We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming in a town without a lot of competition”

Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fox Inn & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Madison
Description: Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Charming in a town without a lot of competition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic restaurant topped by an historic inn. Because of its age, the rooms are quite eccentric. The floors are creaky and very un level. The beds are good and the room is generally clean. The staff is mostly attentive. O had to remind myself that I was in a small town staying in an old inn and shouldn't expect the snap of the Ritz Carlton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    144
    50
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have eaten here several times when in Virginia visiting relatives. If you are in the area and want a great, relaxed meal in a beautiful setting, this is the place. Our servers are always very nice and, as some of us have dietary issues, they go out of their way to be sure our food is just as needed. Everything we have tried (which is quite a bit of their menu items!) have been delicious and perfectly prepared. If you are a bacon lover, you must try theirs. It's awesome!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EandDsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Historic and romantic, one of my Virginia favorites!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I love this restaurant in this beautiful little town. Even the drive from DC is beautiful through gorgeous horse country. My husband and I always looked forward to visiting this place. It's very cosy though not claustrophobic, and the peanut soup is excellent. It's so nice to be able to have a "favorite" place to stop while wandering the antique shops and pretty streets of Middleburg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bweis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice trip back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere. The thought of eating in a place so steeped in history drew me in. We were here for Sunday brunch. I had smoked salmon Caesar salad and a crab & artichoke omelet. The salad was fresh and delicious, and the omelet was overstuffed with crab meat and artichokes! My husband had the duck spring roll and the egg & bacon burger. Again everything was cooked very well, and was very delicious. A little bit on the expensive side, but totally worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryfran30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
325 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“A Very Good Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Of course, most of the other reviews mention the atmosphere or ambiance, and the Red Fox Inn certainly delivers on that. A beautiful, rustic country inn ambiance, with beamed ceilings and working fireplace, etc, create a cozy but elegant feel.

On our visit, the food was largely very good, but a couple of items were better than others. They were only serving their Valentine's (served the entire week, apparently) prix fixe menu, so options were limited, but we were, nonetheless happy with the food. Meats were of high quality and prepared to order, but lacked the "sizzle" that would have resulted in an excellent rating in the food category. Sides and appetizers were delicious and desserts were very good - the cherry crepes were top-notch. Servings were very generous, and being accustomed to DC prices, this meal seemed very reasonably-priced.

Service was very friendly, but a bit slow. Not enough to really complain a lot about it, but just enough to notice. There were a couple of noticeable delays between courses, so I think the delay was likely in the kitchen, rather than with our server. Our server was so friendly and nice, I hate to say anything at all about it, and I've already said more about it than the subject deserves, so I'll stop now.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WynneWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fox Inn & Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing