We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seatoller House
Nearby Hotels
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
Book now, pay at stay
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$199
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$229
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 05/26
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
135
17
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestslake districtdrying roomhome from homegroup of friendsfood is excellentdining roomevening mealthe managersout of this worldhonister passvery special placeprivate bathroomtea barwarm welcomerooms are comfortableroaring fire
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 152 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Having come back to stay at Seatoller House after a period of twenty years,we were pleased to find most things the same,like a time waft. David and Ann were the managers then,but we found Nigel and Trish very good hosts, the food was delicious. We have already booked to go again next year.
John Girdlestone

Room Tip: We have found that all the rooms that we occupied have been very pleasant and spacious,and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

As a lover of the Lake District, having being visiting and staying for 50 years we can highly recommend Seatoller House. The house is managed on behalf of The Lake Hunts, a man hunt organisation with strong links to a climbing club as well. As interested parties the nurturing and indeed, maintenance of Seatoller House is closely monitored. It is an ideal centre from which to walk the fells, to paint, bird watch etc. the valley 'bus service terminates at Seatoller and can be used to move up and down the valley and to visit Keswick, about 9 miles away. An occasional 'bus also does a circuit to include Buttermere which is useful. Food and accommodation is excellent, made more so by the unusual but welcome absence of television. Communal eating encourages conversation and we have met and maintained many friendships over the years. The local knowledge of the managers is also worth noting. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My daughter and I recently came here on our second visit. We were welcomed back as old friends by Nigel and Trish and they were incredibly helpful in preparing food for my daughters gluten free diet. We love the relaxed calm atmosphere, the chance to mix with fellow walkers and hear their tales. The rooms are comfortable and the quiet location helps give a great nights sleep. The food is delicious and plentiful, encouraging us to walk further to earn it! Looking forward to returning again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thegriffs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here on C2C. A long hard walk over from Ennerdale Bridge so Seatoller House was always a winner as the first B&B you come to after Honniston Slate Mine; however what we hadn't realised was just how good it would actually be.
Real house party atmosphere - thank you to everyone else staying there for welcoming us into your group. Good food and very well equipped for walkers.
We stayed in the Bakehouse - didn't smell of dog :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I almost feel like a traitor having stayed here for decades. But some petty rules have arrived. Apparently making up your own packed lunch on the kitchen table is now not allowed. Cake I had taken for my friends was frowed on and removed because the host may be liable if a guest became ill from eating it!. The tradditional Stlton left one night failed to appear the next and was substituted by rubber Brie straight from the fridge. Those staying in the lodge found it smelt of dog and the cleaning had left dog hairs on the bedding. Clothing smelt of dog when they returned home.
This was a most dissapointing visit. I doubt that we will be welcomed back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldkingkole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews