We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food on the patio!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Hound - CLOSED

The French Hound
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Federal Street
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food on the patio!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a surprise! Very nice service and wonderful food--very fresh. Enjoyed the patio but would not sit in the interior. It actually smelled musty and looked very dated and unattractive. What a shame because we really enjoyed the tuna tartar with lime, especially. Really nice service and people. Need some investment in the interior. We'd go back and recommend the patio!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    67
    34
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Borneo
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Such a fun lunch place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The food was delicious and the staff was fun too. An excellent location well worth stopping in. The food was delicious and the staff was fun too. An excellent location well worth stopping in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BorneoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Recommended to us by the proprietors of the Middleburg Country Inn, The French Hound was fantastic! They were willing to make substitutions to dishes willingly. The shrimp pizza was amazing with chicken! The pasta dish was outstanding.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
516 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Lunch After Our Walking Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We came to Middleburg to take a self guided walking tour of the town and learn about the history. After spending the morning on the tour, we ended up at the lovely French Hound. It was open for lunch on this beautiful Saturday in July but we opted to sit inside in the A/C as we had worked up a bit of a sweat and appetite. Our server was great and made us cocktails to our liking. The food was delish and we would come back and try dinner sometime.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stopped in for wine and apps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Cute little place and feels very french/ bistro in the bar ( although the wicker seats are tough on bare legs)
Heirloom tomatoes and house made mozzarella divine.
Hot french bread as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank networkConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Hound also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing