We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“If you can't find something fun to do....you're at the wrong resort.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Primland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Certificate of Excellence
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you can't find something fun to do....you're at the wrong resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We just returned and would highly recommend this resort for a special get away. We did ATV, Bourbon tasting, hiking and loved our 4 days here. This is not your average "hotel" We celebrated our anniversary here and will be back and next time we will be golfing. Food was superior and the views were incredible. Staff made you feel at home and always called you by name. I'm so glad that Mr. D. Primat had his vision.

Room Tip: Third floor is where we stayed and it was extremely quiet although I did not hear any noise whenever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    62
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
130
376
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our trip to Primland was very unique. We stayed in a fairway cottage and had a fantastic view. We did not play golf, but my husband and I drove our personal golf cart around it to take it all in. Beautiful!! Food and staff we amazing. If the trip/package was a little more affordable, I would recommend Primland to more of our friends!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Don't be fooled by the review tite. Primland is outstanding, incredible and beyond compare (at least based on other places I have stayed). But, make no mistake, for the fare you will be it should be exceptional.

Staff attentiveness is incredible. Rooms are superb in every way. No complaints at all about anything, save for maybe a bellman forgetting to bring some of our luggage. You will not be disappointed in your stay in any way.

Room Tip: There's no such thing as a bad room at Primland. All are outstanding. Must try one of the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmooreduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The most luxurious resort in the U.S. The staff made us feel very appreciated and were super friendly and accommodating!!! The atmosphere and the remoteness of this resort was quaint. I cannot wait to stay there again and participate in the horseback riding and ATV riding tour.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy52013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in one of the Fairway Cottages and were impressed by the beautiful bathroom and bedroom. We had so much room and there was a romantic fire (which was amazing on our second night when there was a huge thunderstorm). We dined in both restaurants and the food was good. The first night we took our drinks outside and sat in front of a big fire looking out over the meadows and ate smores with some other guests which was a nice touch. We had a very attentive man serving us even outside by the fire. We had a golf cart for use to and from the main lodge. We went kayaking one morning with an incredibly knowledgeable and attentive guide. Although the water wasn't high enough for us to go down stream, he still made the trip pleasant and interesting with lots of facts about the wildlife and local area. It was very peaceful. We also played Frisbee Golf which was a blast. The course is technical at times which is fun and it wasn't crowded. We took advantage of the pool and the hot tub; both were clean and well kept.The staff at this resort were friendly and helpful (they even filled up our car with petrol) There was obviously a lot of building going on so we are excited to see what happens in the years to come when we return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I hesitate writing a review of Primland because I would love for it to remain a secret, but the team at Primland deserve for everyone to know that their service is impeccable at every turn with a real sense of caring and concern. Food is absolutely amazing; if you have a chance to experience the Chef's Table, you are in for a wonderful evening. The spa is one of the best in the country. I could go on and on. Choose Primland and you will experience relaxation at its best.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful! You cannot possibly make a wrong choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCVisitor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Service and attention to detail by the staff was exceptional across all areas of Primland ... check-in/out, housekeeping, restaurants, spa, Orvis shop, 5 stand and sporting clays, acquatics/kayaking. No item or detail went unnoticed. Property and Lodge are some of the best in the South and beyond. My wife and I will become frequent visitors.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
19.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#8 of 8 in Hillsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
18.3 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 3 in Floyd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
13.5 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primland

Property: Primland
Address: 2000 Busted Rock Rd, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-4467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape There are many people at Primland with an abiding respect for the land, who know the sounds and smells of the forest so intimately, they will open your eyes to the simple pleasure of a mountain getaway at this refined East Coast vacation resort. They will show you the subtleties of nature and reacquaint you with the restorative powers of silence. Your server will remember just how you take your drink, your children's names and that you like a freshly baked cookie after lunch. You will sense the love your wilderness guide has for the mountain and all its creatures, and the depth of his expertise. You will always find a kind word, authentic humor and an open heart. It was the vision of Primland's founder, Didier Primat, to create a place of immense beauty that offers his guests a return to simple human pleasures in an environment of refined authenticity and sensuality. He developed Primland in an eco-conscious and thoughtful manner, as the ultimate retreat for world-class golf, refined dining and outdoor activities. Our love of the land is expressed in our extensive efforts to minimize our impact on nature, the freshness of our food, the many organic, sustainable ingredients we source locally or grow in our organic garden and the care with which we look after our guests. Didier Primat instilled his passion for Primland in every member of his family and staff , and they carry forward his legacy with soul, with heart and with a commitment to genuine hospitality. Art is an important part of the Primland experience. We consider hospitality to be an art that involves sharing emotion and pleasure through attention to even the most subtle detail. We also feel that surrounding you with inspired pieces of art enhances your experience. Throughout The Lodge, you will find hand-selected works by American artists as well as authentic and rare Aboriginal paintings from the most remote Australian territories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Primland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primland Hotel Meadows Of Dan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing