We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Visits and Counting”
Review of Primland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Primland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Certificate of Excellence
Whitetop, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Five Visits and Counting”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been going to Primland since it's opening in 2009. My husband saw it in Garden and Gun magazine and booked our anniversary trip in the Lodge. Since then we have stayed in a cabin on property three times and returned to the Lodge again this past weekend. WE LOVE THIS PLACE and can't say enough great things about it. Let's start with the most courteous and attentive staff. Many of them have been there since the opening and always remember us. Then there are the accommodations. You can tell that the owners are European as everything has the European touch - outstanding linens; spacious, very well appointed rooms; and every amenity you could need within your room. The Elements restaurant AND the 19th Hole Pub serve fabulous food. and drink and the wine list is unmatched. Then there are all the activities: wing shooting, sporting clays, 4-wheelers, fly fishing, horseback riding, golf, and the list continues. Once we found Primland, we have kept it high on our places to revisit and will go back again soon!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room! For an off the chart experience, select the Pinnacle Suite which is locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VASusie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    69
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
139
407
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My family and I drove from Toronto, stopping in the usual traps.

We spent some time at The Homestead resort in W Virginia, which was overpriced and over rated.

We drove on to Primland, and I was shocked by the natural beauty and authentic feel of the expansive property. We stayed in a chalet type cottage, and it was incredible!

It was also way to cheap for what we were getting, but NO complaints!
The staff were so courteous and accommodating.

The waitstaff babysat our kids, stuffing them with s'mores while we soaked in the hot tub.

They have an amazing observatory, the real deal, and an astronomer lectured while pointing out constellations on the monitors and then the real thing with his powerful laser pointer.

He even emailed certificates to my kids, who ate up the presentation (8 and 10 year old boys).

We spent 4 days hiking, riding Gators, fishing but my favourite thing of all was the expertly instructed sporting clays lesson with an instructor who even took the time to teach my son to shoot the small rifle they provided.

Safety is obviously their highest priority, and it was so well run...so smooth...

We are planning our summer 2014 visit now, but this time, we are going straight to Primland to maximize our time there.

Great food, staff, grounds, accommodation and activities.

I want to move in for good!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jfarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Primland is in the middle of nowhere, but offers plenty of luxury and adventure. Tip #1 – plan 5-7 days to enjoy the different offerings and the scenery, and to relax. Just the time it takes most folks to get there, is half to a full days’ travel.

Tip #2 – rent one of the fairway cottages or lodges. While we didn’t see the rooms in the main lodge, and from other TA photos, they look great – but you’ll have more privacy and space for the money. In addition, you’ll have your own food & supplies (highly recommended, based on our eating experience there), and you’ll still feel spoiled by the luxurious surroundings. There are miles of unspoiled woods for biking, walking, horseback, and lovely views and wildlife (deer were grooming the greens the first afternoon we were there, and we saw turkeys on the way back from ATVing).

My guy and I came here early January to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. We only stayed 2 nights, wish we would’ve had time to stay longer. We stayed in Woodpecker West (see photos), which has the most direct view of the main lodge from its back porch. The two other fairway cottages are also wonderful, each can be rented as a half or full cottage. WPWest is also closest to the putting green and what appeared to be another building one could rent for parties, grilling (gas grill there), picnics, etc. Each side comes with its own golf cart, which one can drive on somewhat rutted out lanes to the main lodge. And because of the 6 golf carts, parking is somewhat limited next to the cottages (one spot per side). You may or may not hear your neighbors….depending on how boisterous they are.

If you rent WPWest, here are some additional tips: the fridge is small, and does have a small freezer that is taken up by the icemaker. They have a Keurig coffee maker, so if you want your own brew, you’ll need a standard maker. They didn’t have much selection for the Keurig, and had two tiny coffee cups and two tiny teaspoons for stirring. My guy drank the regular coffee and the hot chocolate, and said it was “OK”. Nice big gas stove, but limited kitchen supplies (no frying pan for eggs, no martini glasses, only wine and water, e.g.). Microwave and DW but no oven. They have a “snack” tray and drink options, but beware the price tag: $40-50 for a 375mL bottle of wine, $8/beer, and just as ridiculous prices for basic snacks. As I said, bring your own. Nearest town to the east is Stuart, and it does have a Walmart.

WPWest has a lovely open floor plan, comfortable, stylish furniture and amazing loft . There were drafts from the windows (and it was COLD while we were there), the Bluetooth didn’t work for the TV upstairs (pulsed and came in and out for sound and even picture, which may have been due to the weather (it’s satellite of course) but we’re not sure if it was transmitter, etc.. TV upstairs is small and is hidden in a cabinet, has a remote to pull it up). Small-ish closet but nice sitting/dressing area. Upstairs bath floor is heated, and there are his and her sinks, lighted make-up mirror, robes and slippers, separate toilet and shower. The mirror lighting is rather dim. The shower had one tiny holder for shampoo and soaps. It would’ve been nice if they’d put even a removable bench in there, and additional tray and a shower head that one could use hand-held or not. Bed is comfy (down pillows), and there’s a dual-heat system. They leave pieces of fudge by the bed each night. We tried these one night and while they looked yummy, were totally awful. Super sweet and no flavor whatever. As many have noted, cell service is quite spotty. We didn’t try the free WiFi.

The activities we were able to enjoy included the skywalk and tour of the universe. The night was clear and WAY too cold to be out, yet out we went for about 15 minutes (unless you were more appropriately dressed than we were…..we’d just come from dinner at Elements). Then upstairs to the silo. The silo is not heated, and the blankets offered were much appreciated. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun. We didn’t get to look out through the telescope because the roof had frozen. We were comp’d part of the price as a result.

The next day was sunny and the wind had died down so we tried our hand at the clays and ATV tour. Vince was patient and fun, and we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Vince and Alex were our ATV guides, and gave us the full 2/5+ hours’ tour despite a late start. I’d never been on an ATV before and you get practice, then they step you into easy up to more difficult courses, up and down the mountains. My only concern was I would lose track of the two in front (one guide and another experienced driving guest), then go around a turn and wonder which direction to go next. Fortunately, I seemed to pick the right trail each time. My guy and I had a BLAST and despite being totally frozen 5 minutes in (a nice guest offered me extra hand covers, which saved me. Come prepared to be cold and dirty and wet).

OK, eating options. We ate at Elements the first night. It’s attractive and service is wonderful. Everything is totally overpriced and menu is limited. Some of the menu items were tasty, some not so much. Separate review for this and their casual eatery.

Because we didn’t get too excited about Elements, the second night we planned to go to the 19th Pub/Stables restaurant on the other side of the lodge. However, the previous night, one of the water mains broke and flooded the empty guest room above (sprinkler line), as a result closed the 19th Pub (interestingly, one staff member said it had never happened and another said it happened every year .Glad we weren’t in the main lodge, as it had to be evacuated in the middle of that super-cold night). Anyway, they offered the dinner menu to guest who wanted this instead of Elements, and put us into a private party room behind Elements. This room was dull; paneled walls with no art; windows (no view at night, really) and a weird set-up. And you could easily hear anyone else in the room speaking even at low levels.

We’d had drinks in the pub the first night before dinner, and it was as if the “A” team had been let go after the holidays, and the “C” team was on hand. The girl at the bar had no idea how to make a Cosmo, and the fellow that came in appeared to be reading a recipe. They were out of Cointreau, and had to use triple sec. Drinks for the price, quite small. The second night we ordered Cosmos with our dinner, and my guy said his was good but mine tasted like they’d substituted Absolut for the Grey Goose (different bar tender that night). Because our other drinks weren’t all that grand, I thought maybe it was just me, but my guy tried it later and agreed it didn’t taste right. With all the “bar drama”, they didn’t bring us matching glasses. I guess most folks spend their time opting for the free wine between 5 and 7 pm (we didn’t like the choices offered, so passed on that both nights).

On the way out, don’t forget to take a few minutes to stop by Lover’s Leap Bird Houses, even just to talk to the owner. Fun.

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and service is in general quite good, and the folks are friendly and want to make things right for you.; they just need to improve the pricing or value, particularly for the food and drinks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burgie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Best place to stay, to rest ,to enjoy the outdoors and the chef's table it's fantastic! Highly recommend wish I could be there all the time. Have not yet tried the riding stables so more to look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 817SVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Beautiful mountain property with everything we like to do...spa, golf, horseback, pheasant hunting, sporting clays, star observatory, hiking, s'mores by the fire, extensive wine list, fabulous food, theater on each floor. If you appreciate higher-end experiences, add this to your list.

Room Tip: Suites are roomy, with 2 full bathrooms, large balcony with lounge and table seating, but overlook t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

What a beautiful setting for spending time with family and loved ones. We loved the ability to commune with nature while being pampered. The staff was attentive, informative and very helpful and the activities were so much fun.

Room Tip: We stayed at the quail mountain lodge which has awesome views and was only about 5 minute drive to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summercove7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEVELAND
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Where do I began! ...Hubby and I were celebrating our 11th Anniversary. (Yaaay us lol) 1st and foremost ....If your afraid of heights... This may not be the place for you lol. This place is at the tip top of a mountain. While driving up my ears started to pop like I was on a airplane okay! But if you can endure that once you get to the top...It's worth every mile it took you to get to the main house. The view can't be compared to anything else...you have to be there to experience it. AMAZING!!!!!! The staff must be paid extra money based on how professional and Kind they are.. I'm convinced. The property is huge!!!! (example: once you arrive at the gate, the main house is 8 miles up the hill!!!! Need I say anything else???) The Pool and Jacuzzi is top notch! They have a game room and a movie room so pack your video games or favorite movies and pop them in...Don't worry if you forget because they have some games and movies complimentary at the front desk. The view from every room is amazing! The lighting system in the room is extremly modern to set the perfect mood. *Elements restaurant is EXTREMELY OVER PRICED!!! BEWARE! and the food is over-rated! Order to your room ..saves money and taste better and The staff sets everything up for you! All in all This place is a must visit on your bucket list TRUST ME!!!! Very romantic yet still great place for families

Room Tip: Room 11 Great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOSHEM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
18.9 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
49 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
702 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
13.5 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
184 reviews
9.8 mi away
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
#1 of 1 in Ararat
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primland

Property: Primland
Address: 2000 Busted Rock Rd, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-4467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Primland 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape There are many people at Primland with an abiding respect for the land, who know the sounds and smells of the forest so intimately, they will open your eyes to the simple pleasure of a mountain getaway at this refined East Coast vacation resort. They will show you the subtleties of nature and reacquaint you with the restorative powers of silence. Your server will remember just how you take your drink, your children's names and that you like a freshly baked cookie after lunch. You will sense the love your wilderness guide has for the mountain and all its creatures, and the depth of his expertise. You will always find a kind word, authentic humor and an open heart. It was the vision of Primland's founder, Didier Primat, to create a place of immense beauty that offers his guests a return to simple human pleasures in an environment of refined authenticity and sensuality. He developed Primland in an eco-conscious and thoughtful manner, as the ultimate retreat for world-class golf, refined dining and outdoor activities. Our love of the land is expressed in our extensive efforts to minimize our impact on nature, the freshness of our food, the many organic, sustainable ingredients we source locally or grow in our organic garden and the care with which we look after our guests. Didier Primat instilled his passion for Primland in every member of his family and staff , and they carry forward his legacy with soul, with heart and with a commitment to genuine hospitality. Art is an important part of the Primland experience. We consider hospitality to be an art that involves sharing emotion and pleasure through attention to even the most subtle detail. We also feel that surrounding you with inspired pieces of art enhances your experience. Throughout The Lodge, you will find hand-selected works by American artists as well as authentic and rare Aboriginal paintings from the most remote Australian territories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Preferred Hotels so you can book your Primland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primland Hotel Meadows Of Dan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing