We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Everyone”
Review of Welbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welbourne
Ranked #5 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 10, 2013

There are positives to the experience - the innkeepers are charming, breakfast is delicious, and the house has historic charm. The negatives- it was 20 degrees Fahrenheit at night during our stay and the first night, the boiler was not turned on. The second night of our stay, the heater was set to 58 degrees. It was absolutely freezing in that big drafty house. Plus, the furniture was falling apart because it was so old and rooms were dirty. Also, there are no locks on any of the rooms so you just have to hope that everyone staying there is honest and non-threatening. The innkeepers do not sleep in the property which makes safety an even greater concern.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Welbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 52 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

This place is truly a gem! Friendly owners with a house full of history and interesting people. I am not sure if they do it every night but on the weekend nights we stayed, they host a cocktail hour in the sitting room with a nice warm fire, attended by guests at the inn, the owners, tenets of the various out buildings on the property and a few random locals who stop by to chat.
The Inn is family friendly which is a rare find in the B&B world. The rooms a very spacious and clean with wonderful historic furniture. If you ring little ones be sure to pop in to your room first and move all the lovely breakable antique nicknacks. Sherry and Nat (owners) have toys for kids and are very welcoming. Breakfast is very good!
I will say if you are looking for a five star full service resort style accommodation this is not it. There are plenty of those around the area. This is an amazing house where you will meet very interesting warm people and go home planning your next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We just returned from a lovely stay at the Welbourne! Nat and Sherry could not be more hospitable and delightful to be with! They offer true Southern hospitality! The house has lots of character and is steeped in history and the grounds are beautiful and wonderful to explore! What a treat to stay with these wonderful people in this special place! Jen and Bill

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Staying at Welbourne is a unique experience, and my husband and I have enjoyed many visits there. Hounds greet you in the driveway and horses graze in the pastures behind the inn. The house has lots of history and charm, and antiques abound. Its a step back in time. Breakfast is delicious and elegantly served, and the hosts are delightful and make you feel like old friends. Cocktails are served each evening, where conversation is always interesting and the company enjoyable. However, if you like modern amenities, this is not the place for you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AGT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent Halloween night in Welbourne B&B. The house is a very old family home with character and charm. The place was full that night and the Morisons hosted a cocktail party on the evening of arrival for all guests. It was held in the library, a cozy and attractive room. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was a delicious full breakfast served in a lovely dining room served by a maid on very attractive china with sterling silver flatware. It was most generous of the Morisons (the owners) to provide all that. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Welbourne twice this year: once in June and once in September: my husband and I, my son in law, daughter and a 7month then 10 month old granddaughter. Both times we were comfortable, entertained and enriched :-) Nat & Sherry are wonderful personalities. The charm of the house is the cherished past history in furnishings and ancestors. Our rooms were spacious, the breakfast was MORE than we could hope for, the ladies in the kitchen are wonderful and wonderfully talented, and Happy Hour on the front porch is an experience all in itself. LOVE this place. This could easily be a yearly tradition for our family.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank SusanKay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A wonderful place to go and unwind. It is full of history and stories and modern day innkeepers and staff who make you feel that Welbourne belongs to all who visit.
The breakfast is delicious and keeps on coming, the women who staff the kitchen are lovely.
You won't want to miss the cocktail hour on the veranda, as this is when you hear the interesting stories of the guests and innkeepers and get to know the dogs by name.
I wouldn't say you're going to a bed and breakfast, I'd say you're going for the Welbourne experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyr1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.6 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
171 reviews
3.3 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
291 reviews
4.2 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
160 reviews
11.5 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
7 reviews
18.5 mi away
Stone Manor Boutique Inn
Stone Manor Boutique Inn
#1 of 3 in Lovettsville
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welbourne

Address: 22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117-3939
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range: $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Welbourne Hotel Middleburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing