We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Woodberry Inn!”
Review of Woodberry Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Meadows of Dan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodberry Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband an I stay at the Woodberry Inn every year during Floyd Fest. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfy and the nightly rate is reasonable. Oh and did I mention how delicious the food in the restaurant is? I highly recommend the shrimp and grits. The owners go out of their way to make sure everything is right and how it should be. How refreshing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziggygirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Woodberry Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 302 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

While camping at Rocky Knob on the Blue Ridge Parkway, I had the pleasure of eating dinner at the restaurant. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The food was fresh, hot and delicious. That evening they served sauteed squash and I had a mixed berry cobbler for dessert. Outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikefromBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Enjoyed a nice two night stay at this nice place. The owners stay very busy making sure things go well. Good restaurant with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stockguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We recently stayed there on a vacation touring the Blue Ridge Parkway. We used to stay at the Peaks of Otter Inn, but the prices are way to much for what you get - we found this lovely Inn on tripadvisor and we couldn't be more pleased. The room was clean and very comfortable. Also, while we love animals, we do not travel with them and we were very appreciative of the fact that there a specified pet-friendly rooms. The innkeepers were very friendly and we enjoyed our visit with them over morning coffee during our continental breakfast. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was very good ( and the portions were not over whelming, but just right) and the local wines were also quite lovely. The waitress was very nice and answered all of our questions. The chef even gave my husband his recipe for the meatloaf !

We would definitely go back there as it was very peaceful and we never felt rushed. This one is must visti for anyone who wants simplicity, good food and relaxation at reasonable prices

Room Tip: Ask for a room with overlooking the pond
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandB070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were delighted to find the Woodberry Inn. It provided more than our expectations: besides comfortable accomodations, a cozy restaurant with excellent service and food, a quiet pond with friendly fish used to being fed, two completely tame ducks offering their hospitality, hands on inn-keepers who are obviously committed to their guests, and a generally homelike atmosphere that is so frequently absent these days.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Very nice inn very close to Floyd and its music and arts, and to the Chateau Morrisette winery and Villa Appalachia winery. A very good dinner. Lovely quiet spot right off the Blue Ridge Parkway. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms nearest the pond are very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We recently stayed at the inn to join friends who were at one of the neighboring campgrounds to ride our Harley's on the drive, and was very pleasantly surprised by not only the extremely friendly owners, but the cleaniness of the rooms. If you want fancy, this isn't your place to stay. If you want a wonderful, friendly, welcoming inn, this is it. The inn is very pet friendly. We loved the food, it was great, but the service was even better. Really enjoyed feeding the fish and ducks in front of our room. Very easy to get on the drive and enjoy the beautiful countryside. We trailered our bike and was no problem with parking. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeD030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
11.0 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
51 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
441 reviews
20.9 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
516 reviews
11.7 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
7.8 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodberry Inn

Address: 182 Woodberry Rd SW, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-3682
Location: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range: $70 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodberry Inn is located just off of the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Meadows of Dan area of Southwestern Virginia. Surrounded by peaceful woods and beautiful mountain landscapes the Woodberry Inn's "Blue Ridge Escape" is indeed a retreat into tranquility. Only a short distance from hiking trails, scenic Parkway overlooks, and such attractions as Mabry Mill and Chateau Morrisette Winery, your stay at Woodberry Inn is certain to be enjoyable as well as memorable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing