We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mechanicsville
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Was able to get an early check end which was much needed due to need to dress for a wedding. This place was close to the reception and was picked out with that in mind. Wedding was a little further out.Very, very tired that morning, care staff was louder than usual and even though the DNDisturb sign on the door,and it was at least three hours before checkout, someone kept knocking on the door to ask about checkout.After checkout, staff apparently was unaware and made a snide remark about the early check-in. Downsized the ratings significantly

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am sorry to hear that your stay was unpleasant. I have spoken with housekeeping and front desk about this situation and hope that we can get it right next time. Please come and stay with us again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 106 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

Arrived after arranging an early check-in, which was easily accommodated. Pulling into the parking lot we were a little confused by two separate buildings, one of which was not clearly marked. The second one turned out to be a different hotel, the Hampton. Check-in was smooth. The room was neat and tidy. We had upgraded to a suite. A few comments that are noteworthy. The bathroom could use drawers to store toiletries and personal hair care items. We ended up using the bottom of the nightstand for those things. Most annoying was the bathroom exhaust fan that was on as long as the bathroom light was on. It was a little noisy. A better fit would be that it was on a separate switch. I need wi-fi, and the service here was good. The only thing was that there are two separate directions in order to connect; two different signals, one of which disappeared completely after the first day. The walls could use more hangings: see the images for detail. It looked a little barren and looked like a lower scale motel room. The bed was comfortable and we love the idea of pillowcases marked, "soft" and "firm". The drawer on one of the night stands could not be used because it was too close to the air conditioning unit and could not be opened. The view was one that overlooked the pool and faced lots of trees. Breakfast was adequate and filling, but the wait for hot food refreshing on the hotline was a little too long. The stay was quiet and peaceful. We would return again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ricktm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We value your feedback and are happy that you took the time to write a review for us. Our management team has reviewed your comments and will use them to further improve the guest experience. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Holiday Inn Express is located off of the interstate and is convenient to the Richmond sites. I did not have a reservation prior to arriving, but I was able to get an affordable room nevertheless. Make sure to ask what the price is beforehand, as the receptionist failed to mention it before I handed her my card and having to be asked. I had a room with a king bed. The room also had a sitting chair in the corner as well as a work desk along the wall. The décor of the room was simple but elegant. The color scheme had a welcoming and warm feel to it. There was only one painting above the bed, but that wasn't noticeable with the layout of the room.

They had different types of pillows which I noticed the next morning were labeled soft and firm on the pillowcases. I had never seen this before, but sure made it easier to figure out what pillow you preferred. The bed was also comfortable and made for an enjoyable night's sleep. The refrigerator and microwave were located in the corner of the room. The refrigerator was quieter than most that I've encountered in hotels which was nice.

The bathroom had a rather large countertop with the sink on one end and open space next to it. The bathtub had a decorative design and showerhead. While the showerhead looked nice, it's placement was low even for me. I'm short and still had to duck down in order to be able to get underneath the showerhead.

Breakfast in the morning included eggs and sausage which were good. There was a selection of fruit, bagels and other cold options as well. You should be able to get your fill, and the coffee was good to boot as well. There are also an IHOP and Waffle House close by (IHOP next door) so you can get a meal anytime of the day

If you are in need of a hotel in the Richmond area, the Holiday Inn Express is a good choice. The staff was friendly and the room was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we did. We hope you will stop and see us again when you come to Mechanicsville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Memorial Day weekend while visiting family in Mechanicsville. This was the easiest hotel stay ever. Check in was fast, no problems. The only thing we did not like was that we had a smoking room because non-smoking had all been booked. But we figured that was because we booked through Priceline.com. Otherwise, everyone was friendly. We did not eat the complimentary breakfast but there are plenty of places near by. We visited Jamestown and it was a quick and easy drive. Great location.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SarahBear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Wonderful Stay!! That is what we strive for. Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay was. Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is an older Holiday Inn Express but my room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast offering was the usual, sticky buns and all, which is fine. The hotel is located next to a Hampton Inn, but these are the only hotels at this exit and there are no restaurants nearby - an unusual set-up these days. The front desk lady told me about an Italian restaurant a few blocks away. I selected this particular hotel for its location, because I was doing a Civil War tour. From here, there are easy access back roads to Cold Harbor and the Seven Days battles around Richmond. It is not convenient to downtown, but you can take I-64 west to I-95 south or it is a straight shot on Mechanicsville Road. There is construction on I-95 and Mechanicsville Road is slow through neighborhoods, but they get you there.

Room Tip: My room was on the back side of the hotel, away from the busy Road, better for quietude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roamin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for takint the time to write a review about your recent stay. We value your feedback and use this information to improve guest satisfactions. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here on our way down to Virginia Beach and had made our reservations prior to arriving. We were staying on points so we had a very easy check-in as the front desk had everything prepared for us! We were on the 4th floor (non-smoking) room with a King bed. The room was very clean, the shower was large and hot water was plentiful, the A/C was good and cold, the bed was pretty comfy and linens were nice and fresh! We were very pleased with our stay and room. There was plenty of restaurants right by the hotel itself and easily accessible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseynicole79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how your stay was. We value all our guest opinions and use the feedback to make your future visits more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Marlene at the front desk set the stage for our very pleasant overnight stay. Our room on the third floor (317) was at the back of the property, overlooking the pool, and facing the woods. Lovely and quiet. It had an innovative microwave/fridge combination cabinet, a wide-screen HD TV with 100's of channels, fantastic bedding with firm and soft pillows and a puffy white duvet, a comfy chair that had a big side table next to it as well as a full-size desk, plenty of electric outlets, fast and easy wifi, and a truly wonderful tub/shower enclosure. We had a great night's sleep. Breakfast had a nice selection of hot food options, yogurt, pastries, etc. The breakfast room was large with plenty of tables. This Holiday Inn Express is 15 years old and is next in line for a complete upgrade. But it's been beautifully maintained and is very comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: This is a quiet location. Rooms at the back overlook the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation. We strive hard to provide a quality product and wonderful service. I am glad that your stay met your expectations. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsville
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond Mechanicsville
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Glen Allen Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
6.5 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville

Address: 7441 Bell Creek Rd, Mechanicsville, VA 23111-3542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Mechanicsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mechanicsville
Price Range: $141 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express-Richmond, Mechanicsville, Virginia. We are centrally located off I-295 at exit 37A & Rt. 360E, just minutes away from the following businesses: Qubica AMF, Super Value, Carter Machinery, FedEx, Owens & Minor, Wal-Mart, Target, BJ'S, Hanover County Schools, Tysons Foods, Bon Secours Memorial Regional Hospital, Media General, Cox Transportation, County of Hanover the Show Place and many more. With the best corporate rates in the area, we have all you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Complimentary hot breakfast, wireless and wired high-speed Internet, in-room Keurig Machines, microwaves, and mini-fridges are just a few amenities offered. Attractions: King's Dominion, Three Lakes Nature Center & Aquarium, Maymont Park, Richmond National Battlefield Park, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, Science Museum of VA, Childrens' Museum of Richmond, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia Holocaust Museum, Richmond International Raceway - RIR - NASCAR, and Busch Gardens/Water Country. If shopping is your niche then you might enjoy visiting Virginia Center Commons Mall located only 10 miles north offering excellent choices to suit everyone's needs. Whether driving the beautiful Virginia highways or arriving by air at the Richmond International Airport, the best place to be is Holiday Inn Express Richmond-Mechanicsville Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville Hotel Mechanicsville
Holiday Inn Mechanicsville
Mechanicsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mechanicsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing