back great memories.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Layman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We recently spent two wonderful days at the Goodstone Inn in Middleburg, VA and had a terrific time. The entire staff was exceedingly helpful and attentive and the food was fantastic. Chef William is a wonderful cook and a heck of a singer. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Algallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.3 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
23.8 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
1.5 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
10.7 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Property: Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Address: 36205 Snake Hill Rd, Middleburg, VA 20117-3645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodstone Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant in Middleburg, Virginia, is a luxurious country inn and French restaurant in the heart of Virginia's wine and horse country. Drawing inspiration and purpose from its location on 265 acres of rolling hills and farmland, the Restaurant at Goodstone provides its guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience. The luxury country inn offers 18 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites in six distinctive dwellings, including the Carriage House (main building), Dutch Cottage, French Farm Cottage, Spring House, Manor House and Bull Barn Cottage. Other amenities include Goodstone's country spa, wine cellar dining room, horse-themed Carriage House bar, exquisite heated pool set beneath the Wisteria-covered facade of the Old Mansion, and working farm. Goodstone Inn & Restaurant offers the charming ambiance of an 18th century country estate with the convenience, luxury and service expected by 21st century guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing