We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic in Middleburg”

Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fox Inn & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Madison
Description: Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A Classic in Middleburg”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Attentive but not intrusive staff. Well prepared food. Good menu with great specials. The dining room takes you back to our colonial era.

Helpful?
1 Thank Glon Drack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    144
    51
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sherwood park, Alberta
Level Contributor
292 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We met friends here (the place was their choice), so we had no idea what to expect. Well, we were there half hour after the place opened and it was packed solid.

Gracious wait staff, generous portions, unpretentious but interesting food, a sample of local beers and virginia wines. I can see why this place is popular.

It is noisy and the tables are close together, so while I can recommend this as a great place to meet friends and relax (because the buzz makes it fun), its probably not where i would go to discuss something more somber.but then, who does that in a tavern anyway.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Locan Tradition”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is old, cozy, warm, and inviting. You feel like you're in a an old stone pub in England or Ireland, and that's because it was probably built by the same people who built them over there! This is one of then oldest continually operating pubs/Inns in the country and it reeks with authentic old-world simple charm--the kind that just cannot be reproduced no matter how much money you spend. The service is good and the people are friendly. The french fries were terrific, as was much of the food. I have eaten there a few times and I have found there are some inconsistencies. Some meals were much better than others. Make sure you ask the waitron to recommend something that is well liked and you'll have a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Wongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and great atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Co-workers and I had our holiday breakfast at the Inn. It was a very cool historic building and the food was good. The service was excellent and our waitress was very attentive and accommodating with our requests. It was a good way to start a day of Christmas shopping in downtown Middleburg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
492 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“A taste of Williamsburg in northern Virginia”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

On our way to a Christmas tree farm, we (husband and I) stopped in for a late Saturday lunch without reservations. Instead of being turned away from the full restaurant to find our luck elsewhere, we were given a reservation for 30 minutes later at 2:45 PM, just 15 minutes shy of their lunch closing time. We didn't regret the wait. We were seated upstairs in a room reminiscent of an historic Williamsburg tavern, and served by an unpretentious and friendly waitress. My crab cake was about as good as I've ever eaten (focus on fresh crab not the "cake") and Caesar salad accompaniment was crisp and traditionally made. Tasty! We really enjoyed sitting by the fireplace- very cozy atmosphere.
The only misstep was the entrance and greeting spot- it's a bit like musical chairs with servers laden with serving platters and hostesses with menus excusing themselves as they make a continuous divide through the guests standing in the entry hall.For a restaurant that's been operating for so many years, one would think they'd have a better logistics plan. But no matter- we'll be back for the great food and dining atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fox Inn & Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing