We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Primland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have traveled much of the world and spent a good portion of my life living in hotels - and this is easily one of the absolute best places I have ever stayed. It beats out Ritz Carlton easily. Gorgeous rooms, lovely spa, amazing grounds and activities. We were incredibly surprised to find that they'd added a vegan option to the menu for the weekend (we were prepared to just "make a request" of the chef, but he had actually added an item to the menu for our weekend). Although it may be expensive for the area, I would say it is underpriced based on my experience at other luxury hotels. The Bvlgari bathroom items were also lovely. It was quiet and there were not a ton of guests, which was perfect for us.

Room Tip: The Lodge rooms/suites are fantastic. On the website they seem "nice" but they were just b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMonkey41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    67
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
133
396
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Coming from Washington, DC was a hike and the roads were a bit dicey due to weather. Traveling for the 1st time to Primland based on the Travel and Leisure recommendation and it did not disappoint! Service is top notch - food is amazing and worth every penny. I adored the spa and the indian rituals sprinkled throughout the visit really made the experience quite memorable. Unfortunately the observatory and steam room weren't operational which was a bummer but everything else was a 5 star trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lshargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We wanted a spa/hotel experience for one night to celebrate my wife's birthday. Both the staff and the property exceeded our expectations. The Fairway cottage was cozy and well-appointed. We started our stay with a couples massage in the Unity room. Then simply enjoyed the property and natural beauty that surrounded us. Had dinner at Elements, and felt very well cared for.

The golf cart that is provided at each Fairway cottage was a nice touch. The staff was professional, yet very down-to-earth. My wife was so impressed that most of the staff knew it was her birthday (even the housekeeping staffperson!) This is a unique and exceptional property.

We look forward to returning to enjoy more of this gem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitetop, Virginia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been going to Primland since it's opening in 2009. My husband saw it in Garden and Gun magazine and booked our anniversary trip in the Lodge. Since then we have stayed in a cabin on property three times and returned to the Lodge again this past weekend. WE LOVE THIS PLACE and can't say enough great things about it. Let's start with the most courteous and attentive staff. Many of them have been there since the opening and always remember us. Then there are the accommodations. You can tell that the owners are European as everything has the European touch - outstanding linens; spacious, very well appointed rooms; and every amenity you could need within your room. The Elements restaurant AND the 19th Hole Pub serve fabulous food. and drink and the wine list is unmatched. Then there are all the activities: wing shooting, sporting clays, 4-wheelers, fly fishing, horseback riding, golf, and the list continues. Once we found Primland, we have kept it high on our places to revisit and will go back again soon!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room! For an off the chart experience, select the Pinnacle Suite which is locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VASusie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My family and I drove from Toronto, stopping in the usual traps.

We spent some time at The Homestead resort in W Virginia, which was overpriced and over rated.

We drove on to Primland, and I was shocked by the natural beauty and authentic feel of the expansive property. We stayed in a chalet type cottage, and it was incredible!

It was also way to cheap for what we were getting, but NO complaints!
The staff were so courteous and accommodating.

The waitstaff babysat our kids, stuffing them with s'mores while we soaked in the hot tub.

They have an amazing observatory, the real deal, and an astronomer lectured while pointing out constellations on the monitors and then the real thing with his powerful laser pointer.

He even emailed certificates to my kids, who ate up the presentation (8 and 10 year old boys).

We spent 4 days hiking, riding Gators, fishing but my favourite thing of all was the expertly instructed sporting clays lesson with an instructor who even took the time to teach my son to shoot the small rifle they provided.

Safety is obviously their highest priority, and it was so well run...so smooth...

We are planning our summer 2014 visit now, but this time, we are going straight to Primland to maximize our time there.

Great food, staff, grounds, accommodation and activities.

I want to move in for good!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jfarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Primland is in the middle of nowhere, but offers plenty of luxury and adventure. Tip #1 – plan 5-7 days to enjoy the different offerings and the scenery, and to relax. Just the time it takes most folks to get there, is half to a full days’ travel.

Tip #2 – rent one of the fairway cottages or lodges. While we didn’t see the rooms in the main lodge, and from other TA photos, they look great – but you’ll have more privacy and space for the money. In addition, you’ll have your own food & supplies (highly recommended, based on our eating experience there), and you’ll still feel spoiled by the luxurious surroundings. There are miles of unspoiled woods for biking, walking, horseback, and lovely views and wildlife (deer were grooming the greens the first afternoon we were there, and we saw turkeys on the way back from ATVing).

My guy and I came here early January to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. We only stayed 2 nights, wish we would’ve had time to stay longer. We stayed in Woodpecker West (see photos), which has the most direct view of the main lodge from its back porch. The two other fairway cottages are also wonderful, each can be rented as a half or full cottage. WPWest is also closest to the putting green and what appeared to be another building one could rent for parties, grilling (gas grill there), picnics, etc. Each side comes with its own golf cart, which one can drive on somewhat rutted out lanes to the main lodge. And because of the 6 golf carts, parking is somewhat limited next to the cottages (one spot per side). You may or may not hear your neighbors….depending on how boisterous they are.

If you rent WPWest, here are some additional tips: the fridge is small, and does have a small freezer that is taken up by the icemaker. They have a Keurig coffee maker, so if you want your own brew, you’ll need a standard maker. They didn’t have much selection for the Keurig, and had two tiny coffee cups and two tiny teaspoons for stirring. My guy drank the regular coffee and the hot chocolate, and said it was “OK”. Nice big gas stove, but limited kitchen supplies (no frying pan for eggs, no martini glasses, only wine and water, e.g.). Microwave and DW but no oven. They have a “snack” tray and drink options, but beware the price tag: $40-50 for a 375mL bottle of wine, $8/beer, and just as ridiculous prices for basic snacks. As I said, bring your own. Nearest town to the east is Stuart, and it does have a Walmart.

WPWest has a lovely open floor plan, comfortable, stylish furniture and amazing loft . There were drafts from the windows (and it was COLD while we were there), the Bluetooth didn’t work for the TV upstairs (pulsed and came in and out for sound and even picture, which may have been due to the weather (it’s satellite of course) but we’re not sure if it was transmitter, etc.. TV upstairs is small and is hidden in a cabinet, has a remote to pull it up). Small-ish closet but nice sitting/dressing area. Upstairs bath floor is heated, and there are his and her sinks, lighted make-up mirror, robes and slippers, separate toilet and shower. The mirror lighting is rather dim. The shower had one tiny holder for shampoo and soaps. It would’ve been nice if they’d put even a removable bench in there, and additional tray and a shower head that one could use hand-held or not. Bed is comfy (down pillows), and there’s a dual-heat system. They leave pieces of fudge by the bed each night. We tried these one night and while they looked yummy, were totally awful. Super sweet and no flavor whatever. As many have noted, cell service is quite spotty. We didn’t try the free WiFi.

The activities we were able to enjoy included the skywalk and tour of the universe. The night was clear and WAY too cold to be out, yet out we went for about 15 minutes (unless you were more appropriately dressed than we were…..we’d just come from dinner at Elements). Then upstairs to the silo. The silo is not heated, and the blankets offered were much appreciated. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun. We didn’t get to look out through the telescope because the roof had frozen. We were comp’d part of the price as a result.

The next day was sunny and the wind had died down so we tried our hand at the clays and ATV tour. Vince was patient and fun, and we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Vince and Alex were our ATV guides, and gave us the full 2/5+ hours’ tour despite a late start. I’d never been on an ATV before and you get practice, then they step you into easy up to more difficult courses, up and down the mountains. My only concern was I would lose track of the two in front (one guide and another experienced driving guest), then go around a turn and wonder which direction to go next. Fortunately, I seemed to pick the right trail each time. My guy and I had a BLAST and despite being totally frozen 5 minutes in (a nice guest offered me extra hand covers, which saved me. Come prepared to be cold and dirty and wet).

OK, eating options. We ate at Elements the first night. It’s attractive and service is wonderful. Everything is totally overpriced and menu is limited. Some of the menu items were tasty, some not so much. Separate review for this and their casual eatery.

Because we didn’t get too excited about Elements, the second night we planned to go to the 19th Pub/Stables restaurant on the other side of the lodge. However, the previous night, one of the water mains broke and flooded the empty guest room above (sprinkler line), as a result closed the 19th Pub (interestingly, one staff member said it had never happened and another said it happened every year .Glad we weren’t in the main lodge, as it had to be evacuated in the middle of that super-cold night). Anyway, they offered the dinner menu to guest who wanted this instead of Elements, and put us into a private party room behind Elements. This room was dull; paneled walls with no art; windows (no view at night, really) and a weird set-up. And you could easily hear anyone else in the room speaking even at low levels.

We’d had drinks in the pub the first night before dinner, and it was as if the “A” team had been let go after the holidays, and the “C” team was on hand. The girl at the bar had no idea how to make a Cosmo, and the fellow that came in appeared to be reading a recipe. They were out of Cointreau, and had to use triple sec. Drinks for the price, quite small. The second night we ordered Cosmos with our dinner, and my guy said his was good but mine tasted like they’d substituted Absolut for the Grey Goose (different bar tender that night). Because our other drinks weren’t all that grand, I thought maybe it was just me, but my guy tried it later and agreed it didn’t taste right. With all the “bar drama”, they didn’t bring us matching glasses. I guess most folks spend their time opting for the free wine between 5 and 7 pm (we didn’t like the choices offered, so passed on that both nights).

On the way out, don’t forget to take a few minutes to stop by Lover’s Leap Bird Houses, even just to talk to the owner. Fun.

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and service is in general quite good, and the folks are friendly and want to make things right for you.; they just need to improve the pricing or value, particularly for the food and drinks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burgie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Best place to stay, to rest ,to enjoy the outdoors and the chef's table it's fantastic! Highly recommend wish I could be there all the time. Have not yet tried the riding stables so more to look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 817SVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
18.9 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
9.1 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primland

Property: Primland
Address: 2000 Busted Rock Rd, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-4467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Primland 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape There are many people at Primland with an abiding respect for the land, who know the sounds and smells of the forest so intimately, they will open your eyes to the simple pleasure of a mountain getaway at this refined East Coast vacation resort. They will show you the subtleties of nature and reacquaint you with the restorative powers of silence. Your server will remember just how you take your drink, your children's names and that you like a freshly baked cookie after lunch. You will sense the love your wilderness guide has for the mountain and all its creatures, and the depth of his expertise. You will always find a kind word, authentic humor and an open heart. It was the vision of Primland's founder, Didier Primat, to create a place of immense beauty that offers his guests a return to simple human pleasures in an environment of refined authenticity and sensuality. He developed Primland in an eco-conscious and thoughtful manner, as the ultimate retreat for world-class golf, refined dining and outdoor activities. Our love of the land is expressed in our extensive efforts to minimize our impact on nature, the freshness of our food, the many organic, sustainable ingredients we source locally or grow in our organic garden and the care with which we look after our guests. Didier Primat instilled his passion for Primland in every member of his family and staff , and they carry forward his legacy with soul, with heart and with a commitment to genuine hospitality. Art is an important part of the Primland experience. We consider hospitality to be an art that involves sharing emotion and pleasure through attention to even the most subtle detail. We also feel that surrounding you with inspired pieces of art enhances your experience. Throughout The Lodge, you will find hand-selected works by American artists as well as authentic and rare Aboriginal paintings from the most remote Australian territories. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primland Hotel Meadows Of Dan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing