We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Time at the Goodstone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our two night stay in the French Manor House (cottage) of the Goodstone Inn was more than we ever expected.
Check in during the tea time hours, at the Carriage House (where we also dined) was delightfully pleasant . The scones , candied nuts and tea enjoyed by a roaring fire ,were lovely.
We settled in our quarters, the Angus Room of the Manor Cottage which was meticulously decorated in rich woods and blue toile ,and then lounged in front of a warm fire (place) in the main sitting room, where we shared the half bottle of Rhone wine ( included with our room ). We knew immediately that this was going to be a memorable mini vacation.
Dining at the Inn was a near perfect experience. A beautiful and multi-windowed dining room,with impeccable decor and service, truly southern hospitality, awaited us. Meals were wonderful and creatively prepared with the freshest of ingredients, by their Executive Chef, William Walden. This man is a genius with food , and we had the pleasure of conversing with him during and after each meal. Chef Walden is as delightful as his food, explaining his various recipes and creations from family traditions to Parisian experiences. To mention a few, breakfast included the lightest, mouth watering pancakes, (to die for), freshly made roasted pepper and fancy mushroom omelets: both adorned with fresh assorted berries etc..Chef's grandmother's recipe for homemade sausage was a treat. Dinner was a culinary delight. The roasted quail and vegetables, and the rock fish dishes were perfectly prepared and presented. Both dishes were extremely fresh and juicy. The local rock fish dish had an Asian flare. The Caesar salad ,surrounded with slivers of delicious Parmesan cheese was perfect. The menus included a variety of dishes that are sure to suit everyone. The wine list is eclectic and extensive.
We look forward to a return stay. This is a very fine Inn and dining experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank her_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 293 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

Incredible hospitality and attention to detail- perfect for a relaxing weekend away from the city. Both our dinner and breakfast were outstanding and James, the innkeeper, was impeccable in his service throughout our stay. Be sure to carve out some good time to enjoy cocktails in front of the enormous wood-burning fireplace in the main part of the inn before dinner - it was the perfect start to a relaxing evening.

Room Tip: Try one of the suites off of the main dining room - they were originally the property's horse st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lpolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRBluntJr, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Lpolfer,
What could be more gratifying for the team at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant than to see your review entitled, "Phenomenal?" That one word packs a powerful punch so thanks from all of us for sharing your excellent lodging and dining experiences with TripAdvisor.com readers. We hope to see you again soon.
James Blunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

My wife and I recently returned from a short (Sun - Tues) stay at the Goodstone. We stayed in the Dutch Cottage - Magnolia Room - and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our stay was the perfect bucolic retreat from hectic jobs in DC. The staff was very attentive and professional. Our rooms were well apportioned and comfortable. The hot tub was a short walk from our room...and the perfect place to enjoy the night sky. We ate dinner at the inn as well. The food was wonderful as was the service. We also borrowed the property's bicycles and rode down the country lanes. It was the perfect getaway. I've already recommended the Goodstone to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_Plenzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRBluntJr, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Shotgun Joe,
Your flattering review captures perfectly one of our greatest assets: location. For legions of time-constrained professionals living in the Washinton, DC metro area, Goodstone is only about a one hour drive. Once ensconsed in your deluxe guest room or suite, you'll immediately feel worlds removed from the cares and pressures of your stop-and-go workaday lives. A night or two spent exploring (on foot, bike or canoe) our unspoiled 265-acre estate, relaxing with a massage or facial, and dining in our acclaimed classic French restaurant will melt away any stresses you bring with you. Thank you very much for staying with us and for recommending Goodstone to friends and colleagues.
James Blunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Last Fall, we made the trip to Goodstone for a weekend sans kids. There was a fairly serious miscommunication regarding our accomodations which had the potential to ruin a lovely weekend plan. We had voluntary switched rooms to help the Inn accomodate a large group but the room we were changed into was not what we were looking for.

Within minutes of our raising the issue, James Blunt, the manager, came out to personally "make it right". He and the good folks at Goodstone absolutely did that. James personally worked with us to get the room situation fixed and he made sure that we understood how much they wanted us to enjoy our stay. James did a beautiful job of responding to a crisis and ensuring that everyone came out with a wonderful experience.

The area is beautiful Virginia rolling hills. The facilities are old but beautifully maintained. The staff is charming and helpful without being intrusive. The Inn and houses on the property aren't spectacular, but they are charming.

The restaurant is something special as well. From beginning to end, the food was delicious. I even tried a variety of game samplings as the entree and was blown away at the preparation and taste. It was just spectacular.

Goodstone is wonderful retreat from the city. The environment, the food, the lodging and the people make it well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dctate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRBluntJr, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear DC Tate,
I remember the circumstances well and just want to say how gratifying it was to be of service to you. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
James Blunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

...a 5 star inn was in my backyard (well 2 hrs but for what its worth, we usually fly across an ocean to find this!)

Yes it felt so far from home - the winding roads lined with enormous estates and horse farms, wineries and stone walls lining the roads -- teasing you into thinking you've landed in the English countryside.

But no shabbiness here...very nicely outfitted, but not TOO formal; a friendly overtone accented by a sincere desire that you have an exceptional stay. The staff we met felt like friends by the second day. Of course you can choose not to interact but for us meeting the folks who run the place day in and out - is essential to the experience. And it rated an A....

SO...there are choices, as noted in accommodations dotted around the property. The Dutch cottage is charming, close to the carriage house (and therefore the restaurant, offices, etc.) but with two small bedrooms suited for a family or friends traveling together. GREAT views. Would not want to share with strangers.

The Carriage house (main bldg) has beautiful, private suites and an amazing suite with its own enormous deck called the Hayloft. Very Nice. My next choice for sure!

The French Cottage looked very inviting though we only peeked in - good location, very lightfilled and I think 3 or 4 bedrooms; the Spring house has double porches but was on a road (although I am sure it is quiet as we only saw horse riders on it) and there is a "honeymoon' type cabin behind the stable area which looked awesome. Study the pics on the website to determine how much size and privacy you require.

Overall our stay was perfection. We needed a celebratory getaway and we found it without getting on a plane.

Our only regret is we had to leave - one more night would have been perfect. So we will be back in another season (fall perhaps?) Walking the farm grounds amongst the cows was great fun; and of course worked off all that delicious food!

Thanks to Chef William for 2 great dinners and a song; the most perfect gentleman in Gino - loved talking to him about his life in the restaurant biz, Randall, the farm manager - so full of tales of life on the land, Debby in Guest Services, and the lovely gardener - who name I forgot - sorry - but she was quite fun, and we enjoyed our talks with her about the foxes, the plants, everything! And,
of course, James, the manager who cares so much about his guests' happiness.

Don't need to repeat the accolades for the outstanding food - both dinners and breakfast - amazing.

Just writing this makes me want to back! The Goodstone is a genuine GEM!

Room Tip: A Suite if more privacy is required
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRBluntJr, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Gracieva,

We love when our guests not only rave about their experiences at Goodstone but actually name names. Your review especially pleases us because it indicates that we are achieving one of our most important goals: that all staff be focused on serving our guests in every way possible, and in a friendly, non-stuffy manner. We have an excellent team that sincerely cares about making each guest’s experience as good as possible. Thanks, also, for pointing out to TA readers the wide variety of guest houses and accommodations we offer.

James Blunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Terrific gem in overpopulated market of Virginia B&Bs. It is quaint without being precious. Good service. We stayed in the hayloft (located in the main building). It was clean, had complimentary non-alcoholic drinks, a nice jacuzzi tub and our own large private deck. We initially thought staying above the main lobby would be noisy but it was utterly convenient and we never felt distracted. Staff was attentive to our wish (or lack thereof) to socialize. We would recommend one of the cottages if you want more solitude.
The dining room was lovely and historic. Food is well executed if not particularly innovative. The sommelier (Gino) is a gem, knowledgeable, and went the extra mile. Breakfast was tasty but they need to upgrade the weak coffee. We enjoyed walking the well marked 3mi trail covering the grounds which winds through a creek and cow/ horse pasture. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VaTraveler22903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRBluntJr, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Melissa,
When you return to Goodstone I feel confident that you will enjoy the top-of-the-line coffee that we now serve in the restaurant. We are proud to feature, exclusively, La Colombe Coffee, which is served at some of the nation's top-rated tables: Le Bec-Fin, Waldorf-Astoria, French Laundry, Charlie Trotter's, Four Seasons Hotels, Le Bernardin, and Restaurant Daniel, to name but a few. "La Colombe creates 'culinary coffee', balanced and round, consistent, bold and deep but not overbearing, mindful of the kitchen and designed to linger long and high and bright on the palate." (Wine Spectator). Now, when you return to Goodstone, you can wake up and smell the (really good!) coffee.
James Blunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I don't have much to add to the accolades, here, beyond reiterating them. My husband and I stayed in the Leith Room in the French Cottage over the new year to celebrate the beginning of 2012. From the moment we arrived to the moment we (very reluctantly) left, we felt relaxed, comfortable, and provided for. We arrived a bit early and the staff very graciously accommodated our unexpected arrival - we had planned to tour local wineries but found them closed over the new year and so we had a fabulous time touring the Goodstone property, instead. Rolling hills, curious calves (Goodstone leases part of its property to a black angus farmer), and an exceptionally friendly farm manager greeted us on our walk. We felt instantly at ease and the feeling didn't dissipate until we were well on our way home.

The room: The French Cottage has two sitting areas, each with a large fireplace, so privacy despite the shared setting is almost assured. Our room within the Cottage was very spacious and tastefully decorated with a fabulous whirlpool soaking tub and separate steam shower. A half bottle of wine in the room upon our arrival was a very nice touch, as were complementary bottled water and sodas in the shared gathering areas. We both slept very soundly in the peaceful and comfortable setting, and awoke to the sound of birds chattering outside our window. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

The restaurant: We also dined at the restaurant as we had read the many positive reviews on this forum. My husband and I agreed that the entrees were the Chef's forte. My husband had a rack of lamb (and raved about the vegetable accompaniments) and I had a delicious butter-poached lobster. We both found the salads a bit unimaginative (though we acknowledge that fresh greens can be difficult to source this time of year), but enjoyed the soup du jour, a lobster bisque. The Chef's grand marnier suffle was simply perfect.

Breakfast: Goodstone sources its eggs from the property and they were delicious! Breakfast was filling and the backdrop - green hills and white fences in the distance - was idyllic.

Bottom line: We would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend the Leith Room. We had a truly lovely time and very much hope to return!

Room Tip: The French Cottage is tastefully decorated, set apart from the main reception area and other cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank melissalf04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.5 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
172 reviews
23.9 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
1.6 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
9.3 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
7 reviews
19.0 mi away
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Address: 36205 Snake Hill Rd, Middleburg, VA 20117-3645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range: $337 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodstone Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant in Middleburg, Virginia, is a luxurious country inn and French restaurant in the heart of Virginia's wine and horse country. Drawing inspiration and purpose from its location on 265 acres of rolling hills and farmland, the Restaurant at Goodstone provides its guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience. The luxury country inn offers 18 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites in six distinctive dwellings, including the Carriage House (main building), Dutch Cottage, French Farm Cottage, Spring House, Manor House and Bull Barn Cottage. Other amenities include Goodstone's country spa, wine cellar dining room, horse-themed Carriage House bar, exquisite heated pool set beneath the Wisteria-covered facade of the Old Mansion, and working farm. Goodstone Inn & Restaurant offers the charming ambiance of an 18th century country estate with the convenience, luxury and service expected by 21st century guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing