We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxing”
Review of Woodberry Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Meadows of Dan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodberry Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night during a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Stayed in one of the lower level rooms, overlooking the pond.

Owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable (although could use a little work, I think they are in the process of renovating) and the restaurant was delightful, with great prices, good food and excellent desserts. Also, many many hummingbirds to watch out of the windows at their feeder. Also, sitting out and watching the ducks on the pond as the sun set was a lot of fun.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 308 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stopped here on our treck up the Blue Ridge Parkway, It was easy to find, just yards off the road. The owners are attentive and friendly. The restaurant was closed, which was understandable as we were the only guests on a Sunday evening. Our room was plain but fit the bill. Bedding was comfortable and firm. There are plenty of TV stations to choose from. After 2 rainly and foggy days, we were glad to sit in front our our room and watch the ducks. The pond is filled with fish and when I stood at the bank, they all lined up and looked at me expectently. It was fun. Breakfast was simple, toasts, dry cereal, instant oatmeals, etc. A good no-frills stop over.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exit105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A good hotel with helpful staff just off the Blue Ridge Parkway near Mabry Mill. We received great information on some local attractions (a cidery!) and this would make a great base for firtherin exploring the countryside in this region. We did not eat at the restaurant in the evening but we did enjoy our basic breakfast the next day. The rooms are spacious and while not newly decorated are clean and comfortable. Overlooking the pond with ducks was a nice added touch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just off the Blue Ridge Parkway and out of the way. Very quiet, restful and a beautiful view. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it so much that before we left, we booked 4 nights in the fall. The only shortcoming was the continual breakfast; all carbs, except for some fruit, and the only hot item was instant oatmeal.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower level are not as easily accessible from the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlong3508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Rooms clean. Owners were wonderful. The Continental breakfast was good and traditional. The restaurant is open Thur, Fri and Sat and in the past served very good food (We were there on Tues) Entirely non-smoking - Great!
Thinking about going 20 miles our of our way to stay there on our return trip

Room Tip: owners/managers will advise well. There is minimal noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank F Llinn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Extremely nice couple that own the Inn, beautiful setting , the restaurant and bar offer a relaxed atmosphere for meeting other travelers or to observe the natural surroundings- close to most sites. The two ducks in the pond added to the charm...."Andy and Barney" we will come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for a night and it was great! Owners are very nice and accommodating and had great recommendations on the area. We took both our dogs with us, Labs, and they loved it as well. Can't wait to stay again!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Anothergodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
11 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
54 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
465 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
190 reviews
11.7 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
11.6 mi away
The Virginian Motel
The Virginian Motel
#1 of 1 in Stuart
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodberry Inn

Address: 182 Woodberry Rd SW, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-3682
Location: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range: $70 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodberry Inn is located just off of the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Meadows of Dan area of Southwestern Virginia. Surrounded by peaceful woods and beautiful mountain landscapes the Woodberry Inn's "Blue Ridge Escape" is indeed a retreat into tranquility. Only a short distance from hiking trails, scenic Parkway overlooks, and such attractions as Mabry Mill and Chateau Morrisette Winery, your stay at Woodberry Inn is certain to be enjoyable as well as memorable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing