We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Red Fox Inn & Tavern
2 East Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
+1 540-687-6301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fox Inn & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Madison
Description: Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms.
Northern Neck, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The experience was charming and like being swept up in an inviting warm hug. Staff were friendly and entertaining.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    127
    45
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winchester, va
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely historic building - great ambiance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been there many times. I prefer the lunch menu - it has more casual options. The food is good and I love the ambiance. The restaurant is an old tavern with dark wood and fireplaces. The upstairs space can hold parties. In the summer, there is nice dining on the outdoor patio. Bring a sweater since it can be a little cool downstairs since it is in an old stone house, however nothing beats sitting by the fire drinking a hot cider in the fall or winter. It is a great choice for a day in the country.,

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trarvelchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A Classic in Middleburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Attentive but not intrusive staff. Well prepared food. Good menu with great specials. The dining room takes you back to our colonial era.

Helpful?
1 Thank Glon Drack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood park, Alberta
Level Contributor
293 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We met friends here (the place was their choice), so we had no idea what to expect. Well, we were there half hour after the place opened and it was packed solid.

Gracious wait staff, generous portions, unpretentious but interesting food, a sample of local beers and virginia wines. I can see why this place is popular.

It is noisy and the tables are close together, so while I can recommend this as a great place to meet friends and relax (because the buzz makes it fun), its probably not where i would go to discuss something more somber.but then, who does that in a tavern anyway.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Locan Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is old, cozy, warm, and inviting. You feel like you're in a an old stone pub in England or Ireland, and that's because it was probably built by the same people who built them over there! This is one of then oldest continually operating pubs/Inns in the country and it reeks with authentic old-world simple charm--the kind that just cannot be reproduced no matter how much money you spend. The service is good and the people are friendly. The french fries were terrific, as was much of the food. I have eaten there a few times and I have found there are some inconsistencies. Some meals were much better than others. Make sure you ask the waitron to recommend something that is well liked and you'll have a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Wongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fox Inn & Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing