We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt among friends...”
Review of Woodberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodberry Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My mom, sister and I took a long road trip from Texas and Meadows of Dan was a northern-most point of travel on our nearly 3000-mile round trip. We stayed in various places from Asheville, NC to Destin, FL and the Woodberry Inn was one of the highlights of our trip. Though the rooms are not updated, they are very clean. The owners were very friendly and made us feel right at home, which was nice for three women so far from home! Come to find out, the owner was originally from Texas also! One of the nicest surprises during our stay in the area, besides the friendly owners, was their restaurant. It seems to be a hub/meeting place for folks from the area. It was a wonderful surprise to have such great food just steps away from our room being so far from the "big city"! Add the amazing view from the deck and your stay in this quiet gem off the Blueridge Parkway just a couple of miles from Mabry Mill is complete. They have a wonderful chef from NJ... mom and I had the most amazing grilled tenderloin and sister had the meatloaf. We topped it off with an awesome dessert (huge lemon pie slice, brownie w/vanilla ice cream) and coffee. Beautiful memories for three girls a long way from home! :-)

Room Tip: Call and insure you have a confirmation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 309 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have never actually stayed at the Woodberry, as we have a weekend home close by. We have seen this property go through a few changes over the years. We have frequented the area for about 15 years. The Inn was exemplary that long ago, then it changed hands and then it was empty for several years until the current owners re-opened it a few years ago. It has been fun to watch the way it has blossomed since the new owners took over.

We try to get over to the restaurant and bar at least once every time we are up there. It does seem to get better with every visit. We were there twice this Labor Day weekend. Saturday night at the bar, so my husband could watch Georgia football, (we don't have a TV at our weekend home), and then on Sunday for dinner. They were a little over whelmed Sunday dinner. I think they had been much busier than they thought they would be, they were out of a lot of the menu items and seemed a bit short staffed. It all worked out fine though, we ate, had a good bottle of wine and went home. The bartender was pitching in as a waiter and this guy really shines, he knows how to make the very best of a less than perfect situation. He is an asset to this restaurant.
We are very glad to see things improve as time goes on here. We are glad they are becoming more busy, we are very glad to see this very nice Inn and restaurant so close to our place succeed. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jmopaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Nice place. Great clean rooms. Pet friendly. Very helpful owners. Good restuarant on site. Only wish each room had refrig

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady terry606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We have found a wonderful Inn in a wonderful location. The owners are very kind and helpuful: we have had a really pleasant stay. We have had dinner there and let's say it is the best one in the USA: "shrimps and grits" was simply delicious. I would suggest it to everyone, family with kids, older persons, couples, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank camilla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Found this great little place named the woodberry inn hidden off the blue ridge and thought it was a great little get away from baltimore.The rooms were quaint and clean and the food at the restaurant was great as long with our waitress marcy. As we retired to the bar for a couple night caps every went down hill as we were stuck watching golf then wheel of fortune. I could'nt beleive there was no music or anything.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I travel the Blue Ridge Parkway by motorcycle every year and I found the Woodbury Inn last year on Trip Advisor. This year I made it a point to return. Friendly people and nice atmosphere to relax. Ask for a room by the pond. You can sit outside at night in peace and quiet. Rooms are clean and basic with very comfortable beds. While you are there check out the restaurant. Great food at reasonable prices. I will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwsly92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have been traveling th Blue Ridge and many other states on our motorcycle for years. Wish we would have found the Woodberry Inn sooner. The owners are fairly new at the inn businness but have gone above and beyond to make you fell welcome. The rooms are very clean, recently redecorated and reminisent of the old days of the parkway.
They are a stones throw from two of our favorite places, Chateau Morrisette and the Floyd area. The staff in the resturant is friendly and the food way above average. The specials are exceptional! The bar is an added plus at the end of a day when you don't want to drive after dark and the bartender was very good at his "craft"! Loved meeting locals and folks traveling the parkway. Will be back soon! A fantastic shoice for hikers, bikers, motorcycle riders and wine lovers:)

Room Tip: Book rooms early...especially if you want a queen bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
11 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
54 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
538 reviews
7.9 mi away
Primland
Primland
#1 of 3 in Meadows of Dan
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodberry Inn

Address: 182 Woodberry Rd SW, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-3682
Location: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range: $70 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodberry Inn is located just off of the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Meadows of Dan area of Southwestern Virginia. Surrounded by peaceful woods and beautiful mountain landscapes the Woodberry Inn's "Blue Ridge Escape" is indeed a retreat into tranquility. Only a short distance from hiking trails, scenic Parkway overlooks, and such attractions as Mabry Mill and Chateau Morrisette Winery, your stay at Woodberry Inn is certain to be enjoyable as well as memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Woodberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing