We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swedenburg Estate

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Swedenburg Estate
Ranked #14 of 27 things to do in Middleburg
Attraction details
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
395 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A lot of people went with Groupons. I'm not a fan of the wine at all it just was not my style/taste :-( Very nice people though.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ExPat0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
253 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Very family focused by the owners. The place is small the wines are good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gator G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rude service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Wines "not all that" either. I will likely give them a try again at some point but with so many wineries out here to choose from, not in a big hurry to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank mwil048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Love the fact that everything is done on site from growing to winemaking and nothing is brought in from elsewhere. A true VA winery. That said, we found the wines to be good, but not excellent. Our pourer offered us a seasonal hot mulled wine called gluhwein, which was delicious (a combination of their cabernet and petit verdot I believe, as well as some spices) and we bought one bottle of that. Pretty setting in th country, small area for tasting.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowpea72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty location but not worth a stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This winery is in a beautiful location, but otherwise the wine is mediocre and the service leaves a lot to be desired. The women who were behind the counter conducting the tastings seemed more like clerks than experts on the wine. They didn't even seem to like wine. They gave very rote descriptions and didn't attempt to engage us at all. We had to ask for the history and story behind the winery, and they looked at us like we had 2 heads when we asked for water to rinse between glasses and told us we would have to buy bottled water out of the case. Then in front of the customers they complained to each other about how someone should have trained them better on how to use the cash register. This was the 3rd winery we visited in the area that day and by far the least enjoyable on all levels.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mandogirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swedenburg Estate also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Swedenburg Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing