We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A magical place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welbourne
Ranked #6 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

When I phoned for reservations, Nat told me "Welbourne is a home, not a hotel, so if no one is here, just go into the front hall and there'll be a note on the table telling you where your room is. Cocktails are at 7." Yes, Welbourne is an authentic historic home, and you are a paying guest not a customer. This is the real thing, not Embassy Suites. (Thank heavens) There are many active, frequently soaking wet , but polite dogs , many beautifully proportioned and comfortably furnished rooms, and a powerful atmosphere of past days. The "faded" look is actually honest wear of a home having been lived in for so many years. The thresholds, floors and rugs are worn by time but they are clean. There wasn't the slightest whiff of mold, mildew or mustiness in the house, though it had been a wet Spring. The bathroom fixtures are spotless, linens on the four posters are crisp and smooth, breakfast is true unfaded elegance, and we are supremely grateful to Nat and Sherry and their family for sharing it with us. Cocktails on the porch the first night , and in the living room with a fire on the second were a warm delightful experience, even though I have to admit to being the guest who needed three lap robes to offset the cool evening air ,significantly "lowering the tone" of the gathering. Go to be at home in the Past, preserved by the family that founded the house. I wouldn't change a thing. We want to go back very much.

Room Tip: We saw 4 of the rooms, ours was off the landing at the top of the front stairs, looking into the tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margohon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a place to go just for a change of pace. I particularly wanted a place filled with history and little connection with what is usually going on in this world of ours. Just outside Middleburg, VA there is just such a place called Welbourn. It takes you back to a much simpler time; no TV, no wi-fi, no traffic, no noise except for the dogs... Nothing but pure relaxation. Nat and Sherry's cocktails on the front porch at seven are complete with spirited conversation regarding all sorts of topics. The house has a wonderful history... If only walls could talk! Breakfast certainly gets your day started in right direction if you're going to be doing any touring in the area. We had a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was excellent and plenty however the home exterior and interior needs some attention and kept a little cleaner . The furnishings were unique and the host were pleasant. We are not sure how the air operates so you kind of get what you get. The dogs were friendly and not a problem.The grounds could also use some upkeep. Just some information I feel I need to share.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JBclips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Nat and Sherry could not have been more welcoming...we booked this last minute, they were so accommodating, the rooms are beautiful, but the company was the highlight...drinks 'til nearly midnight...beautiful breakfast (you'll feel as if you're in Downton Abbey)...the people were really the best though. I got my car stuck and everyone helped, a neighbor was even prepared to come over to help as well...truly lovely and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Perfect relaxing stay, I say home from home, I only dream of a home like this!! so beautiful, faded elegance as their website explains - it is not 5 star, but a true old home experience. I urge anyone looking for something a little more authentic than the usual B&Bs to try it - you will love it.

Room Tip: Any!! although those with a four poster are AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

There are positives to the experience - the innkeepers are charming, breakfast is delicious, and the house has historic charm. The negatives- it was 20 degrees Fahrenheit at night during our stay and the first night, the boiler was not turned on. The second night of our stay, the heater was set to 58 degrees. It was absolutely freezing in that big drafty house. Plus, the furniture was falling apart because it was so old and rooms were dirty. Also, there are no locks on any of the rooms so you just have to hope that everyone staying there is honest and non-threatening. The innkeepers do not sleep in the property which makes safety an even greater concern.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This place is truly a gem! Friendly owners with a house full of history and interesting people. I am not sure if they do it every night but on the weekend nights we stayed, they host a cocktail hour in the sitting room with a nice warm fire, attended by guests at the inn, the owners, tenets of the various out buildings on the property and a few random locals who stop by to chat.
The Inn is family friendly which is a rare find in the B&B world. The rooms a very spacious and clean with wonderful historic furniture. If you ring little ones be sure to pop in to your room first and move all the lovely breakable antique nicknacks. Sherry and Nat (owners) have toys for kids and are very welcoming. Breakfast is very good!
I will say if you are looking for a five star full service resort style accommodation this is not it. There are plenty of those around the area. This is an amazing house where you will meet very interesting warm people and go home planning your next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PGmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.6 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
3.3 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
4.8 mi away
Middleburg Country Inn
Middleburg Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
11.6 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welbourne

Property: Welbourne
Address: 22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117-3939
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Welbourne Hotel Middleburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing