We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Golf Course!!!!”
Review of Primland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Primland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We visited Primland this summer, and I must say this is the most perfect golf course we've ever played on. Bent grass f/ tee to green....wow!

B/c we live so close we did not overnight there, but after playing golf there and see how great the hospitality is, we've decided we'll visit again and stay in a fairway cottage so we can overlook that georgeous golf course. The views are stunning! Our plans are to book a golf & spa pkg.

We toured the lodge and it is very high quality; loved it! If you're looking for a very serene atmosphere, then, this is the place. If you love golf, like we do, then this is the place.

Before we went, we thought the golf was a bit over priced, but after playing, we thought it was a bargain!

If you go, it is indeed isolated, so plan for not driving down the street to a different resturant, b/c this is about as isolated as it gets. At least, this has been our experience, and we LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Prepare for isolaion! It's as good as it gets!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bkaymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Primland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 720 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

Primland was nice, but might not be enough to encourage a return trip. It's a place where there are many advantages - but some disadvantages. We loved the isolation, set in rural Virginia, and then down a 6 mile road to the main building. The main hotel, where we stayed, is situated in a less-than-optimal location. You look out the windows and all you see are golf greens, with the mountains in the distance. If you walk past the golf course, the glory of the mountainous region opens up and is just spectacular. In other words, the view from the property was not that great. The building would have been great if it had been situated near the side of the mountain. I dreamed of being able to sit on a porch and look out over the mountains. Instead, I looked out over the golf course. That might appeal to some people, just not us.

Service was average. In fact, we didn't see that many staff (or visitors). This seems like the type of property where just a little more attention would make it so much better. For instance, we were escorted to our room and given a tour of the room. However, the young man didn't tell us about a number of facilities we found on our own by exploring (examples - the indoor pool, exercise room, spa, library).

There are two restaurants. This was a casual last minute trip for us, so we carried casual clothing. Meaning, my husband didn't have a coat for the restaurant. Only one table was occupied. When we asked about eating (without a coat), they said coats were really encouraged. He was dressed in khaki's and button down shirt. Oh, well - we went to the more casual restaurant (part of the bar). Food was great. Service was not. We waited about 45 minutes for our meal. And, we were the only customers.

Rooms were extremely comfortable and well furnished. The only downside to the room is we were on top floor and windows were dormer-type. This limited the view (which wasn't bad, because all you could see was the golf course) but made the room somewhat dark.

We had one interaction with housekeeping staff - they were wonderful and most helpful!

In all, an OK stay. I was hoping to be "wowed" and to have found a gem in the mountains. I hate that Primland fell a bit short, at least to us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wintersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed three nights at Primland Resort in the middle of September 2011 as part of a trip to the Southeast. This is a gorgeous resort just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. The property encompasses 12,000 acres and the main lodge only has about 26 rooms/suites. We had a beautiful, over the top Mountain suite on the second floor with stunning views of the golf course and mountains. There is a state-of-the-art spa on the lower level along with a huge game room and fitness center. The indoor pool is also beautiful. Part of Primland, at the main lodge, is a space observatory. The observatory offers programs each evening for guests during which time you can view the stars with their also state-of-the-art telescope. Be aware that from late August until early November heavy fog settles onto the top of the mountain where the resort
sits and although the fog is spectacular it does put a damper of outdoor activities. However, the idea of Primland is to relax and that is easy to do. The ratio of staff to guests is about 2 to 1 so you will not want for anything. The entire resort has been designed to be environmentally friendly with recycled and renewable products used throughout the building design. It's decor can be described as elegant contemporary. This is certainly a five star resort with first class bedding and in-room products by L'Occitane. They also offer Mountain Homes for rent and these would make a lovely choice for a family or a group of friends although they are far enough away from the main lodge that you would need to drive the two or three miles up the private resort road to reach the lodge. Primland offers an impressive level of service and I'd recommend it for anyone wanting a gorgeous mountain retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Britishcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Over the 4th of July, my friends and their two sons and I stayed at the woodchuck mountain home. While both the homes and rooms were sold out, we received an impressive level of service throughout the weekend. The house had an amazing view and was well decorated and well appointed (we especially appreciated the beer glasses in the freezer).

We did many activities including golfing, horseback riding, spa visits and stargazing. We felt the Tour of the Universe was well worth the $75 per person cost. There were a number of free, fun additions to weekend like the ice cream social, talk on flint making, and minigolf tournament. While the dining room is not inexpensive, we enjoyed both evenings finding the food and wine list to be quite good, although the service was a bit too leisurely causing us to cancel our stargazing on one evening.

The staff was excellent and we will return.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank KiminCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Took advantage of a getaway special and had a wonderful 3 day weekend in a luxurious Mountain Suite. If you golf you have to come play this course - challenging without being too tough and the views were breathtaking. The spa and pool were delightful - even though they were fully booked, they way they moved you thru the spa you felt like you were the only person there - nicely done. Booked a fly fishing guide for the day and the man had the patience of Job - I've never flyfished in my life but the husband loves it. A really fun adventure. We splurged for the Tour of the Universe at the observatory and must say it was one of the most educational things we've done as a couple - and it was really fun - just us and their enthusiastic resident astronomer for almost 2 hours.

So, great getaway price, over the top comfortable suite, great golf, spa, fly-fishing and the unique option of stargazing. The only hitch in the whole package has to be the food and food service. The staff is the warmest, friendliest group you'll ever be served by and they truly want to make everything just right. The food at the Lodge was beautifully prepared and plated and the wine list had some depth. But to take this resort to the next level - and for the investment it should be taken to the next level - they need to focus some resources (time and management) on food and wine service. Limited dinner menu that really couldn't support eating from it for three nights. The stable saloon was a bust for us - and would someone please tell me why the wait staff wouldn't leave the bottle of wine on your table unless you directed them to??

All in all, a great staff that, with a little training, oversight and encouragement, could turn a nice meal into a memorable one. The female bartender was one of the best I've encountered - creative and couldn't be stumped on how to make cocktails.

We'll be back because it truly is a wonderful romantic getaway that's an easy drive away - just would love to see them take the food to the next level.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lakemurrayscfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My wife and I were visiting to look at Primland for a gathering of a small group of clients. Primland had been recommended by a good friend who lives an hour away. We had not heard of it until recently and it isn't listed as a AAA or Forbes 5 Star yet. However, after a two night visit, we think that honor will be bestowed soon. Primland has strong legs for being only 4 years old, built we were told by a wealthy European family who fell in love with the mountains.

The service from professional, yet enthusiastic, staff, fine bedding, great views and temperature (consistently 10 degree cooler temps than most of the southeast) made it a fine trip. The architecture, challenging golf and excellent spa put it in the top elite category of US hotels in our asssessment. It even has a world class observatory, shooting sports, horses and fly fishing in a scenic river. Part of the original Appalachian Trail is on the property.

We had been hesitant to visit because of concerns over dining. However, every meal we had was of gourmet quality as the Chef studied at Greenbrier and Inn at Little Washington. In Elements dining room, the food was creative, presentation superb and the dining experience was the best we have ever had in any mountain resort, including top rated Sun Valley, Idaho, and Deer Valley, Utah. Prices were comparable to what other top resorts charge but service was among the best.

In short, we think this is a 5 Star Resort and in the same category of Cloisters, Four Seasons Palm Beach, Greenbrier and Inn at Palmetto Bluff. Its prices are very similar, though there are packages that make it more comfortable. Rooms in the 26 room lodge are of 3 varieties of size and it appeared that all have 100 mile views of the NC or VA mountains. The decor, including baths, is as good as its gets with top notch bedding, furniture and L'Occitane amenities. There are also a selection of "mountain" homes that are part of the 12,000 acre compound, including a one king bedroom luxury "tree house" we saw that overlooks a cliff on the golf course.

The only negative is that it is miles away from everything. Mt. Airy NC is 30 minutes away and Martinsville, VA an hour, but from Raleigh or Greensboro NC only 90 minutes.

We would recommend to friends, family and clients.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Four couples shared two houses at Primland for a weekend in July,2011. First the good news. The property is very beautiful an the public areas of the Lodge are stunning. We played golf ; the course is extremely well maintained and very attractive. We used the spa services; the Spa infrastucture is top notch and each of us who had a treatment was very impressed. How could so many positives turn to the negative? Well, it has to do with the details---unfortunately, too many of them. I will preface the listing of problems with a caveat----the following items could each individually be overlooked; however, when you are paying top dollar for a high end experience (think Ritz Carlton), the number of mistakes tends to wear you out. We arrived two hours early and were told at reception that it was OK to leave some perishable food items at the house along with our bags even though the cleaners were just about to clean one of the the houses Well, reception did not tell the cleaners, so they skipped over that house by mistake which led to a four hour delay. We were told at the lodge that it was our mistake as we should not have left anything at the house---even though another staff member had advised earlier to go ahead and do so. We were advised by phone when the reservations were made that we would have golf carts at the houses so that the couples could visit each other between houses----none was provided until we had to ask three times. There were four adults in each three bedroom house, but only two bathrobes were provided---a bit awkward when the baths are not all ensuite. One member of our party phoned in advance of our stay to make an appointment for the pilates class as advertised---nobody ever called her back. Another of our party called in advance to schedule the as advertised nature walk for a Sun moning. Having not gotten a resonse, she tried two more time and gave up. Low and behold, we received a call on Sunday morning when some of us were in bed telling us that our guide was at the Lodge waiting. Needless to say we had to cancel as we thought nothing was ever scheduled. Four out of eight of us signed up for the golf package ---which included one dinner and one breakfast for four. Without disclosing the difference, resort management set up all eight of us for dinner at their "saloon" rather than their main, atmospheric restaurant at the Lodge. We were determined to have a good time so we had drinks and dinner, and at least two $100 bottles of wine in an atmosphere looked more like a college dining room---not exacly good value. Finally, when I mentioned to my wife on check-out that at least the golf facility was first class, my golf clubs were given back to me caked withy dirt and I had to carry the clubs to the car----again, not that big a deal in many places, but my very high expectations of Primland left me disappointed. I could go on with some other minor disappointments but I have already been too lenghty. In closing, I will say this on the positive side. With only one exception, I thought the staff at Primland was very warm and friendly. They clearly have the right intent and the right attitude. I have to chalk up the disappointment to poor systems, perhaps training and supervision? Who knows.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank boydmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbouvier, General Manager at Primland, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear Guest

Unfortunately, when people travel as a small group of 4 couples, it is sometimes difficult to ensure that expectations are not missed and that information is fully shared and communicated to all parties. Although our Mountain Homes, like the one you booked, are charming with extraordinary views they are not at the same standard as our Lodge rooms, which are more of a “think Ritz Carlton” product at more of a luxury price point. It is always our goal to meet or exceed our guest’s expectations and we sincerely regret any misinformation that may have been communicated within your group.

Security reports that your party was greeted at the gate at 12:45 pm, over 3 hours previous to our published check in time of 4 pm. At that time you were asked to proceed to the Lodge and enjoy the facilities while you waited. At 1:30 pm we received a call from your cottage stating that the phones were not working. (For control purposes, in-room phones are not activated until a guest is checked in.) And it was then that we were made aware that because your vehicles were in the driveway of the unit our housekeeping team assumed the house was occupied and not available for cleaning. They moved on to an available unit. And, due to this confusion your cottage was not fully clean until 5:30 that evening, a 90 minute delay from our standard of 4pm.

It is our policy not to allow club cars on the roads at Primland and our reservations agents make this known anytime one is requested. The unit you occupied is at least 3 miles from the Lodge and driving on that road in a club car is not advisable. These carts are only available for guest use with the rental of one of our Fairway Cottages and none other. Your party was so upset about the lack of availability of a golf cart that our manager made an exception and had carts delivered to your units, at no charge.

The Stables Saloon is our casual dining venue focusing on local flavor and products. While we never assume to make automatic dining reservations for any guests, we are sorry that the restaurant did not suit your dining needs that evening. We also apologize for the lack of follow through you experienced with your pilates and hiking appointments is unacceptable and does not meet our standard at Primland and we sincerely apologize for this inefficiency.

At Primland, we take our guest's satisfaction very seriously and no matter what the source of concern, we will immediately attempt to recover the experience for the guest. It is unfortunate that you did not bring these items to our attention while you were here so we could have the opportunity to better accomodate you. Once again, please accept our apologies for your disappointment.

Sincerely,

Mara Bouvier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
18.9 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
51 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
752 reviews
19.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
491 reviews
9.1 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
13.7 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primland

Address: 2000 Busted Rock Rd, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-4467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range: $282 - $886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Primland 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape There are many people at Primland with an abiding respect for the land, who know the sounds and smells of the forest so intimately, they will open your eyes to the simple pleasure of a mountain getaway at this refined East Coast vacation resort. They will show you the subtleties of nature and reacquaint you with the restorative powers of silence. Your server will remember just how you take your drink, your children's names and that you like a freshly baked cookie after lunch. You will sense the love your wilderness guide has for the mountain and all its creatures, and the depth of his expertise. You will always find a kind word, authentic humor and an open heart. It was the vision of Primland's founder, Didier Primat, to create a place of immense beauty that offers his guests a return to simple human pleasures in an environment of refined authenticity and sensuality. He developed Primland in an eco-conscious and thoughtful manner, as the ultimate retreat for world-class golf, refined dining and outdoor activities. Our love of the land is expressed in our extensive efforts to minimize our impact on nature, the freshness of our food, the many organic, sustainable ingredients we source locally or grow in our organic garden and the care with which we look after our guests. Didier Primat instilled his passion for Primland in every member of his family and staff , and they carry forward his legacy with soul, with heart and with a commitment to genuine hospitality. Art is an important part of the Primland experience. We consider hospitality to be an art that involves sharing emotion and pleasure through attention to even the most subtle detail. We also feel that surrounding you with inspired pieces of art enhances your experience. Throughout The Lodge, you will find hand-selected works by American artists as well as authentic and rare Aboriginal paintings from the most remote Australian territories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Primland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primland Hotel Meadows Of Dan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing