We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seatoller House
Nearby Hotels
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$196
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$215
$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
136
17
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestslake districtdrying roomhome from homegroup of friendsfood is excellentdining roomevening mealthe managersout of this worldhonister passvery special placeprivate bathroomtea barwarm welcomerooms are comfortableroaring fire
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 153 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I almost feel like a traitor having stayed here for decades. But some petty rules have arrived. Apparently making up your own packed lunch on the kitchen table is now not allowed. Cake I had taken for my friends was frowed on and removed because the host may be liable if a guest became ill from eating it!. The tradditional Stlton left one night failed to appear the next and was substituted by rubber Brie straight from the fridge. Those staying in the lodge found it smelt of dog and the cleaning had left dog hairs on the bedding. Clothing smelt of dog when they returned home.
This was a most dissapointing visit. I doubt that we will be welcomed back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldkingkole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently stayed at Seatoller House with a group of close friends for a long weekend. We all found the stay extremely enjoyable and will definitely do it all again.
Nigel and Trish always were very professional but at the same time being very friendly. Nothing was a problem, they always had time for a smile and a chat.
Nigel made a point of coming to check that everything was satisfactory and to ensure that we had everything we needed. Enjoyed his company.
The food was first class, can't compliment Trish enough on the quality of her cooking.
Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herminator1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigeljdixon, Manager at Seatoller House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, We very much hope to see you again soon at Seatoller House, Nigel & Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have spent several and different holidays with Nigel and Trish and we have loved it every time. The dinners are outstanding and the comany is always good, and Nigel and Tirrish go outof their way to accomodate everybody. We also celebrated a birthday there this year, and got a special dinner and a cake just for the occasion. Fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller5854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigeljdixon, Manager at Seatoller House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, We very much hope to see you again soon at Seatoller House, Nigel & Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am not sure why I bother leaving a comment, given that Seatoller House already has glowing reviews but here we go... I first came on a rambling weekend in June with a friend, while the second time in August was more leisurely, with my wife and children. On each occasion the house was full and we enjoyed everything that it has to offer: an unhurried and warm welcome by Nigel & Trish and Sean and Lucy, great food and company in the evenings, lovely bedrooms, the red squirrel, the list goes on... I cannot recommend the place enough and I hope to be back soon. Long may Nigel & Trish be in charge!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDP0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigeljdixon, Manager at Seatoller House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, We very much hope to see you again soon at Seatoller House, Nigel & Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I booked Seatoller for my husband's surprise 40th (we had stayed with family previously) and arranged for four other couples to meet us there for a 2 night stay. Nigel was extremely helpful in keeping our friends arrival a secret, sneaking them through the back door. I chose Seatoller so that we could switch off and relax in the company of friends without the distraction of our children, mobile phones, tv, etc. We were very lucky to have a weekend of glorious sunshine, so the walk from Seatoller to Keswick via The Grange and Catbells was very enjoyable. The food was amazing and there was plenty of it and we probably consumed far too much alcohol and then chatted noisily in the sitting room each evening but this was not a problem. All in all, an extremely enjoyable, relaxing weekend in a stunning location - just not long enough. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DaisyDuke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews